Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Desert Breeze Fire and Ash

Desert Breeze Fire and Ash

Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 28100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fire and Ash
Review 1 for Fire and Ash
This review is fromFire and Ash - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Favorite new author!

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
AntieM
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I truly enjoy this author...the mysteries are engaging, the characters warm and the Christian aspects appealing. It's so nice to read a book that is clean but keeps you turning the pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fire and Ash
This review is fromFire and Ash - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

couldn't put it down

Date:May 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:Wellsvill, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book over a year ago. I had never heard of Anne Patrick and decided to give the book a try. I loved it. The storyline was great. Just the right amount of suspense and love. None of it was boring. Since I read this book I have downloaded everything She has in ebook form and she gets better with every book. Highly recommended author.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fire and Ash
This review is fromFire and Ash - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great story

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Taffy
Location:Maineville, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought that this was a great story. Good story line, great suspense.
Unfortunately, the editing of this ebook was poorly done. Many misspellings of words. That was the greatest disappointment.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fire and Ash
This review is fromFire and Ash - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great story!!

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melanie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love suspense novels, so I don't know why I haven't read any of Anne Patrick's books before now! Fire and Ash was so good! It didn't start out with much suspense, but as the story progressed, the tension kept building!
Sadie gets called to investigate the cause of a fire, which kills a woman from her hometown of Emerald Point, Missouri. She soon concludes that it is arson, but finding the arsonist/murderer is going to be much tougher.
I had a hunch about who the real culprit would be, but even though I thought I knew who it was, it was still really suspenseful - especially mid-way to the end.
The characters were great and I loved the romance story between Sadie and Quinn. It was really funny the way they met (Quinn at first mistakes Sadie as a man!). The ups and downs of their relationship made the story more enjoyable to read and I would even like to read more about them (if there is ever a sequel).
The struggles Sadie dealt with made her character all the more believable. When she was a kid, her family died in a house fire - but she survived. She dealt with guilt over not being able to save her family and especially her little brother. There is also another reason - but I'm not going to say what it is because I don't want to spoil it for anyone planning on reading this book!
The ending (involving the arsonist/murder) seemed a little rushed (in my opinion), but it was still overall a great suspense novel that I really enjoyed! :)
I really liked this book and recommend it if you enjoy a good suspense with romance... like I do! :)
*I received a complimentary PDF copy for my review. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions are my own.*
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fire and Ash
This review is fromFire and Ash - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Enjoyable!!!

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jasmine
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great story. The concept is intriguing and the writing is very well done. The characters are strong and interesting.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fire and Ash
This review is fromFire and Ash - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Favorite!

Date:September 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Booklover
Location:USA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved Sadie and Quinn's story! I will definitely be buying more books by Anne Patrick.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fire and Ash
This review is fromFire and Ash - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anita Glover
Location:Cullman, Al.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the book had a good amount of suspence and romance.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fire and Ash
This review is fromFire and Ash - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book. Couldn't put it down. Fast paced, suspenseful, realistic. Would read more by this author. Love her writing style. Definitely would recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fire and Ash
This review is fromFire and Ash - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVED IT!

Date:June 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chriscross
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fire and Ash is a fast-pasted read with a thrilling plot and a sweet romance that will quickly win you over. I absolutely loved all the characters by this gifted storyteller. I look forward to reading more of her books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fire and Ash
This review is fromFire and Ash - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read!

Date:June 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mark Davidison
Location:Idaho
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well thought out, realistic, and unique plot. Interesting and loveable characters. What more can I say, I couldn't put it down. I highly recommend this one!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fire and Ash
This review is fromFire and Ash - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Story was compelling and real to life

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robert L. Davis
Location:Wichita, Ks
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will order other books by this author, the characters are big enough to be interesting but small enough to be real.
One negative, the editing was poor, there were to many wrong words or missellings throughout the book. I did write the author about that and she quickly responded.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fire and Ash
This review is fromFire and Ash - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's a Keeper!

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jazzy G
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fire and Ash is a great read! Once you start reading it, you'll have a hard time putting it down. All of the characters were enjoyable; I was completely immersed in their lives right from the start. The spiritual threads in here were perfect. There was a lot of action going on, but here and there was a mention of God's love and forgiveness. Fire and Ash reminded me that God never abandons us or forsakes us even when we turn our backs on him! I am looking forward to reading other books by this author. I highly recommend Fire and Ash if you enjoy Christian Suspense with a touch of romance, you will not be disappointed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fire and Ash
This review is fromFire and Ash - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Accidental...or Arson?

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sadie McGregor lost her parents and brother in a fire, and subsequently lived with her uncle’s family, Joe and Hannah McGregor, from age seven. It was Joe’s influence along with the death of her family that influenced her to become a firefighter…and later a fire investigator. The fire that took her family has haunted her for years and puts her trust in God in jeopardy. In fact, she’s bitter and guilt-ridden.
Sadie was called to the Emerald Point, Missouri, fire due to staff coverages. It’s also her hometown. The fire scene included a fatality, Larrissa Ingram, a college student from a well-respected family.
Initially misidentified by Police Chief Quinn Harrington at the scene, the sparks of romance hit the Police Chief upon introduction to Sadie. Though strong-willed and opinionated, she is an accurate fire investigator–and that special someone whom Quinn hadn’t met since the loss of his wife. However, her first impression of Quinn was that he was a klutz. Sadie’s wit and ability to banter back and forth with Quinn makes for a fun read amidst the tragedy.
As a forensics show enthusiast, I found that Anne Patrick, in her book, Fire and Ash, goes into great, minute detail of the fire investigation, that puts you on the scent of a perpetrator. Her unique ability to incorporate multiple plots to throw you off course makes the pages fly by to connect the dots. The suspense builds as Sadie’s life is endangered. Someone wants her quieted, but who?
The scenes are what I would expect in a fire investigation–dangerous, thorough and highly accurate. The personal interaction with those involved with the investigation are incorporated well and very real. The suspense and physical danger, along with the smoking romance, add the great touches to this novel to keep you intrigued. Though I found the romance a bit hasty, I am well aware that many people can and do find their life mate in a very short time period.
The relationship between Sadie and her uncle and aunt’s family was touching, personal and delightful. Faith and trust in God flow through the pages, but their relationship with Him comes natural in their lives, except for Sadie.
This is definitely a book I’d recommend for those who thrive on mystery and suspense, with a simmering of romance!
This book was provided by Anne Patrick in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged for my review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fire and Ash
This review is fromFire and Ash - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book by an exceptional author!

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Frannie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A friend actually suggested this book to me. I'm so glad she did because I loved it! Anne Patrick's writing style is fun and her characters are wonderful. If you want an entertaining read that will keep you turning the pages you can't miss with this one!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fire and Ash
This review is fromFire and Ash - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting!

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
An Avid Reader
Location:Madison, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever read a book where the story sticks with you long after you read it? That's what happened to me after reading Fire and Ash. I was totally captivated by it! All the characters in this book are well rounded and believable and they all play an important part in the story's outcome. After reading two of her books, Anne Patrick has just made my Favorite author list. She has a way of making the reader a part of the story and blends suspense, romance and faith beautifully into her books. I'm really looking forward to reading her others!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fire and Ash
This review is fromFire and Ash - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow, what a great book!

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Allison
Location:Midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this story! I loved the characters and the faith message. It was refreshing to read an entertaining book that wasn't saturated with sex and bad language. I will definitely be reading more from this author.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fire and Ash
This review is fromFire and Ash - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Decent book

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Deborah Henderson
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A little predictable, but overall a decent book. Would read this author again.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fire and Ash
This review is fromFire and Ash - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great story

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
tifftalks1981
Location:Logan, WV
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved this book. Reading has recently took on a new outlook for me. This book kept my attention the entire way through. This is a wonderful story and it touched my heart
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fire and Ash
This review is fromFire and Ash - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was great reading

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Maxxysharon
Location:Elk Grove, California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved reading Fire and Ash. It held my attention to the point that I could not put it down!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fire and Ash
This review is fromFire and Ash - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Entertaining

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Marcus
Location:Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
It is so nice to read a book with out bad lanquage or a gay couple. The other problem with other popular books is they like to put down the "church".
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>