Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pure Flix Entertainment, LLC The Imposter, DVD

Pure Flix Entertainment, LLC The Imposter, DVD

Christian rock's hottest band, Grand_design is heading to the top! Unfortunately, lead singer Johnny C (Kevin Max of dcTalk) is heading straight down. His wife and band mates find out that after singing about Jesus at concerts, he's living for himself off the stage. Losing his family and fame sends him on a spiral down. Stripped of all the accessories of playing the star, Johnny C begins a journey back home to find out if his shattered marriage can be brought back together. He's coached by his mentor Proff (played by Kerry Livgren of the band Kansas) and a crazy homeless man (Tom Wright of World Trade Center, Barbershop), but will it be enough and in time to turn his life around? Not rated. Approx. 101 minutes.

DVD Features:
  • Behind the Scenes Interviews with the Actors
  • "Believe (Is an Act)" Music Video
  • "Empty" Music Video
  • "Carry on Wayward Son" Music Video
  • Study Guide Scenes from the Movie
Average Customer Rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
7 out of 1070%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Imposter, DVD
Review 1 for The Imposter, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Review on The Imposter, DVD Movie

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karenc
Location:USA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
There is a powerful message here about living right, but I want to say that this movie could have become a classic if it went a few steps further. (Perhaps Part Two is still coming?) The acting was awesome, but the writing fails in bringing the movie to an awesome conversion. So much more Truth of Jesus could have been easily inserted into this movie. The performances of all the actors was very good and even amazing, but wow, if the story line went all the way...where the fallen character actually could have gotten the Truth of Jesus in contrast to what he was taught...wow, that would have been something. Still does have a message about living right, of course, but without being a spoiler to the story, I believe it will leave the saved viewer wondering why it did not go to this grace and truth of Jesus but more works and left one wondering if the fallen character would ever find the Truth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Imposter, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A message of forgiveness, freedom and hope

Date:August 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
friskeemama405
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this movie. It lets us know that we can do nothing without God, and our lives have no purpose without God. When you live for yourself, you are miserable, but when you decide to follow Jesus and serve others unselfishly, you find joy and purpose. I loved the music. My favorite song is CARRY ON WAYWARD SON.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Imposter, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Decent movie, but indirectly promotes legalism.

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ben Umnus
Location:Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So I didn't realize this until I saw it at the very end, but one of the actors in this movie was from the classic rock band Kansas; neat random thing to notice. Anyway so while donating some plasma, I wanted to watch a movie to relieve my boredom. I take a look at some of the Netflix movies which are considered as "Faith and Spirituality" and I found the concept of The Imposter very curious. For the film, The Imposter, it concerns the lead singer of the fictional Christian rock band: Grand Design.
People really like Johnny C and want his autograph, and on the outside Johnny C's life is great and he appears to be apart of a model ministry. However, Johnny C never stopped popping pills like he promised, nor did he stop drinking, nor has he been faithful to his wife, and it's questionable if he even got saved in the first place... When his wife and others find out, Johnny's life starts to crash and burn in multiple aspects. How will he respond to the rejection, financial hardship, etc? And will he realize the damage his sin has done for the right reason?
The morning after I've watched this movie, the topic of my Bible Study is 1st Corinthians 5. This is interesting, because when you look at the verses in that chapter you'll see Paul is talking about someone like Johnny C; Paul says "do not even eat with such a person" (a person who claims to be a believer, but has been warned multiple times of their sin and refuses to address it.) In light of the entire context of the movie, I felt the band kicking Johnny out was good because he wasn't repentant of his actions, but how everyone responded towards him at the end of the movie I'm not so sure... I say this, because they were essentially saying in summary: "Ignore what Jesus said in the prodigal son. Forgiveness and Grace are things you have to earn back." with which I disagree. Despite Johnny's behavior, I also felt Johnny's brother in law was a Pharisee. The video quality was good and the story was well written, but the acting could have been better in some aspects (I'd say Kerry Livgren and Kevin Max were the best actors though). All in all, The Imposter really makes you think about a few controversial, yet necessary lessons; the greatest lesson being that sin doesn't affect a person in only one aspect... I didn't like the ending though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Imposter, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Flick

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
RobS
Location:Mansfield, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the movie. I can't add much more than the movie description. If only real life could be like a movie. I still haven't gotten all back I turned my back on forty years ago. But I have my relationship with The Lord and that is what counts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Imposter, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finally Realistic View of Sin in Christian Film

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
dennis dickinson
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most films end with all things wonderful. A strange gospel indeed! This one places sin in its bearing fruit context with the possibility of hope at the end (or not!). Things don't end well when men lie, adulterate, use drugs, etc. Tough love from his friends & family was good to see in action.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Imposter, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This movie is worth watching

Date:September 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
human being
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Read the other reviews, beginning with the lowest ratings. See all the reasons other people say this movie fails. But those are the very reasons why it is good. It is realistic. It portrays people the way they are in real life -- and in the church! Christians are both sincere and hypocritical, both honorable and dishonorable, both faithful and faithless, both moral and immoral. Christians are human. And for everything there is grace. You can read the product description and the other reviews to know what this story is about and who is in it. After you watch this movie, you will think about your life and the lives of other Christians you know. Then you will understand why this movie is realistic, not a fantasy, not hollywood hype -- just plain human beings who struggle in their faith walk, like everybody does.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Imposter, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hope
Location:Naples, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a good movie, however at times is hard to follow. Maybe it is the way it was filmed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Imposter, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nothing exeptional

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
mama
Location:Bulgaria
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The film is OK, the music is quite good. Nothing speciall though, I wouldn't bother to see it again. For a low-cost movie the quality is fine. Acting is not great, but ok. I think I like Kevin Max better as an musician. Acting is not his art.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Imposter, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This dvd was very disappointing

Date:November 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Flame Thrower
Location:Lisbon, Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband and I could not wait for this movie to be over. It dragged on and on. Very disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Imposter, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME MOVIE

Date:November 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
JESSE
Location:CHICAGO,IL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ENJOYED THE GREAT MESSAGE BEHIND THE MOVIE,WANTED THE MOVIE TO CONTINUE,HOPING FOR A SEQUEL
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Imposter, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2010
Supremely disappointing movie. If there were two reasons to buy this DVD, they would have to be the truly hilarious homeless man (who had me laughing out loud constantly), and the opportunity to see the amazing Kerry Livgren do something else besides play some hot licks on the guitar - like TALK. Unfortunately, not even those two reasons are strong enough to spend more than $5 on this movie. Bad plot, bad acting, terrible songs... Just sad.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Imposter, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gin Stark-Vance
"The Imposter" has some interesting characters, particularly Proff, played by Kerry Livgren, and James, played by Jeff Deyo. But if you're a fan of Kevin Max from his dc talk days, this is a downright disturbing film - you begin to wonder if Kevin Max really is a womanizing jerk. There are some striking visual effects, great songs, and quotable lines - but at its heart, "The Imposter" doesn't make you believe that Kevin's character Johnny C is anything but a manipulator. Has he really found salvation? Hard to say. Hope they don't make a sequel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Imposter, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ann BACCHUS
this is a pathetic movie. the acting is sooo lame except for Jeff Deyo. The movie drags, the main character father is a hypocritical Pastor & it has no relevance to the movie except to slur Pastors. I bought it for my son, but will be throwing it away rather than waste his time as I did mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Imposter, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Nichols
This is a very good movie. I thought the story line is very real and true with alot of Christians today. I was a little disappointed in not seeing the actual confession to repent and return to Christ. I suppose this is where you have to read between the lines. Still this is a very real movie in the lives of Christians who get the big head.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Imposter, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michael
"The Imposter" is better than most Christian produced films. On a whole, it's pretty well written, with excellent performances by Kerry Livgren and Kevin Max, who have both proved themselves great rockers and successful performers in the real world. The film offers great insight into the practical teaching of the prodigal son, with the character of Frank presenting one of the best examples of the hypocritical fundamentalist who literally sings a song in church about forgiveness, grace, and accepting the repentant sinner while completely doing the opposite when Johnny C comes back as the proverbial prodigal (later in the *same* scene). Even Johnny C's wife is willing to allow him the opportunity to accept acceptance and forgiveness, even if their marriage still fails as a consequence of his earlier sins. Why Frank, who espouses the Gospel message through his music, would hold a bigger grudge than his sister who was the recipient/victim of the Johnny C's transgressions is a great opportunity for discussion about judging others, and the motives behind it. The film's biggest weaknesses are Tom Wright's crazy homeless man, who is the "Jar Jar Binks" of the film, and the writer's need to state and remind the audience multiple times that this film is not following the formula that most Christian films have used for years. Firstly, there's no need to sell that point because we're *already* watching it. Secondly, the constant reminders that we should not expect the usual treatment on the subject basically told us what was going to happen, thus robbing the film of its suspense. Lastly, the best stories are the ones that show rather than tell. If you want this film to be different from the typical Christian movie, then make it different than the typical Christian movie and let the movie's treatment, characters, and story speak for itself rather than insulting the audience's intelligence by telling us just in case we didn't notice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.