Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wesscott Marketing The Ride, DVD

Wesscott Marketing The Ride, DVD

See the award-winning movie by Billy Graham's motion picture ministry! The life-changing theme of Christ's love charges from the gate in this evangelistic drama about Smokey Banks, a fallen bull rider sentenced to community service at a boys camp. A superb film for the entire family! Stars Michael Biehn, Brock Pierce, and Jennifer O'Neill. 98 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.522 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Ride, DVD
Review 1 for The Ride, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good movie

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda Rogers
Location:MT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Funny and serious movie that includes several drunken and bar scenes but shows how Jesus changes that person's heart to a love for Christ.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Ride, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very touching

Date:March 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Berk
Location:Sarasota, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Showed at our small group meeting, everyone liked it. Had one man who ordered copy for himself.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Ride, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great movie for young and old

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
joyce3302
Location:Gardners, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandchildren (ages 8 and 6) have watched this movie over and over. They love it! I appreciate that the movie teaches great moral values.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Ride, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Movie!

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
h196
Location:Colcord,OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful movie. Got it for my nineteen year old daughter for Christmas. She was thrilled. She had saw the movie years ago and just loved it. Thanks for providing great movies and great service/shipping.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Ride, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

doesn't sugar coat life

Date:November 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carla Crook
Location:Parks, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Christian people meet people like Smokey Banks everyday. The movie doesn't sugar coat life, life has things in it that we would like to close our eyes to. People either work with a Smokey Banks or know one, what this movie shows is never give up on the Smokey Banks, God doesn't. This movie shows how God can turn the hard, cold hearts back to him.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Ride, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2010
To the credit of the writers, this movie showsthat flawed people, like Smokey, are not necessarily too far gone to be reached, perRomans 5:6-8.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Ride, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
This was a very good movie. There is plenty of action, drama and a good feel for what a Christian should be like and/ or isn't. I would recommend it for most all ages. It shows how some people are harder to reach for Christ than others.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Ride, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Margaret Ketler
I really enjoyed this movie and I think they did a great job bringing the gospel through in the world we live in!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Ride, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Valerie Schad
Too much bad themes from the start of this video. There is violence at the start of this movie. Smokey Banks is moved to a camp for correction place for children. He is a bad influence, gets caught skinny dipping with bad women and the children sneak out a night to watch the swimming scene sharing binoculars. The next bad situation is that Smokey Banks teaches the children to gamble and smoke. He wants them to consent to let him ride in the next big rodeo event. After viewing this movie for an hour, I shut it off disgustedly. There's too much emphasis on tempting children to do evil. Don't we already have enough of that through the internet, movies and TV. This movie deserves one destination, the trash. Save your dollars. This is not an appropriate family movie.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Ride, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dawn Lamertha
My family loves this movie. I have bought more than one copy to give as gifts. I love showing it to the soldiers that come for R&R. They get into it as well. It is a great opportuity to give the gospel in a non-threating way.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Ride, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barbara Dittmar
This is a very heart-warming story about how Christian love can really affect a person who has come to the end of his rope. I chose this movie because I have always been interested in rodeo. I had a very nice surprise as I watched this movie unfold. The stars who played these characters did a wonderful job in portraying them. This world needs more of these family films. It was a wonderful story.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Ride, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jan Clayton
This is a movie that shows how God works in our lives....even when we don't think HE is. This is a VERY GOOD MOVIE!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Ride, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
David Adams
I've watched The Ride a number of times and never grow weary. The story unfolds with action, holds your attention throughout, and gives a timely message. It is a must for any person wanting to deepen their faith, share with friends, and give a boost to the reality of Christ's changing power. A real must for everyone.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Ride, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Missy
I have to say, I was surprised that there was a scene where the boys at the ranch are laughing and watching Smokey skinny dip with two girls. Didn't expect that from a Billy Graham movie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Ride, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robby Robinson
Let's be honest and look at this film from both a "message" and "film making" perspective. First, lets talk film making. Michael Biehn gives a solid acting performance as "Smokey" Banks; a once top notch bull rider, now down on his luck and sentenced to community service at a camp for troubled boys. Brock Pierce is equally good as an unpopular misfit at the teen ranch, wanting desperately to learn bull riding from his legendary hero. The rest of the cast however, is only average Most roles are played far too low-keyed lacking much depth of character, presumably since none of the supporting roles are overly important to the story. The only exception is a good but uneven performance by Jennifer Blanc. She assumes the audiences role; watching everything unfold as we do and then being changed by it all, as we the viewer are.Production values are good; great musical score, nice cinematography and decent western locations, only partly diminished by some strange choices in lighting the night scenes. As a movie "The Ride" moves evenly but slow, with many scenes far too drawn out and over simplified; which tends to make it all play as melodrama rather than adventure.As a message, "The Ride" does hit enough high notes to inspire Christian or non-Christian audiences alike. We feel the anger and regret of a lost sinner, the determination of an unlikely hero, and a conversion scene FAR more poignant than the much more heralded one from "The Apostle".Like the more recent "Facing the Giants", Christian audiences can rejoice in a truly well presented story of heart-ache, rejection and redemption. Non-Christian audience will find it to be rather hit-or-miss because it tends towards the melodramatic more than the more edger films of that most of us were raised on. Overall, very satisfying if you go into it with no expectations. God Bless.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Ride, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Fry
This is an excellent lesson to young and old of the life changing power of Christs love.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Ride, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marge
This is a great movie that will make a difference in the viewer's way of seeing life--especially kids. It has a lot of how-to concepts that will enable people to take the next steps in their Christian growth. I intend to make sure everyone in my class sees it--even if they are bed-ridden! Good work.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Ride, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
TJ
This movie challenges me about being broken. Smokey Banks kept going down the spiral of sin until finally he yielded to God. "There Is a Fountian" is a great theme song for the movie. The production was well done.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Ride, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Alden Thompson
This movie displays what we all go through whether a Christian or not. That is our stubborn resistance to God's call and leading. Some times God has to take us down in order to lift us up. What a heart warming display of God's grace in this movie.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Ride, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2005
Customer Avatar
Lori
WWP did it again!! Great movie, a must see for everyone!! One of the best!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>