Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. Studies in the Sermon on the Mount

Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. Studies in the Sermon on the Mount

A spiritual classic, this detailed and comprehensive study by one of the greatest expository preachers of our time explains Christ's teaching in the Sermon on the Mount and incisively applies it to the Christian life. With characteristic vigor and emotional vitality Dr. Lloyd-Jones presents a brilliant and detailed exposition of one of the best known but most frequently misunderstood passages of Scripture. Here is a comprehensive and exhaustive study of our Lord's words as recorded in Matthew chapters five, six and seven. This beautiful portion of the Sermon on the Mount is carefully analyzed, its contents outlined and thoughtfully arranged, and vastly rich and abundant truths are gleaned for your spiritual nurture. The author brought a wealth of devoted study as well as a profound spiritual appreciation to the work of interpreting this greatest address of our delightful experience in meditation. It presents depth of thought in simple language and beauty of style and contains a veritable thesaurus of spiritual truths drawn from the entire Bible.
Average Customer Rating:
4.721 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Review 1 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book!

Date:October 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bea K
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book Studies in the Sermon on the Mount is simple to read and gives many examples of living the Christ-like life. It is a comprehensive study filled with many soul searching examples for healing, growing, and living a life in Christ. Each chapter is full of topics for meditation and the book is a must for any home or church library. Lloyd-Jones had a masterful command of scripture. Don't be overwhelmed with the two volume size of the book. You won't want to put it down! It is an outstanding book!
Be ready to cry! It will touch your life dramatically! I believe other than the Bible itself; this book has changed my life more than any other book I have ever read. It made me examine my heart as I cried through each chapter, causing me to re-evaluate my motives in all I do. No other author of our time has affected my life as Martyn Lloyd-Jones.
I have purchased multiple copies of this book giving them to friends and family. After reading this book I began reading Lloyd-Jones’s other works and I now purchase every book I can get my hands on. You will not regret reading this book. If it doesn’t touch your life as it did mine I will be immensely surprised.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GOD has richly used this book to feed my soul!!!

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Don Powers
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I would recommend this product to a friend"
We gave our last copies as gifts to friends and re-ordered 4 more to give away in the future. Any book and sermon by MLJ is a true feast on GOD's Word. My wife had said that each time she finished reading a chapter, She didn't once think think that it was a waste of time. GOD has richly used this book to feed my soul. I highly recomend it!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is of great benefit for all Christians!

Date:September 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
solowe
Location:Plantation, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Lloyd-Jones presents an easy-to-read analysis of the Sermon on the Mount and yet does not sugar coat the message. He gives insightful examples and the end result is a deep conviction of how God desires our lives to be lived. Reading this gives a better understanding of Christ' words but does not leave us satisfied with our current character. Onward and upward...all to the glory of God!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every page a gem!

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
John Williams
Location:Ionia, MI.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are not many books you could open and read ANY page and find unusual insight and helpful faith-building words. This classic work fits that esteemed category. Passages which have bewildered me for decades are explained with unequalled precision. Get this volume. You'll be very thankful you did!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is one of the most powerful books I've read!!

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
louie
Location:Bronx,NY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beware this book is not for everyone. If you have been given this book or are ready to read it, it is only because God desires you to have a closer walk with him. The insight can only be from the Holy Spirit and it will force you to take a long look at yourself and the faith you profess. Be encouraged!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very valuable resource.

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rich
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful treatment of the Sermon on the Mount. I am using it for my own personal devotions as well as a Sunday School class I am teaching. I have found it so valuable that I made this purchase as a gift to my newly married son and his wife to help them ensure their spiritual lives are well grounded. A blessing to read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great teacher

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
nzquail
Location:Christchurch, New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to read, practical truths, and tells us how it is. Lloyd has a passion for the church (Gods people) and whats to see it shine in the world.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great gift idea!

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
John
Location:Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a copy of this I've enjoyed for the last year and now I'm buying more to give as gifts. The book has 60 sermons, all on the sermon on the mount. I try to read one each Sunday afternoon as a sort of devotional / quiet time. They are full of fresh insights, you won't look at Matt 5-6-7 the same again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read.

Date:December 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
smiller
Location:Jacksonville, Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this book excellent, very easy read about the Sermon on the Mount. I would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gerald Aldrich
I am in the process of reading very in depth study of the Sermon on the Mount. Dr. Lloyd-Jones presents this exposition is in a sermon format which seems to pemeate much easier than a composition. A good read so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Berrain Dunbar
This was a referral by my Bible Study Teacher and it has opened my eyes to so much. I'm so grateful for this gift of knowledge and God's grace. Get this book if you want to know more about being a citizen of the kingdom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robert Nelson
Im to chapter 7, and so far I am really enjoying this book, very challenging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Keith Hopp
This is a deep study into Jesus' teaching on Sermon on the Mount. I found it to be very insightful path to new thoughts of Jesus' wisdom literature. The book inspires critical thought and was fun to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Calvin P Longacre
This book is a must for every Christian home. The author explains Matthew 5 - 7 (Sermon on the Mount) in an exciting, profound way; an excellent character check. Outstanding!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Austin Nelson
Martyn Lloyd Jones work on the Sermon on the Mount is great!! I expected this work to be good, and it turned out even better than I expected. I keep going back to this book over and over. Lloyd Jones does a great job with the interpretation of a difficult section in Scripture.I don't know how anybody could not give this classic five stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Terry Bailey
a treat to read...not finished but will make a good companion on cold wintry day with a cup of hot chocolate..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mark Fischer
Excellent Book and give it 5-stars for sure. This is the book you want to look at for yourself and for others regarding the ultimate text - (examine), to if you are truly a 100% saved Christian or not. Very detailed and precise Biblical application of God's Holy Word to what it truly means to be a Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kok Keong Yap
An excellent exposition on the Sermon on the Mount. Every professing Christian should read this book and examine themselves in the light of this exposition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gwendolyn Smith
This is an excellent text that is a great commentary on Matthew chapters 5-7. Every believer should have a copy in his/her library
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Studies in the Sermon on the Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
F.J. O'Leary
An outstanding book that I would highly recommend to all Christians. Lloyd-Jones' study on the Sermon on the Mount helps the believer understand how the Lord intended this Sermon to be foundational to all believers. Very readable and memorable - I highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.