Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Exploration Films First Love: A Historic Gathering of Jesus Music Pioneers (2 DVD's & 2 CD Set)

Exploration Films First Love: A Historic Gathering of Jesus Music Pioneers (2 DVD's & 2 CD Set)

Explore the roots of contemporary Christian music with these Jesus Movement reunion sessions! Includes interviews and music from Randy Stonehill, 2nd Chapter of Acts ("Easter Song"), John Fischer, Chuck Girard ("Sometimes Alleluia"), Honeytree ("Pioneer"), a Keith Green tribute ("There Is a Redeemer"), and much more. Two DVDs and two CDs; 3 hours, 31 minutes total.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for First Love: A Historic Gathering of Jesus Music Pioneers (2 DVD's & 2 CD Set)
Review 1 for First Love: A Historic Gathering of Jesus Music Pioneers (2 DVD's & 2 CD Set)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product brought back memories.

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cody
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This video documenary of the Pioneers of "Jesus Music" is one the best things I've experience in a long time. It has touched my heart in many ways and I have been able to share it with friends and it has blessed them also. I am thankful to all who put this together. These groups ministered to me in my early Christian walk and now they have done it again. This is still "Spirit Breathed" music!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for First Love: A Historic Gathering of Jesus Music Pioneers (2 DVD's & 2 CD Set)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alice Baker
This DVD is a testimony to the simple message and the power in the Gospel. The stories of how God loved people into getting to know Jesus our Redeemer are encouraging. This production arrested my attention and captured my heart with its pure focus: Jesus Savior and LORD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for First Love: A Historic Gathering of Jesus Music Pioneers (2 DVD's & 2 CD Set)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nick Fortunato
I watched this set with a friend and it was overwhelming. I was about 18 years old and their music and their testimonies came alive. This was not the music I was use to, but it was wonderful. The power of the Holy Spirit is in their music. I would encourage whomever purchases this set to share it with young and old.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for First Love: A Historic Gathering of Jesus Music Pioneers (2 DVD's & 2 CD Set)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
David Spaulding
I played this double dvd set with my mom who is 74 years old. She loved it because she could understand the lyrics and their testimonies. I loved it because it was also on music cd's. It came in a great case and it made the case for contemporary christian music and where it orginated. I hope and pray we get back to beginning of Christ, instead of the Insanity the world brings us. I worked in a christian bookstore when some of these artists came out on the market. My mom went with me and my sisters and cousins to a 2nd chapter of Acts concert, it was a love offering not cost per person entrance for us. We loved it! Wish they would play some of this on christian music television instead of preachers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for First Love: A Historic Gathering of Jesus Music Pioneers (2 DVD's & 2 CD Set)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donald Range
This DVD/CD set has provided great inspiration as I remember what made these artists so special in the first place--their devotion to Jesus and communicating His message through music. The performances are simple yet surprisingly strong and the interviews are insightful, inspirational and even sometimes humorous. The stories touch my heart as much as the music. I've dusted off my old LP's and am once again enjoying the music that meant so much to me when I first met Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for First Love: A Historic Gathering of Jesus Music Pioneers (2 DVD's & 2 CD Set)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patty
Wow! This was very enjoyable and spiritually moving to watch! I rejoiced & cryed and felt in awe as the group was unified in fellowship & worship! Just so AWESOME, the sharing was REAL! I would recommend this to all ages, to show how God touches all people who are willing to look up to Him. Thank you for making this celebration for us to enjoy, I will watch it over & over again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for First Love: A Historic Gathering of Jesus Music Pioneers (2 DVD's & 2 CD Set)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Luann Sheeder
Awesome music! Well worth the price! It brought back wonderful memories from the 70's, a time when the Spirit of God was touching my life in a miraculous way. Also, it was refreshing to see all these musicians back together again to share their first love for Jesus. I totally LOVE these DVDs!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for First Love: A Historic Gathering of Jesus Music Pioneers (2 DVD's & 2 CD Set)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Geraldine
I became a Christian in the 80's and grew up on this music. Having been deep in the secular music culture I found this music to be a kind of "washing" for me as it totally focused on Jesus and the love of Jesus came through the music. A lot of water has gone under the bridge since then and when I purchased this set it was so encouraging to see that these people had been through things too, but had remained faithful. It strengthened me, it filled me with joy, and my kids are now enjoying the music as well - may we always be fresh in our First Love!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for First Love: A Historic Gathering of Jesus Music Pioneers (2 DVD's & 2 CD Set)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Gwen
Excellent! Very inspiring! Even though I didn't know all of the artists, it was so refreshing to hear their stories about their beginnings in Christian music.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for First Love: A Historic Gathering of Jesus Music Pioneers (2 DVD's & 2 CD Set)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
Falvo
If you grew up on Jesus Music...GET THIS SET. It has some of the singer/songwriters from the day...back when Jesus music was about Jesus and not trying to sell out (in so many ways) concerts and charts. Wish Larry Norman was well enough to attend, but still this is a good collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.