Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wanderlust Productions Finger of God, DVD

Wanderlust Productions Finger of God, DVD

Prepare to go on a dizzying journey around the world—from the streets of Northern California to the mud huts of Africa; from the underground church in China to the Gypsies in Eastern Europe—you will be challenged and encouraged by the extraordinary things God is doing in our world today. Born out of filmmaker Darren Wilson’s personal journey of two years and hundreds of hours of footage, Finger of God will show you a world you never knew existed. A world of hope and courage. A world where God’s fingerprints are found in the unlikeliest of places. Approx. 100 minutes
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Finger of God, DVD
Review 1 for Finger of God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspired, encouraging, convicting all at once.

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
naisula
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very compelling video showing the hand of God at work in many nations, including the US. Roughly the first hour documents things within the states, then the second hour shows what God is doing around the world in other countries such as China, Mozambique and Turkey.
Darren Wilson says himself that he isn't a natural filmmaker; I believe he was a screenwriter when God put this on his heart, even though he never picked up a camera before. So in that way, camera work is rather shaky at times, and focus comes in and out, but you still get the picture. Also keep in mind that this video doesn't seek to "prove" anything or make arguments... he's just trying to capture miracles on film. Even so, his narrative through the film is down-to-earth and authentic in his own journey to understand God.
I would highly recommend this video as well as his second video "Furious Love", and his book "Filming God". The book talks about his journey from skepticism to faith and gives the background story behind the two movies. I heard him share his testimony at a conference a couple months ago, and I had no idea the whole story behind these videos! Simply amazing. He was a huge skeptic on all things charismatic, but God did a major work in his life. The book provided a lot of depth and insight behind some of the miracles (or questions that arose) from watching the videos, which I feel can be helpful for the person who's wondering if these miracles were really from God, why would He give people gold teeth, etc. I found it helpful to have watched the videos first, then read the book, as he talks about things in the videos as if you'd seen them already. He also shares a lot of other stories in the book that he didn't have on film (e.g. other testimonies from people in the film, etc), that give a fuller picture of this great God we serve. Ultimately, it's still between you and God how you will receive this material. To God be all glory!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Finger of God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God's manifest presence

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Bremerton, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This video provides examples of God's manifest presence in various circumstances and activities around the world in our day. Evidence that God is still the same, yesterday, today and forever.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Finger of God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good production and movie.

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
DannyBoy
Location:Oakdale, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At first being an average day Americanized Christian, you think to yourself, "What did I buy?" But the second you get past the skepticism and actually see what the movie is trying to show the audience; then your sucked right into a world that needs love, and see some of God's children who are trying to make that difference. Great movie, and recommend the sequel 'Furious Love'.
Hope this helps,
God Bless.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Finger of God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol P
Location:York,PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, for too long I read about the miracles Jesus performed and His disciples and thought that was then, this is now! This video challenged me to realize that nothing has changed between what was going on in the early church to what is possible in today's church! We limit God! Because of this video, our family regularly prays for miraculous healings and they have occurred! God's love is so amazing and powerful if we only stop putting Him in a box!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Finger of God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gin Stark-Vance
This is a though-provoking, even controversial documentary of miracles, signs, and wonders in the church today. I highly recommend listening to the director's commentary as it adds much to the understanding of the film. Personally I am from a very conservative Christian background and the signs and wonders documented in this film are hard to believe. Fortunately, the director introduces each of the experiences in the film as a skeptic. He understands that the "average" Christian will never see gemstones falling from the sky but, as he says, couldn't God perform any sign He wants? This film made me rethink my attitudes toward miracles, particularly divine healing, and I would strongly recommend it to anyone who is open to something more than "playing church" as one pastor in the film stated. The next film, Furious Love, is even better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Finger of God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vartan Bakerdjian
Thid DVD is a must see for every "thinking" Christian. It challenges us out of our comfort zones and prompts us to seriously consider raising the bar of our understanding as to what the Church should really look like.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Finger of God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
missy
I thought this video was awesome. It gave me a true revelation about love. This is a must see movie!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Finger of God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Teresa Coburn
Excellent! People need to see what God is doing all over the earth. We will be showing it to our church and youth group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Finger of God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jana Duke
About to order this movie! I am excited! I was watching excerpts on You Tube. A-ma-zing! I've seen many of these people and can testify this is the real deal! God is incredible and He longs to use His people to confound the wise and open eyes and show His power!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Finger of God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
carolyn
This is awesome! I have seen many of the things shown it the movie and it is good to see it on DVD. Just because you have never seen doesn't mean it isn't true! God is real and can and is willing to do so many things that is out of the box of our understanding! A must have!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Finger of God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Caudill
a must see for everyone! It is the real church in action outside the church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Finger of God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marsha Kinder
I had already seen most of this on TV so it really wasn't anything new..the healings weren't real convincing, if God healed me I would be jumping up and down and shouting.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Finger of God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gera Dina Robinson
I saw this DVD this week and it is amazing. I have seen the Glory Cloud twice, I have seen Gold Dust more than once and I have witnessed people being healed miraculously. We need more of this in our churches today. There is nothing occultic about this, people didn't like what Jesus was doing when He was here either. Enjoy this DVD, it is fantastic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Finger of God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christine Cartwright
Incredible! This video really captures the heart of God and builds your faith! It truly put a greater hunger in my heart for Jesus and the power of the Holy Spirit! You really have to watch this and share it with all your friends! There is even never before seen footage of the underground church in China. Amazing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Finger of God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Etienne
Be carefull with this one, supernatural doesn't means it's from God. I never heard of gold dust or gems appearing out of tin air(especially on the private parts) in the bible. And some people seem to believe that they "channel" the holy spirit as one man mentioned in the documentary to heal people. God uses people to heal the sick not the other way around. This seems to have NewAge/occultic side to it. And the theology part of it is more opinion base than scritural. I believe God still does miracles today but not every "sign and wonder" is from God. Use discernment on this one.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Finger of God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gail
All should view this film. It shows God is still alive and working in his people around the world. While we were viewing this film we shared in the Gold Dust experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Finger of God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Albert Campbell
Was a very good DVD we enjoyed it very much, will take it to Church and show it there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Finger of God, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paul
This is a video that will speak to the masses seeking to know more of God. It captures on video some of the miracles & signs that modern day Christians have witnessed, including gold dust, diamonds, people raised from the dead, healings, & manna.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.