Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gaiam Americas Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Gaiam Americas Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD

Ben Stein may not look like a typical school rebel---but when he learned that educators and scientists were being ridiculed, denied tenure, and even fired for the "crime" of discussing evidence of "design" in nature, he'd had enough! Join him as he travels the world, questioning academia's doctrine of random evolution and championing intellectual freedom! Also includes pocket size book of quotes. Rated PG. Approx. 95 minutes.

Bonus Features:
  • Inside Expelled - Interview with Ben & Lee Strobel
  • A Special Message from Ben Stein
  • Using Intelligent Design for Medical Research
  • Bonus Music Tracks by Andy Hunter
  • Expelled Super Trailer
  • Widescreen
  • Closed captioned
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
2
42 out of 4495%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD
Review 1 for Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent if watched with an open mind

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Location:Newnan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you watch this movie with a lot of preconceived ideas, you are bound to hate it. However, if you watch this with an open mind, you'll be surprised at the amount of intimidation goes on in the world of academia and science against those who dare to oppose their views.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
MGDD
Age:Over 65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very eye opening as to what is happening in our society. If it is all true, it is very scary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every believer should see this!

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michael L. Greene
Location:Kearney, NE
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every believer should see this to understand what is happening in Academia! Mr Stein is Jewish, and so far as I know, is not a Christian, yet I would still recommend this DVD as of the utmost importance to all believers for understanding the prevailing bias in the academic world against anything related to God. It also very well documents the upper academic bias against anyone proposing a 'God-factor' in their research/academic work. It makes the claims of 'open-mindedness' of some very prestigious colleges and universities, and of their being places where ideas are freely discussed and weighed on their merits, a sham. I do not wish to present this as a dull, boring documentary; it is highly interesting, moves along very well, and held my attention throughout. It is certainly something concerning which we should be seeking God's help. Again, I believe this is highly relevant and a 'must- see' for all believers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everyday Happenings

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Thomas Olson
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This type of thought purity is prevalent. Discouraging for a nation that prides itself on freedom of thought and expression of those thoughts!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So True

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Larry
Location:Colorado
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
All college students should watch it. Also HS. Senoirs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent tool for witnessing

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathy Demming
Location:Peckville, Pa.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie is excellent to talk to unbelievers about or show them how the enduring persecution of the true church and the true gospel are not tolerated by other worldviews and it shows how the Jewish people have also been persecuted for what they believe and the silencing of our voice to afford them their offense of our belief shows the intolerance they really have and do it in the name of freedom. a real worldview of biblical truth, believing in a 7 day creation and God creating us is buried under intolerance and their view of science. Ben Stein does a great job. KD
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Revealing Expose' of "Academia"

Date:January 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Super K
Location:Alabama
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This program helps to illuminate the great irony of how "UNintelligent" the word of academia seems to have become. Romans 1:22 tells us about this transition and how it began: "Professing themselves to be wise, they became fools." The video shows some clear examples of how such thinking has affected people's lives and careers, and how their employers rationalized the discipline and firings the "wise" meted out to employees who dared to question what they were being forced to teach. Pretty compelling evidence about the state of mainstream education today.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Evolution: science or worldview?

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
silentwitness
Location:Katy, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for High School or College students. Shows how the currently accepted teaching on evolution science, may be more world viewpoint related than fact based.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Have to have a liking to a monotone voice

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancy
Location:Scottsdale
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Material is good stuff...juhave to listen in segments
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Above and beyond anything I would have expected

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Martdan
Location:Manitoba, Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When a friend of mine first brought it over, I was a bit skeptical anything with Ben Stein on the cover would be worth watching. Boy did it blow me away. Extremely informative on the minds of current scientists who will literally believe anything, just to say we cannot have been created. Done from a non-Creationist point of view, so no one can say it is all about religion. A must watch
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!!!

Date:January 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robert N
Location:RSM, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of THE best documentaries I have ever watched. I had heard of Ben Stein being in the movie "Ferris Bueller's Day Off", but I really didn't know much else about him. When I watched this I was impressed. I cannot recommend this highly enough. I now give it out to help others see what is going on. In my book it is a "Must Watch". I do not think you will regret it unless you are looking for a comedy. I suppose some of the replies Ben gets would be funny if they weren't so tragic. Enjoy and learn.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
judy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is brilliant and equal to hollywood quality production documentary with fascinating interviews with leading atheists that show their vacant reasoning...extremely exciting from beginning to end ..not a moment of boredom and it really has an urgent message about the state of intellectual freedom today...all Christians must see this and hopefully speak out about the need for the 'berlin wall' imprisoning science, schools and journalism to come down and allow integrity and free thought to return.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
DolphinGuy
Location:Shoreline, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This should be required 'curriculum' for any open-minded human being! Insightful, compelling and difficult to argue with the facts!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very good movie !

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
dot mom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Ben Stein, and I love this movie. May God continue to bless you, Mr Stein!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intelectually founded, well explained

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Peter
Location:Vancouver BC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It exposes some of the half-truths of secular science very clearly. Humanity is at risk today in our science based ideological thinking: genetic engineering, genetic manipulation, scientifically orchestrated selection, human enhancment, posthumanism.
It is very obvious from this DVD that the only logical alternative to the modern meaningless, dehumanizing, postmodern, secular paradigm is to return to a way of thinking where the Creator of the cosmos has a central place in our model.
If the scientific world does not turn we are heading towards a condition worst than all the evils of the past such as genocide, abortion, euthanasia.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Needed to be shown in homes, churches and relative

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
many horses
Location:Shell, Wy.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Covers what has been going on in education for many years.
Why our nation is in the shape it is. So many have been taught half truths or theories as truth. There needs to be real
truth taught and not someones idea of truth. Highly recommended for all parents and students!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

As advertised

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shadow
Location:Northern Indiana
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Proves that academia and government does not promote the truth in science but the promotion of science that fits their agenda.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Information

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeffrey Mccurry
Location:Cobbs Creek VA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I watched this video at my small group study and bought a copy for my own resource library. Mr. Stein opens up the reality of the world of academia like never before. This is a must see for understanding how evolution remains the staple of scientific instruction in our schools, colleges and universities.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well done

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
michelle
Location:Red Oak, Tx.
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This documentry was very well done in that it was presented from a neutral point of view. I'm confused by some of the other reviewers that think that it was not. I am not a huge Ben Stein follower so I went back and forth thinking "I didn't know he is a Christian" I'm still not real sure. He presented all the evidence, and interviews without inserting his personal view. It wasn't until the end when he interviewed the athiest guy, (oops, I can't remember his name now) That I got a real sense of his position on that. I think it is important to understand that the point of this documentry is that the proffessors came to the conclusion of "an intelligent designer" on their own, thru their own studies and scientific evaluations. Some won't even go so far as to say the "designer" is God. But because they no longer support the THEORY of evolution, they were stripped of their titles and kicked out of the Universities, or in some cases the country. That is the point of this documentry.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

entertaining and scary

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stan
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ben Stein did a fair job with trying to get answers to questions about intelligent design from both sides. The case for intelligent design was logically defended, but the case against was poorly defended. Their side would have been more credible if they had presented non-emotional, logical arguments, but life from the "backs of crystals" just doesn't make it. Or life from aliens only postpones the ultimate question. The scary aspect of the movie is how strongly this thinking has pervaded our institutiions. There is a creator shaking His head at His children. By His Grace.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.