Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cloud Ten Pictures Waterproof, DVD

Cloud Ten Pictures Waterproof, DVD

Unexpected violence leads to moments of grace when 11-year-old Thaniel Battle accidentally shoots embittered Washington, D.C.-shopkeeper Eli Zeal (Burt Reynolds). Desperate to save her son from arrest, taxi driver Tyree Battle kidnaps Eli and flees with him and Thaniel to her family in Waterproof, Louisiana. Despite dark secrets, will faith and forgiveness prevail? Approx. 94 minutes. Closed-captioned. Rated PG-13 (a scene of violence). Widescreen.

DVD Features:
  • Making of Waterproof
  • Theatrical Trailer
  • Deleted Scenes
  • Actor Bios
  • Average Customer Rating:
    4.111 out of 5
    4.1
     out of 
    5
    (9 Reviews) 9
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
    5 stars
    5
    4 stars
    2
    3 stars
    1
    2 stars
    0
    1 star
    1
    1 out of 250%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Reviews for Waterproof, DVD
    Review 1 for Waterproof, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Peer pressure

    Date:February 23, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Wheelieone
    Location:Dyersburg, TN
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Our life decisions will affect us for years to come.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for Waterproof, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5

    Helps us understand another culture

    Date:January 6, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Dorothy
    Location:Midland, Ontario
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    This story relates more to the culture than to the Lord Jesus Christ. No definite salvation is portrayed or explained. Interesting but not something I would show to someone I was trying to show the way of salvation.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for Waterproof, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:May 16, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Laurie Woodall
    This is a really good movie I didn't know anything about it until I was browsing the whitsend.org site I am surprised it didn't get the publicity that fireproof got an excellent video for the whole family to watch.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for Waterproof, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:July 4, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Charity Johns
    Although in the end, Burt Reynolds lies to cover up what the kid did to him for his mother to the police. Overall it was a good movie. It is one of forgiveness. Good movie!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for Waterproof, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:February 24, 2007
    Customer Avatar
    llo
    I loved this movie. It's hard to find a "Christian" movie that's any good, but this one fits the bill. It may not be Oscar-worthy, but Burt Reynolds' performance is good. It's got a lot of depth, very good acting in it, and a script that is so much better than so many of the other "Christian" movies that are out there. It actually touched me enough to cause me to cry.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for Waterproof, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:July 16, 2005
    Customer Avatar
    Becky
    This movie is pretty good, and has a nice story of redemption. Burt Reynolds' acting is BAD, but the rest of the actors are good. The story line is a little hard to believe, but the end is very touching. My biggest issue is that the character played by Burt Reynolds tells a lie in order to make another character tell the truth--not a very clear moral message in that part. It is worth trying, especially for the price.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for Waterproof, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    Date:May 4, 2004
    Customer Avatar
    Ms. Blue
    Besides the fact that it does give the message of salvation in its script, the movie was horrific. I am sorry to say, but it has absolutely the worst acting that I have ever seen. It is not realistic at all and I think that the main reason people buy it is because a "fallen movie star" is promoted in the movie. And from the acting portrayed in it you can see why. However, if it can save a soul from eternal damnation, to God be the glory!!!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for Waterproof, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:February 27, 2004
    Customer Avatar
    Jason .H
    This movie is well written, acted and directed. The story beautifully illustrates the Christian value of forgiveness. But it could have given more screen time to the saved characters (the Grandmother and Great Grandfather) most of the dialog is between unsaved characters.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for Waterproof, DVD
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:July 19, 2003
    Customer Avatar
    Cami Tapley
    I just wrote a review for the video version of this movie -- but then realized that my husband would probably rather I order it on DVD! :) We only buy the movies we like best in this format since it's more pricey -- so I guess that says how much we like this movie! The story is a wonderful, touching testiment to the "all things work together for good" love of God, and the breaking down of the walls of cultures and bad experiences when people are willing to be vessels of God's love. Besides having strong, dramatic content, this movie has some rich, witty comedy in it as well.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.