Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House TrueU #2: Is The Bible Reliable? DVD

Tyndale House TrueU #2: Is The Bible Reliable? DVD

TrueU #2 -- Ten 25-minute lessons. This second set in the life-changing DVD series asks, "Is the Bible reliable?" Again, proven facts and insights from philosophy, cosmology and biology will help you engage intellectually with professors and peers, both in and outside of the classroom. For centuries, intellectuals and critics alike have questioned inconsistencies. Dr. Meyer examines ancient texts and archeological evidence to build a compelling case for the accuracy of Scripture - and why the Bible is more trustworthy than ever. This DVD series contains a leader's guide and several promotional resources (included on DVD 1) that can be printed and used by churches and small groups. To access the files you must have a DVD-ROM drive on your computer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for TrueU #2: Is The Bible Reliable? DVD
Review 1 for TrueU #2: Is The Bible Reliable? DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joe4Truth
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible is truly reliable, and the current day evidence clearly backs that as being true, as pointed out by this set of TrueU. People constantly try attacking the authenticity and reliability of the Bible in order to try to discredit God, but if one takes the time to look at the evidence and history, the Bible is clearly seen as accurate and reliable...and therefore true!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for TrueU #2: Is The Bible Reliable? DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible Study is very insightful

Date:April 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor Thom
Location:Immokalee, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible study discredits many of the old outdated scholarly critics of the Bible and uses the latest archeological findings to support the historical accounts reported in the Bible. This study makes solid arguments for the accuracy of the Bible as a historical record of the Jewish people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for TrueU #2: Is The Bible Reliable? DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous

Date:December 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
James Seward
Location:Central NY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really found this to be engaging and fascinating. I certainly learned a few things too and deepened my appreciation for what I already knew. Steve Meyer is as passionate about this subject as he is about science and intelligent design. (As of writing this review I have not seen his presentation in TrueU 1, but certainly want to now after seeing TrueU 2.)
Some observations:
* I found the study guide to be comic-bookish and not as engaging as I had hoped.
* Also you need to have your finger on the pause button and make sure you see all the graphics on the lecture room's TV. A couple of times the presentation pauses and displays a special explanation. I wish there was a few more of those.
* The subject of Deutero-Isaiah was not broached nor the timing issue raised in John 19:14.
* I loved the feature of showing snippets from different videos!
All-in-all, I found this product (that I purchased) to be very stimulating a engaging. I highly recommend it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for TrueU #2: Is The Bible Reliable? DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Know TRUTH

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
ldgermany
Location:Ridgeland, MS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can teach my boys about the Bible. I can take them to Sunday School. I can buy them every Bible they ask for or need. However, until they accept what they have learned as absolute truth and know in their heart that what they have learned is more than words on paper, but words to pattern their life after, all my efforts are futile.
Growing up one of the most popular arguments that was given when I asked a question was, "Because I said so." Our children are living in a technological age. A place where information is at their fingertips. "Because I said so" is a very lame answer and if we are not willing to answer their questions about God then someone will. One of the great positives about "Is The Bible Reliable?" is that it doesn't answer questions with "You should believe it because the Bible says so." It gives very solid and reliable answers that students can sink their teeth into. While many of us grew up believing that if it was in the Bible then we shouldn't question it, our kids have been surrounded by anti-Bible and anti-Christian messages in everything from television, magazines, video games and school textbooks. They need solid information which will cement the fact that the Bible is truly reliable. "Is The Bible Reliable?" presents the information in a very intellectual way.
Stephen Mayers present ten classroom lectures including...
In the footsteps of Abraham
The Exodus: From Egypt to Canaan
The Israelites Conquer the Promised Land
Israel's rise to prominence through David and Solomon
The Assyrian Invasion
The Babylonian conquest of Judah
Investigating the historical authenticity of the New Testament
The reliability of Luke and Acts
How archaelogy backs up the New Testament
The trial of Jesus
In addition to the 30 minute lectures on DVD, there is a great book containing extra information, quizzes and cartoons.
I am a big fan of TrueU. I think that it makes a great course for homeschool, Sunday School or just family Bible Study. It is something I would recommend for any high school student before they leave for college.
Disclaimer: I received this DVD set for free from Tyndale House Publishers. No other compensation was received. The fact that I received a complimentary product does not guarantee a favorable review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for TrueU #2: Is The Bible Reliable? DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent video's!

Date:June 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Trisha
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dvd series is aimed toward teens and young adults/college age adults. The opening is very upbeat and attention catching. They then go into a classroom like setting where Dr. Stephen Meyer teaches on the reliability of the Bible. This curriculum package has 10 half hour video’s all talking about the reliability of the Bible and how we can know that its true. Also included in this curriculum/video series is a study guide with questions and comics etc...The basic idea of this series is to be able to get yourself in a place of knowledge to be able to defend your faith and know why you believe what you believe and how you know its true.
I actually really enjoyed this video series, I’m the kind of person that loves information and research and Dr. Meyer’s has really done well with that! I’m not so sure that teens would be interested in sitting through it lol, as the beginning is very up beat and then go into a very calm information filled time. But I do think this is absolutely a great video and full of GOOD information!! He does the work for us! I highly recommend it!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for TrueU #2: Is The Bible Reliable? DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Valuable Teaching Tool

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Location:Connecticut
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Due to the length of the previous views, I see no need to repeat all that has been said. I will add my thoughts concerning the use of this series with students. The notation on the back of the study guide says this series will equip teens to defend their faith. I seriously think this material would be challenging at best for anyone who does not know their Bible before hand. Those who are not Bible students may be unable to process what is being taught initially. It takes concentration with an attitude of mind that you are going to accept the view of the professor. The need for a well planned discussion time with one who is knowledgeable cannot be dismissed. Dr. Meyer covers so much, and details are easily missed as you try to keep up with his thoughts. I was also disappointed with the study guide. I tried to work with it for the first few lessons but kept missing the answers in the quote section where blanks were to be filled in while watching the presentation. Usually that was because Dr. Myer did not quote as it was written in the book. It was confusing and as has already been said, "distracting". I would like to see a larger study guide with more than one relevant question as a follow up for group discussion. The print is entirely too small and just it's size makes it seem unnecessary. But I believe it is necessary to have something of substance to put in the hearers hand so as to be sure everything is clarified to their satisfaction. I would be inclined to make up my own discussion plans while perhaps using the existing book as a starting point. Other than that, I really liked the series and will watch it again. I know I will hear something I missed the first time just as I did when I went through "The Truth Project" the second time. Although not as elaborately presented this is a valuable series of truth as well.
The series "Is The Bible Reliable" which is a production of Focus On The Family was sent to me free of charge by Tyndale House Publishers for the purpose of an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for TrueU #2: Is The Bible Reliable? DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

outside sources confirm what the bible says

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
pastor2519
Location:West Point, UT
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish I had had this resource when I was growing up. Focus on the Family has come out with a great way to teach people why the Bible can be believed and trusted. “Is the Bible Reliable? Building the historical case” goes far beyond the basics that used to be all the justification that we needed - the Bible is God's Word. Maybe you’ve heard someone say “the Bible says it, I believe it, that’s good enough for me”.
The problem is that in the multi-cultural context in which we live, many people don’t believe that they can use the bible’s claims to be divinely inspired as proof that it is. In this two DVD set, Dr Stephen Meyer takes us through a series of lessons, starting with Abraham and the Patriarchs, passing through the Davidic monarchy, and ending with the trial of Jesus. in each session he shows us what the bible says, and then uses extra-biblical material that corroborates the scripture: historical records about people and places mentioned in the bible, archeological finds, even styles of writing in use during different periods.
Meyer talks about different world views, and how they do or don’t fit the historical evidence. In this country, the mind set for many years was predominantly Christian, most of us were willing to accept the idea that if the gospel writers said that Jesus quoted something from the Psalms or one of the books of the Torah, that was evidence of the reliability of the bible. It corroborated itself. People who didn’t grow up with that mindset need a little more evidence and this series lays it out.
Meyer also gives some great advice as he tells the students that they are liable to meet people who will challenge their belief in God, Jesus, and the Bible, and they should try to understand where those people are coming from, and now they have information which will help them defend their faith.
This DVD-study guide set is advertised as being for college students, and some of the non-lecture materials are geared toward that age group, but my son, a junior high school student, watched with me and was able to grasp the concepts and interact with the ideas presented. I think that it would also work for an adult Sunday school or small group.
5 of 5 stars, and I want to look at other materials from TRUE-U
Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this material for review purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for TrueU #2: Is The Bible Reliable? DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great job with compelling intellectual arguments

Date:June 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mrs W
Location:MS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not really a fan of Focus on the Family, but in this set of dvd's entitled "Is the Bible Reliable? Building the Historical Case" is a very good resource. While I don't personally recommend home schooling, if you are a home schooler, this would be a great series of dvd's to use for a Bible class. My own public schooled children will go through these dvd's when the time is right. As a college student myself, I do feel that this series is definitely aimed at college students, although high school students would be able to understand it too. The arguments for the Bible's reliability are intellectual, which I really appreciate.
When I say the arguments are intellectual, I mean that they don't just say that something in the Bible is true because the Bible says so. They use extra-Biblical evidence to prove the claims of the Bible, thus proving the Bible is reliable. They are honest in situations where the evidence may not be compelling to others. I liked that the dvd's are set in a classroom setting with a professor that is easy to listen to and follow along with. I also enjoyed seeing that he was actually talking to students as if giving an actual college lecture.
There is a cutesy study guide that goes with the dvd's, but I found it not useful, and actually a distraction. After the intellectual nature of the dvd's the study guide is a disappointment. My recommendation is to get the students to take their own notes and ignore the study guide altogether. It is a cute book, but not a very intellectual one and does disservice to the work put into the dvd set.
The dvd's are packaged attractively, the lectures are only about 30 minutes long, and there are lots of visuals used. I learned things and was reminded of things that I did know, and it also built on some of my knowledge of ancient history that I have already studied in college. Focus on the Family has actually presented a good resource this time, which just goes to show that even people I don't always agree with can produce good products.
~ This set of dvd's was sent to me from the publisher, Tyndale House Publishers, in exchange for a review. I did not receive any additional compensation for this review and was not required to post a favorable review for this product. This review expresses my opinions entirely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for TrueU #2: Is The Bible Reliable? DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid and Well-Presented Teaching

Date:June 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Theresa C Shell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is the Bible Reliable? is a ten part DVD curriculum building the case for the reliability of the Bible as a historical document. It is the second in the line of Focus on the Family’s True U series, which take the viewer into the university classroom to explore various aspects of the biblical worldview.
These DVDs look specifically at whether archeological, historical, and anthropological evidence correspond with the events, persons, and places described in the Bible. The first six lessons look at the Old Testament: the documentary hypothesis, the validity of the Israelites as a distinctive people group that left Egypt for Canaan and took military conquest of the inhabitants of that land, the kingdoms of David and Solomon, and the Babylonian conquest of Judah. The next four sessions focused on the New Testament: the transmission of the Bible, evidence for the early composition of the synoptic gospels and Acts, and the significant corroboration of external evidence to the biblical account.
I was impressed with the amount of solid discussion in each 30 minute episode. This series offers a great jumping off point for further research and discussion into the historical aspects of the Bible. It was also well presented and easy to follow. I think it would be a great resource for an academically focused small group or college group, and would probably even benefit younger teens (depending on their interest and aptitude).
This set comes with two DVDs of ten 30 minute sessions and a discussion guide. The discussion guide has a fill-in-the-blank activity and a matching activity for every section to help solidify the main points, and has various blurbs and comics as well. If I was leading a small group of this study, I would try to get everyone their own discussion book.
I received a complimentary copy of this product as a part of the Tyndale Blog Network.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.