Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Affirm Films Beverly Lewis' The Confession, DVD

Affirm Films Beverly Lewis' The Confession, DVD

Raised by an Amish family, Katie Lapp (Katie Leclerc, TV's Switched at Birth) starts a quest to find her birth-mother, Laura Mayfield-Bennett (Sherry Stringfield, TV's ER). Along the way, two very different men try to help her overcome a devious scheme to steal her rightful inheritance and divide her heart between two worlds. Widescreen. Closed captions. Approx. 88 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
7 out of 978%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beverly Lewis' The Confession, DVD
Review 1 for Beverly Lewis' The Confession, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Movie

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
dtjaden
Location:Mishawaka, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I totally enjoyed this movie! I am recommending it to friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beverly Lewis' The Confession, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this movie!!!!!!!!

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Lewisburg, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first saw this movie on TV and loved it!!!!! It is so heartwarming and inspiring. Sometimes (or maybe most times) God wants us to wait on Him rather than to take things into our own hands. I was so glad when CBD made it available. I will enjoy this DVD for years to come.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beverly Lewis' The Confession, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Encourages Dishonesty

Date:September 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
777Jay
Location:Arizona
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The movie is disappointing because people accept lies throughout most of the movie and they don't do anything about it (with one minor exception).
The movie tends to encourages people to keep their mouth shut when they know lies are being told.
Christianity is about truth.
At the end the movie it shows the person who is being deceived, suddenly realizing they were being lied to....and somehow that makes everything okay...very unrealistic.
It seems like not much positive is being taught or encouraged.
In my opinion, it subtlety encourages dishonesty which is the worst kind of deception.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beverly Lewis' The Confession, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mercy
Location:Ontario
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great movie....can't wait for the final movie in the series.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beverly Lewis' The Confession, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

no ending

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Spagangle
Location:New Orleans, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
? watched the entire movie to have it end oddly and abruptly ?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beverly Lewis' The Confession, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leah
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great movie,very touching. My husband and I both enjoyed watching it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beverly Lewis' The Confession, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This movie was fantastic

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancy Baker
Location:New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have watched this movie twice already as it is really good.
I liked it better than the first one and I hope they make a movie of the last book of the series The Reckoning.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beverly Lewis' The Confession, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great movie

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
elsie
Location:Springfield,Mo.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
like it and want to know when the next one is coming out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beverly Lewis' The Confession, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another amazing sequel from Beverly Lewis!

Date:May 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a huge fan of family friend movies and LOVE the Hallmark Channel. Now I've got the perfect review and giveaway just for you. Beverly Lewis is one of the best selling authors on Amish fiction and has been blessed enough to not only have one of her famous series made into a movie with The Shunning but now the second in the The Heritage of Lancaster County Series, The Confession is now ready to be released on DVD on June 11th.
In this latest movie, we once again follow Katie Lapp (Katie Leclerc, TV's "Switched at Birth), who we left off in The Shunning learning that she was adopted by an Amish couple and was born English. Her birth mother was searching for Katie but her Amish parents kept both of them apart. Only when learning that her birth mother was dying of cancer, did Katie's Amish mother tell her the truth. Now we find ourselves at the beginning of that journey for Katie to find her mother, Laura Mayfield-Bennett (Sherry Stringfield, TV's "ER"), a socialite now living in New York. She learns from her doctors that she has only weeks left to live before she succumbs to cancer and her only wish in life is to find Katie.
Her husband, Dylan Bennett, is struggling with addiction to alcohol and gambling and she feels if he doesn't get help there won't be anything left of her estate and the foundation she's worked so hard to build. When her husband learns he is being cut out of the will, he is desperate to satisfy his outstanding gambling debt with some ruthless loan sharks. He learns that Katie is searching for her birth mother, Laura Bennett and soon comes up with a plan to appease his gambling debt and get back in his wife's good graces again but hiring a stand in to act as the long lost daughter. Since Laura has never met the real Katie Lapp and is at the end of her life, she is desperate to believe that Katie has come home at last.
I received The Confession compliments of Sony Pictures, Affirm Films/Provident Films, and Edify Media for my honest review on this DVD and received no monetary compensation for a favorable review. The only flaw I saw in this movie is that the actress who played Katie Lapp (Danielle Panabaker) in The Shunning is different than in The Confession so if you are watching them back to back, there is a disconnect between the character of Katie Lapp. I prefer the first actress from The Shunning but the story overall is amazing. The depths to which the husband will go to make money off of his dying wife is extraordinary and has you rooting for her to throw him out and discover the truth. It's only when someone from Katie's past shows up that things get interesting in the Bennett household. Now I can't wait for the next movie in the Hickory Hollow series and hope that Katie can truly find happiness in either her English life or her Amish one.
This movie was directed by Michael Landon Jr and has a running time of approximately 88 minutes. I had the opportunity to review The Shunning on DVD and think this make a wonderful sequel to the series. If you haven't seen The Shunning, I would suggest watching that one first to understand the back story to Katie's Amish upbringing and why the desire to find her birth mother is so strong. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.