Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Provident Music Distribution Unstoppable, DVD

Provident Music Distribution Unstoppable, DVD

Where is God in the midst of tragedy and suffering? In this powerful visual presentation, Kirk Cameron takes you on a personal, inspiring, and hope-filled journey to better understand this doubt-raising question that believers and skeptics ask. Going back to the beginning of creation, he investigates the origins of good and evil---and their impact on our lives today. Dove approved (12+). Closed captions. Approx. 65 minutes.

Special Features:

  • 13-minute behind-the-scenes featurette
  • Brian Barfields's "The Time Is Now" music video
  • English and Spanish Subtitles
Average Customer Rating:
3.3 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
5 out of 1050%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Unstoppable, DVD
Review 1 for Unstoppable, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

So disappointed

Date:April 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Teri
Location:Neosho, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for our church library but I should have watched it first. My family watched this and hated it. It was poorly filmed, the music was weird, it was SLOW, and the message confusing. My 15 and 13 year olds were not impressed and neither was I which made me disappointed because I really like Kirk Cameron and appreciate his ministry. Wish I would have saved the $15 from my library budget!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Unstoppable, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Candace Frey
Location:St. Marys, Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I watched this with my 17 year old daughter and it was slow moving and didn't hold our attention. I thought it was going to be a moving instead of a documentary. We were both disappointed and turned it off part way through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Unstoppable, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME MOVIE , GREAT PROJECTON

Date:March 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
FIDELITY
Location:JEFFERSON, WISCONSIN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY HUSBAND AND I LOVE THIS MOVIE. A FRESH VIEW AND AWAKENING :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Unstoppable, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Decent message lost in a fog

Date:February 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Michael Lum
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I guess this is Cameron's first attempt to "go it alone" on production and keep the film budget low. It has a pretty good connection with the first few chapters of Genesis, but the music and filming are so crude and irritating, that we had folks leaving. Not bad for a teen class, but any other age group will find it awkward and tiring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Unstoppable, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Heavy on the old testament/Light on the new

Date:February 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:Bellevue,WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You will like this if you want literal interpretations and visual representations of the first 8 Chapters of Genesis which dominate this movie. The main suffering woven through out the movie is the death of a 15 yr old after fighting cancer for 10 years. Jesus' work on the cross came in the last few minutes and seemed almost anticlimatic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Unstoppable, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Weird

Date:February 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Steve
Location:Eatonville, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Showed this to a group of 12 Christians, the majority being well studied in Scripture. Though mostly Scripturally sound this 65 minute DVD was dragged out through extended pointless shots of Kirk doing nothing. All in the group were put off by the weird imagery and loud music that served only to sensationalize the story not enhance it. Most in the group seemed to struggle to follow Kirk's point which ended up being very different that the synopsis on the case would lead you to expect. Perhaps the sensationalism on this DVD speaks to the younger generation and breaks through their desensitized responses but a 50 and above group just found it disturbing and even boring.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Unstoppable, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Where is God in the midst of suffering?

Date:January 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I wasn't sure I would like Kirk Cameron's visual documentary since I'm not a fan of most documentaries! However, after several minutes, I could start to see how the story was coming together. Kirk does an awesome job bringing to life the story of Man's beginning on earth to the death of Christ and God's redemptive power over evil! Scenes appear throughout the visual journal of the celebration of life of a young 15 year old family friend. Kirk uses this tragedy together with the Biblical stories to help us understand "where is God in the midst of death and suffering?" I'm glad I decided to watch the whole story. It helped me remember that God uses everything for his good and he is always with us, even during times of sickness and death!
"Disclosure in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising): Many thanks to Propeller consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.
Comment
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Unstoppable, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unstoppable is a very thought provoking film.

Date:January 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Renee K
Location:Wichita Kansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unstoppable is a very thought provoking film. Kirk does a wonderful job of taking the viewers through Genesis and how good and evil penetrate our lives. Kirk takes you on a journey trying to unravel the mystery, “Where is God in the midst of tragedy and suffering?”
In these 65 minutes you will see how sin impacts a fallen world. Through pain, suffering, and lost it is a time to run closer to God not further away. This is a perilous time for believers when tragedy happens. Will you walk away from God or will you draw closer to him during the midst of tragedy.
Unstoppable is a wonderful film to watch. I would recommend this movie to anyone who has lost a love one unexpectedly, if you know a family who has a terminally ill child and pretty much anyone who want to “ask why God do believers suffer”.
Thank you Kirk for sharing your journey of lose and heart within this movie Unstoppable. Also for reminding believers that it’s the eternity that really matter. God never changes He is faithful, loving, and has a wonderful plan for us.
This book has been provided to me by Flybye Promotions free of charge and in no way was I asked to give a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255. All links were current when posted.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Unstoppable, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Why does God allow bad things to happen?

Date:January 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever stopped and wondered just why does God allow bad things to happen to good people? Is He capable of preventing it? Does He care? Does He even hear your prayers? Why is this one question the reason so many Christians give up their faith when adversity falls into their own lives and death claims yet another great person, a believer in Christ? When cancer claims another victim and despite all the prayers, healing doesn't come?
Actor Kirk Cameron takes a hard look at just why this happens and finds the answers by going back through the Bible in hopes of providing some clarification as he examines the death of 15-year-old Matthew Sandgren, a close friend of his that losses his 10-year battle with cancer. Kirk takes viewers into the beginning with the creation of Adam and Eve, the fall in the garden of Eden, the flood of Noah, and the coming of Jesus Christ.
In the end, I think Kirk stimulates us to consider all the facts of why bad things continue to happen to good people and offers us hope that when this life is over, we will have everlasting life. It helped me accept things on a much broader scale and realized just how much God cares for all of us despite the circumstances in our lives that hit home when we least expect them. As believers in Jesus Christ, we all know that our life is limited and we will face death, but it doesn't end for us there. It still affects us when we lose someone we love, because of that loss of their presence in this life, here on Earth. We miss them and want to be with them again. That loss is what grieves us the most, not that death claimed them, and now they are restored in heaven. We know we will see them again and then nothing will separate us thanks to what Jesus did through the sacrifice of His death on the cross. Does it answer the why? Not entirely but then again only God knows the reasons why He does what He does and for us, in time, it will be enough for now.
In theaters for only two weeknights (Sept 24th and Oct 3th, 2013), UNSTOPPABLE: A Live Event with Kirk Cameron sold a staggering 260,000 tickets and reached a theatrical gross of over $3.2 million dollars. In just two nights this independent project sent a loud message – audiences want thought-provoking and meaningful entertainment.
I received Unstoppable by Provident Films compliments of FlyBy Promotions for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed are strictly my own. This was an interesting DVD to watch and it's hard to define what it is, It's not really a documentary or a movie but more of a heart to heart look at sitting down with Kirk Cameron taking a hard look at why bad things happen to good people. I wanted to see this movie when it came out in theaters but missed the chance since it only had a single air date. Now I was thrilled to review this DVD and be able to share it with you. It really makes you consider things from the creation of the world to where we are at today and hopefully it offers a glimmer of hope in the midst of tragedy. I easily rate this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Unstoppable, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Artsy, well done

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
HmschlMama
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this film, having seen it in the theaters. Very well done. I enjoyed the music in the film and the artsy directing. Cameron really put some of the Genesis story...that I had heard and read several times before, in a fresh, new perspective. Though some parts might have been a little cheesy, I wouldn't have changed much.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.