Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dave Christiano Films Me & You, Us, Forever DVD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Dave Christiano Films Me & You, Us, Forever DVD

A 47 year old Christian man (Michael Blain-Rozgay) is on the other side of an unwanted divorce. Searching for answers to ease the pain and make sense of his life, he meets a woman (Stacey J. Aswad) at a divorce recovery group. The two forge a friendship and find they have a common bond: both have been thinking about their lost first loves. As he reminisces about his old high school girlfriend (Kathryn Worsham), he regrets he ever broke up with her...and now, 30 years later....wants to see her again. (Drama, 101 minutes).

Special Bonus Features on the DVD:
  • A 21 minute Behind the Scenes Documentary on The Making of Me & You, Us, Forever
  • Original Theatrical Trailer
Released in 2008 by Five & Two Pictures in association with Dave Christiano Films.
Average Customer Rating:
2.8 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
7
2 out of 729%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Me & You, Us, Forever DVD
Review 1 for Me & You, Us, Forever DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
annonymous
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I believe this movie may have had a good idea but the way it was written is not helpful to anyone trying to gain wisdom. Weak plot and acting. Clean material, although not something you would watch around the kids (adult situation). The main character in the movie follows his own path instead of looking into what the word says, very rebellious, not a good influence.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Me & You, Us, Forever DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
AR GIRL
Location:Paducah KY
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was expecting something a little more on the lines of restoration and a sweet story. I felt like this did not flow very well and the ending left much to be desired. While it had some good points and I am sure might help someone along the way, it was not what I hoped for
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Me & You, Us, Forever DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Important topic; Missed oppurtunity

Date:March 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Eric Smith
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I generally like a Christiano film; his movies are normally slow paced, introspective, and usually have a gospel message. The topic of this movie is important, divorce among believers and recovering from it. The main character Dave is a middle-aged father of two who has gone through a painful divorce and is seeking ways to get over it; his wife apparantly didn't care for him and now he's wallowing in self-pity. This drives him to a church recovery group where he meets a young lady that he forges a friendship with. The brunt of the film is about Dave's complaining about his divorce, about how God could allow it, and obsessing about a past love that he now wishes he never broke up. Through it all, Dave's lady friend, his co-workers, and the recovery leader try to encourage Dave to walk with Lord deeper to get over his pain and to stop going down memory lane about a long, lost love. Dave, unfortunately, doesn't take advice well and decides he needs to visit his past love to help him. The story brings up the real pain and struggles of divorcing as a believer, yet it doesn't go far enough discussing the issue Biblically beyond basic advice to walk with God more. There were wonderful oppurtunities for the supporting characters to encourage Dave with scripture, to explain the roles of husband and wives from Ephesians 5:22-33, and explain the goodness of God in His sovereignty (particularly since Dave seems to think God is not right because his divorce was so painful). There are many Daves out there, but they need the exhortation of God's word more than pat answers. Yes, there were scenes that played out well as Dave and his lady friend discussed relationships and heartache, and it rings true, but this subject on divorce within Christiandom needed a more serious treatment than this, though it's based on a true story, so I guess the film is taking its natural direction. This movie isn't as awful as many are making it out to be, but it's also not as well done as it could've been given the subject. I would recommend this movie only slightly, warning those that see it that there are many missed oppurtunities. God forgives divorce among believers, but a Christian marriage is a picture of salvation between Christ and His church and believers need to know the seriousness of that truth no matter how emotional they get over a breakup.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Me & You, Us, Forever DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's a Keeper

Date:January 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
DonaldJamesParker
Location:Crossville, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The title of this flick doesn't exactly fall trippingly off the tongue. I'm not sure I'll remember it forever, but I think this story will stay in my memory banks for a long time. It's a love story so that angle is nothing new. The plot was unique, though, and the two love interests were two very attractive and very likeable people whom I had no trouble cheering for as they walked the circuitous route to discovering that they were in love. This story was a bit contrived, in my opinion, causing me to only rate it four stars. Things like booking an expensive airline ticket to see someone, without calling to ensure they are available bug me. Perhaps I'm too pragmatic to be incurably romantic. The message of the movie involved divorce recovery, a topic for which too many people have first hand experience and a need. This movie can help.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Me & You, Us, Forever DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Summer
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I found this movie to be very slow moving and lacking in any climactic ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Me & You, Us, Forever DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Appey
Location:Bay Area, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
okay film for price (got it as a bargain special, so didn't pay much). A bit slow and unrealistic (even though it was based on true story), did like the older mans wisdom as I did get some biblical truth from it. As with most christian films (though the storyline can be good or great) acting is usually lower budget, but hey I'd rather have that then swearing, violence and lust every 5 mins.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Me & You, Us, Forever DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
the truth 5
Location:CT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
The movie is interesting. But unclear about the author's stand on divorce and re- marriage. The movie portray challenges couple face, but end with a solution that lack scriptural back up. To me, this movie have only encourage/propagate divorce and go against what the bible recommend should couple decide to divorce.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Me & You, Us, Forever DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Scott
From a biblical point of view the story line is lacking in the realities that God does save and restore broken marriages. From an artistic point of view there was much to be desired. I watched the movie with my thumb on the FF button on the remote passing through boring repetitive dialogue.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Me & You, Us, Forever DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Breskend
I love the Christiano Brothers. This was a good story with realistic premises on getting over relationships and starting over. Having gone through the same myself, it definitely struck a nerve.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Me & You, Us, Forever DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Nichols
This is an exceptional film on showing us our lives and how we find ourselves in a valley of regrets and we want to go back and see if there is a way to relive it all over again. But when we get there we find that God has us where we are for a reason and our hope should be in Him and that we should be looking forward, not back.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Me & You, Us, Forever DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Crystal Collins
This movie was very touching. He wanted his marriage to work and his wife didn't. He struggles with remembering his high school first love and without giving away the ending he really honors the Lord by his actions. Would have liked to see a little more at the end.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Me & You, Us, Forever DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Barcomb
I have to disagree with the negative reviews. First I think it is important to note that this movie was based on a true story. I like that it wasn't 'dramatized' but rather was very real. Real life isn't meant to be full of drama, that is the devil's lure. I think the movie showed well why fantasy is just that... fantasy. I think the awkwardness of revisiting an old love was very real. In real life people move on. In real life they will live and feel the regrets of having given their heart but then not sticking to the commitment. The realization that there is no going back is very real. I thought it was a very real portrayal of how people when they are hurt begin to fantasize in their minds how to get a quick fix for their pain instead of accepting that they have to move through the pain and heal, and then find life and love again. A very real movie.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Me & You, Us, Forever DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lawrence Whartenby
If you can tolerate the very minimalistic dialogue, and your heart is already with the Lord, this is an enlightening exposure of how people walk into dangerous situations because they blind themselves to the truth which they ought to recognize.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Me & You, Us, Forever DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pastor Parick Dye
In short: this movie does not glorify God, it is a waste of your time and money. The movie ended leaving you feeling cheep and realizing there is something wrong with this storyline, which is said to be based on a true story. I won't repeat what others have already said negatively, but read and heed. BUT if you are going to buy the DVD, MAKE SURE YOU WATCH the 20 minutes on the making of the movie; watching this and understanding how this movie came into being will confirm the negative reviews. Sorry, but our whole family agreed that the movie was really not about encouraging divorced people... I need to remember to check out the reviews before I buy.The moral problem with the movie: the movie teaches that you can fantasize, be warned by godly people that it is not healthy and not to follow up on your fantasies, ignore them with wrong actions, and have no repercussions and everyone lives happily ever after.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Me & You, Us, Forever DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chad Hart
As this is a film, we should judge it as such. As a film it has no plot, no conflict, no catharsis, and no character development. It's videography (it's shot on video, not film) is one dimensional and stark. The editing is fantastically boring - as if it's a documentary about going to work and coming home. The process of going to work and coming home is shown at least 5 times.As for a story, it's pathetic. The male lead is the 'victom' of divorce he did not want - but takes no responsibility for it. It goes through the motions of Christian culture and spirituality, but what it really there is shallow and disturbing. Indeed - the "flash back" to the past romance that he's so obsessed with is also shallow and pathetic. There's nothing genuine or girpping about this.I frankly worry that this passes for a "good Christian movie" because it's NOT a good drama, and it doesn't have anything to do with mature faith or real struggles.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Me & You, Us, Forever DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shellie
I have to agree that this movie was a drag. It seemed as though it would be really good but it was so disappointing. Save your money and don't waste the time watching this one!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Me & You, Us, Forever DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jean Denton
I loved this movie. I found myself reliving some of the same feelings as the lead actor. Wondering "what if" was exciting and scary. How beautiful this was put together that no lives were destroyed, yet the "what if" was satisfied. Thanks to Dave Christiano for such a beautiful movie. I'll treasure it always. A satisfied customer, Jean Denton
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Me & You, Us, Forever DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Missy
Personally, I'm really glad I bought the movie. Very clean (no swearing, nudity) and thoroughly modern romantic story. Heartbreaking and bittersweet in a good way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Me & You, Us, Forever DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jeremy
Please don't listen to the negative review. If you do, you will miss a great movie. This movie is a good drama which shows the pains of divorce and the heartbreak. It also has valuable spiritual lessons on how God can heal the hurts. It also presents the truth of the gospel that Jesus Christ is the most important relationship in our lives and how sometimes we forget that and focus on people too much instead of Him. I Highly recommend this great movie!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Me & You, Us, Forever DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Maryrose Torigian
I saw the trailer and it looked interesting, so I pre-ordered the DVD. It came yesterday in the mail and my family and I watched it. It dragged and dragged and dragged. The movie never had a point, a story line or a climax. It truly is a pointless movie. Why was it ever made???? PLEASE don't waste your money! I promise you, you are NOT missing a thing!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.