Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Provident Music Distribution The Second Chance, DVD

Provident Music Distribution The Second Chance, DVD

Grammy Award-winning recording artist Michael W. Smith makes his film debut playing Ethan Jenkins, a musician-turned-pastor who's rocking the pulpit and his well-to-do suburban flock. When the church board sends him on sabbatical, Ethan decides to help Second Chance Community Church, an inner-city fellowship. But Pastor Jake resents Ethan's arrival. Can they overcome their prejudices and find common ground? Rated PG-13. Widescreen. Closed captions. Approx. 103 minutes.


Special Features:
  • Commentary with Director Steve Taylor and Actors Michael W. Smith & Jeff Obafemi Carr
  • Deleted Scenes with Optional Director's Commentary
  • "Behind the Scenes" Featurette
  • Beyond the Making of "The Second Chance"
  • "The Second Chance" FAQ File
  • Music Video: "All in the Serve" by Michael W. Smith
  • "Action!" Michael W. Smith & Steve Taylor present at the Gospel Music Awards
  • J. Don Ferguson's Story
  • Theatrical Trailer
  • English 5.1 (Dolby Digital)
  • English and French Subtitles
  • Mastered in High Definition
Average Customer Rating:
3.705 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(190 Reviews) 190
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (190 reviews)
5 stars
83
4 stars
46
3 stars
16
2 stars
12
1 star
33
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Second Chance, DVD
Review 1 for The Second Chance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Movie

Date:January 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amazing Grace
Location:MI
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family loves this movie. This movie is about God's amazing grace. When we are saved we are forgiven of our sins, past, present and future. When we are saved our lives are changed, but we all have some areas that we struggle with and that only The Lord can help us overcome. This is something that the pastor in this movie has struggled with and is working with the The Lord to overcome. It is a tiny part of the movie which takes place in the worst part of the city. FWIW there are no "very bad" words in this movie. The pastor in the movie and his wife do amazing things for the poor, lost and forgotten in this movie. Isn't this what the Bible calls us to do?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Second Chance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellant

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
pianomchrist
Location:Middletown, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quite thought provoking. Michael W. Smith makes a good actor. refreshing and a good twist ending. Very Good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Second Chance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Movie

Date:June 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ninita
Location:Lausanne, Switzerland
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good movie. The message is powerful. The actors are very convincing. Love the songs as well. I recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Second Chance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
tilly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story line and the music was amazing!! I laughed,cried, and cheered along with the character's in second chances
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Second Chance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lucie Paquette
Location:Ottawa, ON
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good movie, loved the music clip at the end! Michael W. Smith is very convincing in this role. I enjoyed it very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Second Chance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Trailer was better than the movie

Date:October 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
vendad
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Disappointed in this purchase on several levels. The language was not offensive or the "inner city" surroundings, that can be a reality for many. The value for the money just wasn't there, and quality; when compared to "Flywheel" or "Facing Giants", there is just no comparison! I got sucked into buying it by the trailer on another movie I bought, it looked good but just didn't deliver
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Second Chance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
The human side of ministers is portrayedpoignantly in this movie. The songs, especially "Moving on Up" and the closingsong are good prayer songs in their own right.Because reality isn't always pretty and ministry in the modern inner city can showappalling "unpleasantness", i'll give the writers credit for a good modern movie.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Second Chance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Terry
Just saw movie at a screening while on Smitty's Alaska Cruise 2010. Outstanding story with good acting by all. Does portray the mega-television evangelism "industry" pretty harshly, but then I think that's what some deserve. Profanity fits the story (and is NOT the four letter variety) and is kept to a minimum. It would be hard to give a sense of realism of the tough life faced by those in the "hood" if they said "I'm going to kick your buttocks!" I do agree the movie's one shortcoming is a pretty weak ending, but a great message and 100% recommendation to watch. I also plan to buy the DVD.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Second Chance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Girl from Dixie
Great movie, I wish they would have had a better ending, but VERY good and powerful message! Get it, you'll not regret it!!! Your collection isn't complete without it!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Second Chance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
AR GIRL
Great movie, powerful message. Someone said Michael and his girlfriend were shacking up- NOT TRUE! the movie made it very clear they were boyfriend/girlfriend and were engaged. They didn't even kiss in the movie, made it clear they didn't live in the same house- hows that for 'shacking up'?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Second Chance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Girl from Dixie
Whoever you are that said you didn't watch this beyond the beggening becausee Brother Jake cursed from the pulpit, man, you missed out!! Sure, he cussed, and that was wrong, but can;t you dish out the bad and benifit form the good? Powerful message, folks. Probably wouldn't wnat little kids to see it before you've aproved it, does have some cussing. I give it 4 stars instead of 5 because, and only because, of the profanity. Do wish they would have had him stop cussing, but it's a great movie. Get it!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Second Chance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
AR GIRL
This movie has a really good message. It is sad though that the preacher used profanity and the movie didn't make it clear that it was wrong of him. I can understand it coming from the street gangs, but why did the preacher have to cuss? That is why I give this movie and 3 out of 5. Really good message, I enjoyed how the two preachers learned from one another and came together for a common purpose. Not a family movie, but a great movie for mature teenagers and adults. Don't just not get it because of all the bad reviews because of the language. Give it a try- you may be blessed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Second Chance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie Rodgers
I was disappointed by the language in this movie.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Second Chance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janelle
I loved this movie! I felt the acting was good, and it is the most realistic christian movie of its kind I have seen. As far as the language is concerned it is a struggle I still have. Iam glad God isnt shocked by my failures. Thank God he still loves me and is working in my heart. My kids can relate to this movie and so can most of there friends. Unfortunately many "Christians" are offended by the truth and seeing the reality of our world today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Second Chance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chris Mclean
Great movie! Michael W. Smith does a great job acting in his debut film. Jeff Obafemi Carr, who plays the pastor of the inner-city church, did an awesome job as well, showing the struggles his character faces in a very convincing way. The movie portrayed real-life situations, gang violence, and stumbles in the Christian walk. There is a small amount of language to bring out the reality in the story, and it was done in good taste. Trust me, I''m not one for vulgarity, but if you watch the movie, you will understand why the language played an important role in a Christian movie. the only part I thought should have been better was the ending. It left you hanging, in a way, but in leaving you hanging, it gave you the sense that God knows what He's doing, and He'll take care of things if you put your trust in Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Second Chance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
T
I loved the overtone of the movie but hated the ending unless it is preparing for a sequel. There were moments in the movie that were sooo touching.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Second Chance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lori
We never watched beyond the beginning; the movie practically opens with profanity. So disappointed. We expected better from Michael W. Smith. I can't remember if we rented it or got it from the library, but I'm so glad we did not buy it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Second Chance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alonna
This movie is good, especially for a Christian movie. I would definitely recommend it. Some people seem to have an issue with the drugs and language, but it really is not bad at all (you will seriously hear worse language in an elementary school and I don't even remember the being any "profane" language in the movie). The movie is about helping hurting people and far too many Christians are too "holy" to go out, help, and spread the Gospel to those in need. Remember Jesus came for the sinners, not the righteous. Shouldn't we reach out and do the same. In my opinion, this movie really shows how we need to make sure we are not hiding our light out of fear. It also highlights how even when we try our best to do what is right, sometimes it still won't work out for the best; which is why we need to be led by God, not ourselves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Second Chance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
H.U.G.S. Ministries
Real good story about facing the things that leaders and pastors deal with behind the scenes and in front of God's people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Second Chance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joseph
Found this to be a very moving and thought provoking movie that was well done. While it is not for young children I think it could produce some excellent discussion for youth and adult groups but you need to watch it yourself first. No single movie can address all the complications of race relations and urban life in modern America. The Second Chance does a good job raising some of those issues as well as reminding us how we can stay busy with ministry but forget our ultimate purpose. I especially thought the church board and the city officials helped present a broader picture of the races and issues. Well worth watching if you can accept it as a PG13.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345 ...10Next >>>