Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Baker The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes

First published as a four volume set in 1909, The Fundamentals is now available in this beautiful and accessible two volume set. This remarkable defense and survey of classic Christian thought profoundly influenced Christian thinking in conservative circles for the whole of the twentieth century. This edition features the original, unabridged text with 100 articles authored by leading scholars including B. B. Warfield, James Orr, R. A. Torrey, Arno Gaebelein, and Arthur T. Pierson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.675 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 out of 1587%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes
Review 1 for The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exeptional book on Christian Fundamentalism

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tina
Location:Gold Coast, Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deeply historical and explanational on Fundamentalism in Christianity. It clarifies the fact that Fundamentalism does not equal dogmatism at all cost, but that the sword with which the church is suppose to fight is not physically but mentally.
Packed with useful and historical information. Great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT SET!!!

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
36x48photo
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this set to any person in the Christian Church! Great Material!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Systematic Theology for Dummies

Date:February 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
HMaicki
Location:West Bloomfield, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a simplified version of a good systematics book. Great for beginners or explaining to novice Christians. (We all had to start somewhere.) Like all Hendrickson books, great quality and great value.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Fundamentals

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brian
Location:Orting, Wa
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great set on Basic Bible doctrines that have shaped and defined fundamentalism as we know t today!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Fundamentals, 2 Vol.

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
phishing4men
Location:West Blocton Al
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have not read all of course but very satisfied so far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Church needs to return to its roots.

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bob 1
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The underlying character, ethics, and biblical standards set by the apostles are sadly missing in many of our churches today. America's pulpits need to re-establish them through the lessons taught in this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

interesting book

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sergej Pauli
Location:Germany
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Realy Interesting book, different autors helping evangelical preachers.
Its a reprint, but a good one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Pick and choose the articles

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
doulos
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the hardbound book is attractive and good quality. I did not find a singleness of purpose or any meaningful progression to the articles; for me, it was a hodge-podge of various notions somewhat 'thrown together' to get them published. This does not detract from the spiritual worth of each article in and of themselves, but overall it was not quite what I was expecting.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Addition to My Collection

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Inga
Location:NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
The Fundamentals, 2 Volume series, is an excellent compilation of journal articles that I thoroughly enjoyed reading. The articles are just as relevant today as they were when written by some of the best theological scholars. I highly recommend this book to anyone studying the discipline of Theology.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great contents but exposed in a boring way

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Osvaldo Cristo
Location:Itapevi, SP - Brazil
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Please do not misunderstand me: the subject matter is really great but the way it is exposed is very boring and not compatible with modern exposition methods for my taste. I had a lot of difficulties to summarize its contents and according to my own personal standards, if I cannot summarize efficiently, I did not get the contents.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Israel2Joy
Location:Lafayette, In
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A week or so ago, I was reading the scriptures as outlined in the Bible Reading Plan that I came across in a Discipleship Journal.and in the footnotes was this little gem: "Today, treasure the spiritual leaders the Lord provides for your wisdom and councel. Both their rebuke and their blessing stem from the Lord's good purposes for you; to call you to repentance and to make you wise unto salvation in Christ." The Lutheran Study Bible. As a student of the bible, I now and again come across the theological term "higher criticism." I thought I understood what it meant but after I began reading "The Fundamentals, vol.1, I discovered that I didn't. For me, the information about "higher criticism" alone, was worth the purchase. There are so many good books out there and if one isn't careful, you can easily get bogged down. Never-the-less this two volume set is a welcome addition to my library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Essential, easy to read apologetics

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Skipper
Location:Eastern Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
The books are a collection of articles written by big names of the faith late 19th early 20th century. The information is profound in its relevence to the debates currently raging between Bible believers and those being enticed with the agnostic, New Age humanism pervading our culture. Who could have guessed that scholarly Christians a century ago could have identified the prevailing trends and where they were heading with such accuracy. Particularly I am referring to the article written about Socialism and Christianity. The other articles written on subjects such as faith, the reliability of scripture, archeolgoy and the Bible, the origin of Mormanism, the influence of Romanism on church history and so forth are illuminating and thought provoking. I hightly recommend these volumes as I know of no other such recent work for such an affordable price. Clearly the result of love labor on part of all contributors.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very pleased.

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sniper
Location:St. Augustine, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what I was looking for! A great value indeed. The service was excellent as well. A great source for information.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dspl4JS
Location:Boone, NC.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These two littel books are packed with wisdom.
A must have for individuals who seek the foundational core of bible study and research.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great achievement, not so great a shipping tax

Date:December 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Issa
Location:São Paulo, Brazil
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's an excellent articles and essays compilation, no doubt about it. Designed for the enhancement of knowledge of those dedicated to the work of God, it is especially recommended for those facing the liberal unorthodoxy challenges towards faith. Before give in to the new ideas concerning christianity, to the new conceptions of faith rising in the 20-21th century and to the academicism that rages the Bible, one should get in touch with these tremendously learned 19th century orthodox perspective.
My only unpleasant surprise was the shipping tax, which exceeded by far the price of the books. If you live in Brazil or anywhere near, watch for the tax.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Edith Abbott
I was very satisfied upon receiving the two volumes of The Fundamentals. They are well bound and printed. I am enjoying each article. I wish I'd had these while I was in my liberal seminary. How I'd have loved to refute the lies with arguments and quotes from these fundamentalist scholars!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bryan Williams
A well written scholarly publication. Because the two volumes cover both a diverse range of biblical issues and authors' points of view, there is a wealth of interesting material to engage the mind of the most critical of readers. The offerings may not reflect the most modern of thinking but nonetheless, are thought provoking and provide plenty of intellectual challenge. For a christian reader, seeking to enlarge his knowledge of faith issues, the price of these two volumes offers unbeatable value. Well rcommended. The price for such a goldmine of serious is unbeatable
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Steven Barry Reeve
A most excellent compendium of late 19th. and early 20th. century essays on a wide range of subjects that are just as relevant now as they were then. These volumes deal with issues such as evolution, the various cult movements and the nature of sin to name but a few. I am really enjoying these books and consider them one of the best buys that I have made in a long time, especially when buying them at such a ridiculously low price. If you want a bargain or more importantly a great set of Christian essays, then don't delay these are the books for you.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alan Coates
So pleased to get these books - I have sought them for sometime. I haven't had chance to read the books but am so happy with the product and with the service from Christianbooks.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Fundamentals, 2 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Douglas K. Adu-Boahen
No doubt this is one of the most important works of 20th century Western evangelicalism. In our day, Christians are going soft on many of the issues raised in The Fundamentals, and this work should be required reading for a new generation of Biblically-wired evangelicals.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>