Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker Books A Visual History of the English Bible: The Tumultuous Tale of the World's Best-Selling Book

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Baker Books A Visual History of the English Bible: The Tumultuous Tale of the World's Best-Selling Book

A stunning look at the process of transformation from medieval manuscripts to today's contemporary translations! Renowned scholar Brake traces the Bible's journey from the pulpit to the people, supplementing his engaging narrative with more than 100 gorgeous color illustrations. A great gift for history buffs, bibliophiles, or anybody interested in the story of God's Word! 304 pages, hardcover from Baker.
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Visual History of the English Bible: The Tumultuous Tale of the World's Best-Selling Book
Review 1 for A Visual History of the English Bible: The Tumultuous Tale of the World's Best-Selling Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a great read!

Date:August 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:Carrollton, Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. The quality is exceptional. The paper is heavy and the photographs are the highest quality. You can't go wrong with this purchase. Can't figure out why this book is $20 and his other book is on sale for $4.99. If you are getting this book be sure to get his other one too. They are very interesting and packed full of information. Also he gives some sideline stories about his collecting efforts which I found entertaining and a good break from reading the intense information. Really enjoyed reading both of his books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Visual History of the English Bible: The Tumultuous Tale of the World's Best-Selling Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good Historical summary

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mowest
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The author provides a good overall summary of the history of the Bible as it relates to the deriving the English text. The book provides a summation of the efforts, risk and cost that those who would dare to “translate” God’s word to a common language.
It also provides in-sight to some of the inner workings that was present and affected to progress or lack thereof in getting God’s word to all people. The inclusion of photographs of some of the original works also assisted in understanding the challenges of translation, printing and understanding the early efforts.
The only distraction that I found in the book is the side bars on how the author acquired some of his collection. It did help me realize that I will not have a chance to get my hands on the early books as the cost is VERY prohibitive.
All in all, if someone is interested in getting a glimpse into the history of the English Language Bible without having to drill into an extended history class this book is a good starting point.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Visual History of the English Bible: The Tumultuous Tale of the World's Best-Selling Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great resource

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robert
Location:Kansas City, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a source like this for years. I was very happy to discover A Visual History of the English Bible: The Tumultuous Tale of the World's Best-Selling Book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Visual History of the English Bible: The Tumultuous Tale of the World's Best-Selling Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Achievement award to Dr. Donald L. Brake

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
S Hills
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Should be required reading for anyone going into ministry. Thank you Dr. Donald L. Brake, for this work and your dedication! How did we get the Bible and where does it come from is a question that most people I've tried to minister to in one way or another have 'asked' or expressed 'doubts' about...even when simply bringing up the name of 'Jesus' in a conversation.
The strengths I saw are as follows: Interesting details; scholarly; to the point and factual; brave regarding difficulties; dedication as a collector of the English Bible; comprehensive for the amount of pages used with quality visuals.
Weaknesses in my expectation were: Summary needed about the nation of Israel and their dedication to preserve the 'words of God' spoken through the prophets beginning with Moses; summary needed at beginning about Greek texts used in translations and how those came about and where they are now (though covered later in timeline of events); I kept asking, “Where are these manuscripts”? A summary in the beginning matching our Bible Preface/Introduction regarding the textus receptus, Byzantine, Western text, Latin Vulgate, and etc. that are stated in current Bible translations would have been a cherry on top for me. Perhaps a little help in how to read the Preface/Introduction of your Bible would have helped (my NKJV and ESV didn't match the chart at end of this book). In a new edition because of the Internet, people would like to look up the library, church, city, museum, or monastery of your book and follow your life as written in your book…though I’m asking a lot it would have been the whipped cream with my cherry on top! Thank you, again for your work.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Visual History of the English Bible: The Tumultuous Tale of the World's Best-Selling Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an amazing value

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
DrWayne
Location:Berne, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality and information within this book is exceptional. I recommend this as a comprehensive history and keepsake of how we received our English Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Visual History of the English Bible: The Tumultuous Tale of the World's Best-Selling Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lots of info

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
mr bulow
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
There is lots of good info in this book. It is kinda written in a personal way - he is a book collector and inserts some of his adventures here and there in the book, which I kinda liked.
He takes the scholarly view of the TR/Byzantine text - that they are garbage. Granted, I'm not a scholar, but I think that attitude is unwarranted.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Visual History of the English Bible: The Tumultuous Tale of the World's Best-Selling Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robert J. Boyle
WOW!!!! This was much better than expected!!! This is a great reference work if studying the history of the English Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Visual History of the English Bible: The Tumultuous Tale of the World's Best-Selling Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michele Moore
Cindy Woodsmall has done it again. She has demonstrated her ability to weave a variety of characters seemlessly into a novel that holds the reader captive. She develops engaging characters, taking them through the ordinary and extraordinary, culminating one story line only to hint at what may come in the next in the series. I looked forward to reading The Bridge of Peace only to find when I finished, I was left wanting more. If you love Amish Christian Fiction, you will truly enjoy Woodsmall's latest triumph.
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Visual History of the English Bible: The Tumultuous Tale of the World's Best-Selling Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
George Henson
One of the best books I have read on this subject, informative, language easly understood.Have many others on the Bible, this my favorite.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Visual History of the English Bible: The Tumultuous Tale of the World's Best-Selling Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2010
I just finished reading this book. The author's passion for the Bible and Bible collecting can be seen throughout the book. The history presented in this book reminds me how fortunate we are to live in this day and age.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Visual History of the English Bible: The Tumultuous Tale of the World's Best-Selling Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Church Of Christ
My first casual examination of the book reveals very useful information. The general index is quite helpful as are all the color plates, charts, and graphs. I'll have more review info later in the month. The book does, in fact, fill a missing gap of needed information.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Visual History of the English Bible: The Tumultuous Tale of the World's Best-Selling Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Richard Hall
A great addition to my library on the subject of how we got our wonderful Bible. I am preparing to teach a course on the subject and this is certainly a great help in preparation. Adds greatly to Lightfoot's book on the same subject.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Visual History of the English Bible: The Tumultuous Tale of the World's Best-Selling Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rev. Doyle Peyton
One of the most interesting introductions to this important subject. A lot of key information creatively presented and wonderfully illustrated.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Visual History of the English Bible: The Tumultuous Tale of the World's Best-Selling Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jean Hilton
I never knew "history" could be so enjoyable and inspirational. "Visual" is an understatement with the author's original charts, stories, photos, and illustrations. Solid documentation and explanations of views varying from the author's, I believe, would even qualify this as a textbook. Textbook sounds "stuffy" but this book is far from stuffy, using the author's life experiences in his conquest to preserve the history of the English Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.