Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover

Thomas Nelson NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover

Remember how exciting it was to receive your first Bible? You just couldn't wait until Sunday morning came and you could carry your very own Bible to church! Today's children can experience the same excitement with the NKJV Early Readers Bible. This Bible contains the complete Old and New Testaments in giant print making it easy for early readers. Other features include: 48 pages of two-color inserts designed to provide added insight to Scripture, illustrated dictionary/concordance, 8 pages of full-color maps, an 8-page timeline illustrating both secular and biblical history, and Read-Along References for added study. There is even a special place for Decision and Baptism records.

Equip today's children with God's Word in a format they can understand. Matthew 19:14 says "But Jesus said, 'Let the little children come to Me, and do not forbid them; for of such is the kingdom of heaven.'"

  • Presentation Page
  • Records pages for Baptism and other events
  • 10 Point Text
  • Informational sections about the Bible and how to use it
  • Bible timeline
  • Reading plans
  • Memorization tracks
  • Biblical guide to prayer
  • Two-color inserts throughout
  • Two-column format
  • End-of-paragraph references
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Concordance
  • Illustrated Bible dictionary
  • Color Maps
  • Hardcover
Average Customer Rating:
4.884 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 21100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Review 1 for NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THE best children's Bible ever!

Date:December 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
MinistryMom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The title is deceiving, "Early Readers Bible" - its not a Bible for a young child. First, its a full translation, not a paraphrase. Secondly, its a complete study Bible containing a concordance, Bible dictionary, two time lines (one demonstrating the chronological narrative, and one comparing major Biblical events to secular history). There are lots and lots of maps (to go with each narrative in Scripture), as well as charts through out. The beginning breaks down the books into categories, and gives a detailed description of those categories. There is a topical table of contents (not an index - its in the front!), as well as notes on how to study Scripture. There are several reading plans.
The study pages are on a thick, glossy paper printed in two tone (burgundy-mauve; black-gray). These pages have illustrations such as the items in the tabernacle, the priest's clothes, or illustrated time lines of that Bible book. They also contain maps specific to that book, or charts that compare prophecy to fulfillment. There are even small quizzes from the reading plans.
In the back, there are full colored maps of both Old Testament and New Testament happenings and travel, as well as notes to the significance of the areas.
The beginning of the Bible has a place for the child's name, a Roman's Road walk through Scripture as a tract for salvation, a decision page and a certificate of baptism. There are note pages through out, but a "favorite verse" page in the front.
The beginning also has a description of God's Word with verses that support why its useful for studying, memorizing, building each other up (its perfect, its God's Word, its inerrant, etc.). There is a description of how our Bible came to be and how God has protected His Word over thousands of years.
This is the Bible recommended to us from a friend who is an elementary education professor at a Bible college. We were not disappointed. I am a homeschool mom and my husband is a state side missionary working with churches specifically in children's and youth ministry. This is my new Bible for teaching (both home and mid-week children's program) and our children's "graduate" Bible (meaning, after a child has learned to read, and read straight through a paraphrase story Bible, this is their Big Bible).
I highly recommend it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this product is perfect for children

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
antho
Location:canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product is great, i love it and my kids do also, it has great features for study and very easy to understand
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Adalyn
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible as a gift to my daughter. She loves it! Perfect for her. :) we needed the Nkjv, but I wanted a fun friendly kids version. This is it. I ended up buying two, one for my son as well. They love the easy to read words, the colorful maps and all the wonderful sections for them to write in as well. Would recommend this Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathi
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so excited to find a "real" Bible for my 6 year old daughter. She loves to read and we felt she needed a full Bible, not just the storybook ones. This is just what we all wanted. She was so thrilled to get it. Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cece
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this book for new believers as well as young readers. It explains some of the more difficult bible themes and passages. This bible also has a number of maps, references and other aids that help a young reader or someone new to the bible understand it better. I am purchasing one for myself to use as a handy reference.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great first bible for kids!

Date:December 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
4Yentz
Location:Plymouth, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really pleased with this bible, I bought 2 of them for both of my girls, there is so much extra info in this bible for the kids, maps, illustrations, lots to explore, the type is a nice size for early readers, and the bible is a nice size, not too big and not too small! My girls loved it and so do I!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For 15 yr old granddaughter to comfort her.

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
shortstop
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this bible for my 15 yr old granddaughter. Going through some difficult times and needs a bible that will help her with answers and understanding if possible. 15 is a very hard age.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Bethea
Location:Orange Park, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible for my twin, 10 year old grandsons. This Bible far exceeded my expectations! It's chock full of information for beginners and growing Christians. I showed it to adults who said they are going to purchase this Bible for themselves as well as grandchildren. The youth director at my church said she is purchasing copies as gifts to children in youth church. I highly recommend parents and grandparents purchase this Bible. You will not be disappointed.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The perfect Bible for my little girl!

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Radhoedt
Location:Santa Maria, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible fit the bill perfectly. My six year old girl just loves this Bible. She gets a Bible that is like the "grown-ups" and still is geared towards her needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Early Reader Bible

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
librarian
Location:Malcolm, NE
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I order this Bible to see if it fit a need we have for our younger Sunday School classes. This Bible is great for that beginning reader. It also has great resources that will help the younger students make important connections while reading their lessons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good book for children

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sunny
Location:Oakland, Ca
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good book for children just beginning to learn about
God and His Word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's a great child's bible!

Date:September 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Poodlelady
Location:Cabot, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bible for a child. A great gift for a first bible!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Larita Porter
Location:Chino, Ca.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second one I have bought for grandchildren. I LOVE this Bible! It has so many charts and maps. I wish they also made it in an adult format. I bought it after reading good blogs about it. I could never find it in a store, so I ordered it, and received it promptly. I even had the opportunity to have their names engraved in gold on it. Also, the print is large and easy for little eyes to see. I am really impressed by all the additional information it contains. I am very happy to recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoy reading the inserts and maps myself.

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grammy
Location:Chesapeake, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NKJV Early Readers Bible is a great Bible for a young person who is not familiar with the Word. I purchased a copy for my ten year on granddaughter and she was thrilled to get it. She had very little interest in the Bible until she had her very own Bible that she could read and understand. Now she wants to read it all the time. She loves it when I say, "It's time for Bible Study." The inserts and maps in the NKJV Early Readers Bible are a useful tool that provides knowledge of the origin of the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great bible for children

Date:June 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amool
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a Sunday school teacher and I love this bible..very easy to read..maps are helpful. thought was awesome for kids from ages 10 and up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great bible for children.

Date:April 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debs
Location:Florence, MS.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very neat Bible for children. I plan to use it when home schooling my granddaughter who is almost 5. She is learning to read and we will start learning the Psalms. I really love it!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

NKJV Early Readers Bible

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lennie
Location:Wyoming
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Within the first two pages the plan of salvation is explained through Romans, the font size is perfect, the paper is good quality, and the pictures are and maps are awesome and helpful and easy to understand. I am sorry it says "Early Readers Bible" on the cover because this would suffice for any new Christian. I am saving money so I can buy a case. I don't want to give out award bibles with their tiny font and thin paper to children, I want to give them something of exceptional value and I believe this Bible is it. Thank you Thomas Nelson Publishers! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent teaching aid for the young new Christian

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
mrbill
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of several purchases I have made of the same bible. I support my christian daughter's teaching of children's Sunday school. On occassion a child shows real interest in the Holy Bible and it's messages. On those occassions we try to fan those flames of interest. This version and print has been an excellent source to meet those needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
mihmih
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy Bible, good for young boys. A nice Bible to take to church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NKJV Early Reader's Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent Children Bible

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
His Lamb
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with Bible. Plan to purchase additional ones as needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.