Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather

Thomas Nelson NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather

What if you could capture the knowledge of the most eminent Biblical scholars, draw on some of the best biblical maps, timelines, and other study helps, and have them with you wherever you go? Chances are that you would often have to sacrifice readability to do it. Not any more. The NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Bible has the best of both worlds with a highly portable size and giant print that makes comfortable reading easier than ever. One of today's best-loved Bible translations, the NKJV combines a warm conversational tone that makes it perfect for individual study with the serious scholarship that will help you take your Bible study to a whole new level.

Features:

  • Presentation page
  • Translation and textual notes
  • Two-column format
  • Concordance
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Emphasized Messianic prophecies
  • Full-color maps
  • Read-along references
  • Ribbon marker
  • Silver page edge gilding
  • 6" x 8.75" x 1"
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
11 out of 1573%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather
Review 1 for NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent NKJV

Date:March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
DougB
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am picky when it comes to my Bibles. That being said, this is one of the best Bibles I have seen in this price range.
Like the older NKJV products in this line from Nelson, the large text size, dark print and overall dimensions are perfect. Unlike some Bibles, the red text is deep red, not hard-to-read pink. There is a decent concordance and limited (but not distracting) cross references. But the icing on the cake is Nelson's new bonded leather! Competitors take note: this is how to do bonded leather. It has a gorgeous imitation leather grain in it and, after only a few weeks of daily use, it has become softer and more flexible.
One of my favorite Bibles, at any price.
Well worth the price if you are looking for a NKJV- an excellent and underrated translation in my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good price

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shelly
Location:Red Bluff, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The quality of this Bible is very good for the low price. It is a great beginner's Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I was looking for

Date:April 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
DLynnLogan
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful Bible in NKJV. Print is easy to read, fits perfectly in my new leather Bible cover and all at a very reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Format

Date:March 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Humble Student
Location:Knik, Alaska
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This version of the NKJV Bible has the perfect balance of scripture references, study helps and print large enough that your eyes can survive good, long study sessions. This Bible would be suitable for any one.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not what I expected, but not a bad Bible

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anthony
Location:portland, or
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I mistook personal size for a compact Bible it seems because it's larger than I wanted it to be, but the Bible itself is very quality and has excellent introductions to each book of the Bible. One complaint though is that the Red-Letter is really faded and hard to see at the paper. Bolder print there would be nice. Overall good Bible that I would recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Ths product is mis-leading

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
William Eynon
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased NKJV Personal Reference, GIANT PRINT bible so I could read the bible easier, having eye problems I thought the GIANT PRINT would help, but the print in this bible is a small print like most bibles, it is useless to me, I will end up giving it away, and will look elsewhere to fine a bible with giant print that I can read. I am so sorry I purchased this bible, and it is not GIANT PRINT at all, I have a Holman GIANT PRINT KJV bible I was using, and it is GIANT PRINT it is about twice the print size as the one I purchased.......I wanted the NKJV because it is easier to read and understand. I feel cheated since the bible is listed as GIANT PRINT and is NOT.............
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice feel

Date:April 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
BibliaChic
Age:25-34
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The cover and texture are gorgeous...that's what led me to purchase. My issue is that the pages are like tissue paper. They are SO thin...any moisture in your hands can cause the pages to ripple.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is sent from heaven!

Date:May 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anointed
Location:Riverside, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible has excellent outer and inner quality...was shipped fast and it was what I expected! No complaints whatsoever....nice large print much better than the NIV version I had....and actual verses from the original manuscripts that so many Christians died and fought for to keep the integrity, accurateness, and valid truths preserved many many years later...for the Word of God not to be perverted in any way.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features.

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pablo
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Several years ago, I purchased this same product while it could be acquired in genuine leather. I liked it then, but since it is now longer available in leather, I like it for its size and "carryability" and for its end and foot notes. I've given it to a couple of friends as a gift and will no doubt give to others, as the occasion demands, in spite of the change in its jacket.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a neat Bible

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marge
Location:Miamisburg,Oh
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print is large, pages are easy to turn , overall looks really nice. Perfect to carry to church.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol
Location:North Augusta,S.C.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so thrilled about the way it looked. Lot of my friends liked it and want to buy one. Very pleasant event.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

perfect size for old eyes & limited space.

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
cmem
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had to spend some time with my husband in the hospital & this bible was perfect size for handeling in limited space.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
BusyMom
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bible was in excellent condition. I was hoping the print would be larger but overall I am still pleased with my purchase.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This is not what I would call GIANT print

Date:May 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Daughter
Location:Belton, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this book with the intent that if my 87yr old Mother could read the supposed GIANT print that we would purchase several for the nursing home where she resides to use for Sunday church service, so all in attendance would have a bible to follow along with the sermon. What is noted as GIANT print is no such thing. I would characterize it as large print as best. The bible is not in a large enough font to be easily read by anyone with visual impairment to small print.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

imitation leather is dissapointing

Date:November 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Thomas
Location:Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The imitation leather is really just thin cardboard. I returned it for a bible with a leathersoft cover for the same price which is great.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
isaac carey
the bible but it is to small to be giant print i still have a hard time reading the new king james bible my niv bible now that one is what it said it was i have know problems reading it why not make it in super giant print like the king james so that some of us who have vistion problems can read with out the strane i love the nkj but that print is not giant print
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vicki Austin
We were more than a little disapointed...it is supposed to be GIANT print...and it isn't even as big a print as my Bible that is simply large print...My husband is almost blind and has a hard time seeing the large print of his old Bible...and even MY large print isn't as big as his in his old Bible...so think how dissastisfied we were at this GIANT print being even smaller than MY large print ...which was smaller than his large print in his old Bible...not one to complain usually but...you asked so here it is...
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen Benscoter
I love everything about this Bible except that I really should have gotten the leather cover. The imitation leather on this one seems stiffer than I am used to.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marla Corsi
My husband and I bought this Bible for our 12 year old daughter after she indicated that she would like to have a Red Letter Bible. She loves the large print and easy to understand New King James text. She is still learning how to use the maps and study helps, but I think we made the right choice for her.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NKJV Personal Size Giant Print Reference Bible, Black/Red Imitation Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sylvia Stovall
I ordered this Bible for myself due to aging eyes. I am very pleased with it just because it is the Word of God which is what counts and I love the NKJV. However I gave it four stars because I have a large print NLT by which looks more like giant print than does this one. This print actually looks a tad bit smaller than large.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>