Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker Books God's Word Thinline Bible, Imitation leather, saddle/brown, thatch design

Baker Books God's Word Thinline Bible, Imitation leather, saddle/brown, thatch design

GOD'S WORD Translation (GW) accurately translates the meaning of the original biblical texts into clear, everyday language. Readable and reliable, GW is living, active, and life-changing. The combination of accuracy and readability makes GW ideally suited for devotional reading and in-depth study; preaching, teaching, and worship; memorization; and discipleship.

The thinline edition features a special format. Books that are primarily prose are presented in two columns to create shorter, easier-to-read lines, while books that are primarily poetry are single-column to preserve parallelism, a key element of Hebrew poetry.

But it's not truly easy to read if it's not easy to carry everywhere you go. So GW is now available in a Thinline edition in four striking binding choices. Each Thinline Bible includes terrific features, such as
  • An index to the teachings of Jesus
  • An application index
  • A dictionary and concordance
  • Full color maps
  • A presentation page
  • Black-letter text
  • A ribbon marker
  • Translation and textual notes
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
13 out of 1681%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God's Word Thinline Bible, Imitation leather, saddle/brown, thatch design
Review 1 for God's Word Thinline Bible, Imitation leather, saddle/brown, thatch design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

Date:April 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
CRH1975
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my KJV Bible as well because english was just a much more beautiful language back then, but the ease in reading of this GW Bible is amazing for daily reading, some reviews are worried of being over simplified but the foot notes take care of that. All in all I personally Love this Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God's Word Thinline Bible, Imitation leather, saddle/brown, thatch design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I like the product

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor Idowu
Location:Honolulu, HI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At age 79 I wish the printing was a bit larger or darker.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God's Word Thinline Bible, Imitation leather, saddle/brown, thatch design
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
ROBBO
Location:FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Sorry but God's Word Bible is a poor translation NIV is better and thats poor its easy to read but thats it, look at John 19 :31 not a good translation theres lot more, but if you want a good translation read KJV OR NKJV ESV THATS GOOD, good luck and God Bless
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God's Word Thinline Bible, Imitation leather, saddle/brown, thatch design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this translation!

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This translation is like reading the Word for the first time!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God's Word Thinline Bible, Imitation leather, saddle/brown, thatch design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sherm
Location:MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the fact that quick references are available, the font size can be change, and I can take it with me in a small bag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God's Word Thinline Bible, Imitation leather, saddle/brown, thatch design
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great For Every Day Reading

Date:January 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ed Powell
Location:Buffalo, New York
Age:55-65
Gender:male
This Bible works Great on my Sony Ereader when set in (auto crop mode) as the Book of Psalms comes out filling the entire page as many Bibles seem to always shorten the text in Psalms and Proverbs. I was very Pleasently Surprised by this and use this for every day reading. Funny thing is when on a Kindle it does shorten the Book of Psalms which can be annoying to read. Once again, try using (Auto Crop Mode) when reading on a (Sony Prs t1) ereader and see the Refreshing of reading God' Word. I have many translations and it's the Holy Spirit that quickens the Word to our Herats while reading a printed hard copy or ebook of God' Word, so reading a translation that one is comfortable with is Important to the Individual. I sure would recommand this to a Friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God's Word Thinline Bible, Imitation leather, saddle/brown, thatch design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Awesome

Date:January 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
ARQQGUN
Location:Harrisburg PA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely awesome! This a very easy and understandable read. You can also manuever around to find any chapters, books and verses you are looking to research and/or read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God's Word Thinline Bible, Imitation leather, saddle/brown, thatch design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

written in a language that is understandable

Date:December 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
shirly b
Location:Lynchburg, Va.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is written so that those that can not understand the writing in the King James Version of the Bible can get a better unnderstanding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God's Word Thinline Bible, Imitation leather, saddle/brown, thatch design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great new translation

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
maggiep
Location:Kenora, ON
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having an up-dated translation of the bible on my e-reader gives me easy, understandable access to God's Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God's Word Thinline Bible, Imitation leather, saddle/brown, thatch design
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
FlaWhiteWolf
Location:Mary Esther, Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am looking for a Bible I can agree with The first day and a second day in Genesis I do not agree with. I believe God created all things in 6 literal days.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for God's Word Thinline Bible, Imitation leather, saddle/brown, thatch design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has everthing I was hoping for

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
freed14ndeed
Location:TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been searching for this version of GOD'S WORD for many years in ebook. I am so happy with this product and t is just wanted I had hoped for. Thank you for making the WORD available to us and at prices we can afford.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for God's Word Thinline Bible, Imitation leather, saddle/brown, thatch design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THIS PRODUCT IS WONDERFUL

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
BILL C
Location:VIRGINIA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE HOLY BIBLE GOD'S WORD IS A VERY GOOD STUDY BIBLE FOR ME. I LOVE ALL THE FEATURES IT HAS, SEARCH, BOOKMARDS, ETC. I WOULD HIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS GREAT BIBLE TO ANYONE. IT IS SO EASY TO NAVAGATE.
THANKS CHRISTIAN BOOK.
BILL C.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for God's Word Thinline Bible, Imitation leather, saddle/brown, thatch design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good

Date:November 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Student
Location:Atlanta, Ga
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to read in today's english. Most verses need no commentary.
Accurate
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for God's Word Thinline Bible, Imitation leather, saddle/brown, thatch design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Prayer
Location:Phoenix AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have many bibles and when I got this one it was exactly what I was looking for it was easy to read and understand, some versions are very hard because of the lauguage and almost discourages me from looking into Gods word but this one was amazing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for God's Word Thinline Bible, Imitation leather, saddle/brown, thatch design
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lynda Sibayan
Location:Temecula, California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I ordered this FREE e-book Bible, God's Word translation for my I Pad 2. I downloaded it and tried it out and was disappointed in the fact that once you open it up, you cannot go to different books, chapters, verses...it starts at the beginning of the Bible and unless you want to scroll each and every page until you reach your destination, it's fruitless. I called Customer Service and was told by the representative that the capability to go from one book to another was not available yet. So, if and when it becomes available I will try it again. In the meantime, I've archived back to my library and will wait for an updated version.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for God's Word Thinline Bible, Imitation leather, saddle/brown, thatch design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Bible Translation

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
jeffrey payne
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best translation of the bible that I have ever read. It is clear and concise and easy to read.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.