Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Advent Film Group Come What May, DVD

Advent Film Group Come What May, DVD

It's a moral tug-of-war for Caleb Hogan---a Patrick Henry College student and moot court team member---caught between his Christian father and his feminist attorney mother. Caleb and the team tackle a legal case involving abortion just as his mother argues the same case before the U.S. Supreme Court! Must Caleb compromise his beliefs to win the championship? Filmed on the picturesque campus of Patrick Henry College, Come What May is a vivid reminder that choosing what's right is never easy...but it's always worth the cost. Approx. 93 minutes.

DVD Features:
  • Filmmakers' commentaries
  • Making of Advent Film Group
  • About Patrick Henry College
  • English Subtitles
  • Widescreen
  • Closed Captions
Average Customer Rating:
4.426 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
7 out of 978%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Come What May, DVD
Review 1 for Come What May, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Christian Teaching

Date:September 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jag a J
Location:Aus
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this video for its firm stance and excellent arguments against abortion. But I also like the way that Caleb and Rachel handle their attraction to one another. While Christians need to be careful about becoming too legalistic, there are a lot of good points in their relationship. All in all, I would be happy to recommend this video to anyone. Definitely totally worth the buy. :-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Come What May, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very encouraging!

Date:March 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Terri
Location:US
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This movie had a budget of 300,000, so if you are looking to be entertained like the morally degrading movies from Hollywood, you won't find it here. It is, however, a very encouraging movie for people who serve the living God.
It is a wholesome movie without the unnecessary additive of today like sex, language and crude humor. It gives a representation of one family and the reality of life in a home of an unequally yolked marriage. There are some clear messages on "courtship" as opposed to dating, that is rare to hear or see in most Christian circles. I don't believe it was to promote PHC, but to share a message that the world tries to silence. Abortion isn't an ISSUE or TISSUE. It's unmercifully killing unborn children. I wonder how many pro abortion people wish their mother had aborted them...
God is the author of life and we don't have a right to murder in or outside of the womb.The world doesn't want you to know it's alive with a beating heart or how late term abortions are performed or what happens in failed abortions.
These people are a group of 40 homeschoolers seeking to become a generation of trained and gifted filmmakers and the budget was low, so it really depends what you are looking for. Encouraging values, and support of more God honoring movies or entertainment.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Come What May, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Recommended

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Quality DVD Lover
Age:25-34
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointed with this DVD, I'm sure the message is great but the acting and quality was so bad my husband and I only watched half of it. Very slow and stilted, I wouldn't recommend it.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Come What May, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great storyline and moral values

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Prince
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a really good film for family viewing. I would recommend this to anyone, christian and especially those who are not. The abortion issue is a hot topic with both sides and this storyline is a must see.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Come What May, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best DVD's I own.

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sue the lesser
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Totally enjoyed it. Very helpful in giving me a way to express my beliefs to others who don't believe in life at conception. Also shows how to have a loving relationship with a spouse who believes differently than you. Example of a way to have high moral standards before marriage or even dating. I think we all need a reminder to do the right thing, every time, then come what may. I just got it about a week ago and have watched it three times. I turned off the junk on my TV and enjoy this wonderful DVD instead. I may order this for my friend's birthday and an Easter gift for my daughter.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Come What May, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Engaging and thought provoking

Date:February 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Missy
Location:Lisbon, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although a little slow at times, the story line was well presented through out the entire movie. The humor helped keep our attention and it was great to see strong Christian values represented. My teens loved it and it was well received by all ages.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Come What May, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWSOME!!

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hannah
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great movie! I could watch it over and over! The message is very clear and simple: Do The Right Thing- No Matter the Cost! I recommend that this movie is watched with parents so that they can help to explain the details. Older children, however would be able to understand it. This, was once again, a wonderful movie!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Come What May, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Slow at the beginning but stick with it.

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
MJ10
Location:New Jersey, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Some parts were draggy but the overall message was great.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Come What May, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Film

Date:October 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melissa Green
Location:New London, CT
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this movie and will recommend it to my friends. I cant wait to see what other films they come up with next. Great Job everyone.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Come What May, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Valerie Jones
This movie has several great messages. Do what is right, no matter what, don't give up on your marriage -even when you don't agree, it touches on courting vs. dating and saving your love for your spouse. The sound is a problem in some spots, but if you have a remote control it'll be fine. I think the acting was good too. We've watched over 10 times at least. My daughters enjoy it and share it with their friends.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Come What May, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea Rivera
The movie had a good message, especially for young people dealing with the abortion issue, however the acting was bit disappointing.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Come What May, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
JB
This movie had some good points in today's world, but I was dissapointed with a couple of areas. It was basically an advertisement of Patrick Henry College, which encourages young ladies to attend and to make careers outside the home. Biblically, women work along side their husbands, not making a name for themselves. Also, it seemed to say it was ok for this young couple to be alone all the time, especially at Caleb's house. This is totally unacceptable. Feminism seemed to be really apparent in this movie. I don't recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Come What May, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sunshine S.
This is an excellent movie, about standing up for the truth no matter what the consequences will be! Our family really enjoyed the messages presented: pro-life, courtship, and honour for parents! Some friends gave us this movie and our daughter had to get a copy to give to her friend! We would highly recommend this movie for families and it is especially good for teens and young people!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Come What May, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
YVONNE ACCARDO
This movie for me was long and boringI didn't like it it rated top that's why I bought it but it wasn't.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Come What May, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robert Maclean
I liked it and glad I have it in my DVD collection. Very good message and well written and executed, especially considering it wasn't Hollywood directed, etc. Keep them coming.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Come What May, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stacie Burcham
I really enjoyed the movie, it was very good. I am a homeschool mom so it was very interesting to us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Come What May, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela Porter
Do the right thing! Theme of this movie is being played out in the courts and health care reform currently.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Come What May, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Phil Salvo
This is a great movie! I wish everyone would watch it, especially young teens and adults.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Come What May, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shiloh Bible College
WOW! I wish with all my heart that this subject could be raised before the Supreme Court again today. We need to revisit the Roe vs. Wade decision again. I believe that there are many who would enjoy this movie and be impacted about the facts. The true facts of why we don't have the right to make a choice regarding an unborn child. Mother against Son, Father against mother. We must allow God to prevail in our hearts. This movie should be seen by all High school students whether in Student Government or Biology or even just Health. We shall not compromise.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Come What May, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deborah Caskey
I love this movie! It is of good quality. My nieces are good friends with the leading actress. They gave an excellent argument on abortion. Putting Michael Farris in the movie was an extra bonus. This is a movie so needed in this day and age. To teach us to "just do what's right" no matter what. To stand on issues that need addressing with absolutes, not only to stand for Christ, but to stand for truth. I recommend this movie to old and young alike!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.