Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Avon Christy

Avon Christy

Inspired by the fervent idealism of a missionary speaker, Christy Huddleston abandons her prospects for a comfortable, conventional life in her North Carolina hometown to teach penniless, barefoot children in the Smoky Mountains to read. Young and naive, Christy is ill-prepared for the hardships, superstition, and lawlessness of this isolated village. But she's determined to see God change hearts---even if one of them is hers! 501 pages, softcover from Avon.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Christy
Review 1 for Christy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must HAVE!!!

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leorah
Location:USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book fed my heart and soul! No, I don't even know how to describe how amazing and life changing and wonderful this book is! In fact, that is all I have to say! All I can say! I can ramble on for literally pages about this book and still not get to how wonderful it is! This book isn't just a must read...this is a must HAVE! It is a book I know I will be returning to and one that just blew the socks off me! Love. This. Book. <3
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Christy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
lynn
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the most wonderful books that I have ever read!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Christy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathryn Alkire
My mother gave me a copy of Christy when I was a teenager. I loved it then and re-read it until the pages were roughed and difficult to read. As a grandmother, I am getting ready to purchase Christy to give to my eldest granddaughter. I still find the story one I can't put down until I get to tired to continue. The story is one of true love of God and teaching. Christy Huddleston is a true example of dedication and how we should let God lead us to do what He wants us to do. I truly recommend Christy and other Catherine Marshall writings for any young girl or older girls - no matter the age, it is a wonderous read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Christy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Natalie
This book has officially become my favorite. I read it for the first time about a year ago all the way through with a friend, and we loved it so much. I recieved my own copy of it for my birthday and I pick it up sometimes just to re-read the parts I love so much. There are so many applicable truths in it and much of what Chrisy went through, questioned, or thought about I could completely relate to. I think any Christian girl should read this book. It's enjoyable, truthful, well-written, and encouraging. Check it out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Christy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alyson
This is an excellent book, that teaches many outstanding lessons. Everyone should read this absolutely inspiring book over and over. Every time I read it, I am amazed at the truths it teaches--new ones that I discover with each reading. Personally, I love how it ends!! If you look between the lines, there is really not much mystery involved. Besides, imagining the ending is part of the joy of this truly GREAT book!!! Also, I am impressed in how many of the scenes in the book was replicated so accurately in the movies. At times I can here the movie characters speaking the lines as I read them. Of course, every thing is not exactly the same, but the movies still succeeded is capturing the true feeling of the "Christy message." I am also impressed in how the characters described in the book seem to match the ones choosen for the movies--Ruby Mae, Doc. MacNeil, David, Fairlight all seem so closely matched. For the book and the movie series I give them a 10 out of 5 stars!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Christy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandy Bettin
Had this book many years ago and lost the book wanted to read it it's a very uplifting book if you like the book should rent the DVD as well or buy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Christy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
I had watched the TV series on DVD and fell in love with the story. I was excited to finally read the book. I Loved it! This is one of the rare books that I will read over and over again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Christy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
April
I have just read this book after watching the TV shows and many parts of it are different. I loved it abyway. It was one of the best books I have ever read. I highly recomened it. Although my favorite charactor was David and not a lot of my friends liked him. I don't know there was just something about him. Anyway, after watching the TV series on DVD while reading the book I could picture the actors or actresses as the characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Christy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Goddard
I had read this book before, as a young woman...now I am a grandmother and I enjoy it all over again. It's a wonderful story...and true....I highly recommend it for young and old and men would enjoy it also. My Dad, a real outdoorsman, read and enjoyed it just before he passed away. I always find what I'm looking for in good christian literature from Christianbook.com. God Bless You!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Christy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Melody Scott
This is absolutely my favorite book of all time. It is about a young girl's journey with God as she leaves her home and goes to the mountains of Tennessee to be a missionary. It tells of her personal thoughts thru her journey and about the work and it's difficulties with a people so different from herself. (It is nothing like the movie or tv show.) Perhaps I like it so much because my husband and I ministered in Tennessee and Georgia for a few years (quite some time ago) and we met many hill folks a lot like the people represented in the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Christy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Risa Adamson
Wonderful, timeless classic that everyone should have in their library!The author was able to transport you to the time and place as you followed Christy on her journey.Bravo!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Christy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Linden
A must read for anyone who is taking a step of faith and trusting God to meet them in their journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Christy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ruby Fisher
I read this as a child and after watching the series on DVD I wanted to read it again. It was like visiting with an old friend that I haven't seen in a long time. I highly recommend this book, especially those feeling called to be a missionary. God bless you all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Christy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Brittney
This book is the best! Christy is my favorite book, and I love the ending! You can't go through life without reading this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Christy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
amanda
This was a great book! The only reason I would not recommend it to other people is the ending which you will have to read to find it out! Great book though, very inspirational.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Christy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2003
Customer Avatar
Dawn
I got this book 27 years ago as a gift for graduation. Marvelous book along with her book Adventures of Prayer. Catherine really enhanced my life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Christy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2000
Customer Avatar
Kristen
Excellent story. I highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.