Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wisenquest Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD

Wisenquest Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD

Eric Landry is a cold-hearted man that people have nicknamed "the Beast." Years of anger and bitterness have consumed him, turning him into a selfish man. But Belle Watson is the exact opposite. She's caring and kind. She works hard to help her family, often sacrificing her own wants and desires to satisfy the needs of others. When her father accidentally breaks a valuable work of art at the Landry mansion, Belle is thrust into the life of the Beast. Trying her best not to be intimidated by his meanness, Belles agrees to work for Eric in an effort to repay him and save her father's job. She discovers there just might be more to Eric. Will she find the man within the Beast? Rated PG. Approx. 91 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.512 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
1
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD
Review 1 for Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I would further research before recommending...

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
martins1230
Location:North Dakota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently viewed this movie and was initially quite pleased as it was family friendly. The ending left me puzzled as the actors kept alluding to the idea that "God wants me to be happy"... our happiness is not promised anywhere in scripture, only that the joy of the Lord is our strength. --I followed up to see if I could find more titles that were generally wholesome and family-friendly. What I have found so far is that this film is referred to as a "Latter-Day production", and was filmed in Utah. I'm not all-together certain, but I believe this may be a production affiliated with the Mormon faith. It is misleading as the title explicitly states "A Christian Romance". No outright Mormon faith is found in the film itself (that I can recollect), but I was not pleased with the aforementioned statement of "God wants us to be happy." This statement is not consistent with scripture nor the underlying promise of eternal life through Jesus Christ.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of my new favorites

Date:January 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
DonaldJamesParker
Location:Crossville, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say I loved the Disney animated classic of The Beauty and the Beast. Perhaps this one is even better, minus the music of course. I had no clue what I was getting into with this flick, but it didn't take me long to figure out that this was a Christian film that I could honestly say I truly enjoyed. My goal is to review all of the Christian movies I can find. As I watch them, I always have a critical eye upon them which usually spies out unrealistic or contrived situations/plots, cardboard characters, poor acting, etc, forcing me to deduct style points and feel bad that I can't extol the virtues of the film and recommend it highly to everyone. It feels so good to run across a film with a good Christian message that delighted me all the way around. I can't believe that this story only got three doves from the Dove Foundation. I'd have given it six out of five. This is one of few Christian films that I'd actually look forward to watching again. I'd recommend that you check this out – but only if you like a good love story that leaves you feeling warm and cuddly inside.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

enjoyable movie

Date:March 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Monique Graafland
Location:canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
watched this movie on tv, and liked it so much I ordered the dvd.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great encourgement on a persons life

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mark Moreland
Location:Del Rio Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An outstanding Christian Movie. Showing that you displaying love can help change peoples lives. Also sometimes we must look into our friends to fnd out what is hurting them so we can show them how Jesus can help themi.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
shay
Location:Virginia Beach
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great mom and daughter movie. It was well put tgther and the actors were very good at the roles they played. My pre-teen and teen girls from church loved the movie. Thanks for putting a great family movie togther.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good clean story

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alice Peter
Location:Gresham, OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Belle and the Beast is a good clean story of how showing Christ's love in one's everyday life can impact even the most self-absorbed. This is a good movie for the whole family - clean language, modest dress, Godly values and a great story. I loved it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Buy!

Date:January 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
serenebean
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a Christian movie that was hard to find but Christianbook.com had a good selection and therefore had the movie. Good chick flick movie for a gift for my Mom. But secretly I really wanted to watch it too.
Thanks Christianbook.com! Everything in perfect condition!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lana
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very nice and interesting movie. Will recommend it to all my friends.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debra Clark
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really appreciate movies with good values promoted and good morals. The movies pulls your heartstrings, teaches that compassion is very important and even respect. Belle & the Beast is a movie that I will watch many times and still enjoy it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
very good, clean, Christian movie. It is one both me and my family enjoy watching.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
rick rivas
This movie was great,it is a good family film and it shows how god along with love and kindness makes for a good life.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Olga Markin
I loved this movie so much! It really shows how a Christian should be the light to this world.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Russ Reason
Words could have been different to use for the same meanings through the movie to make it more possitive movie for the family. It's better than a lot of other movies though.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Maria Landy
I thought it was a very good movie. It showed the different personalities of people and how some will stoop to any level to get what they want. But mostly it showed how letting God be seen through your life can melt even the coldest of hearts. God understands our emotions. That's why he doesn't cast us off when we "get mad at him". He's so AWESOME!!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Olivia
Overall I thought this movie was a good production with an exciting plot and good acting, but I was disappointed with the Christian aspect. The messages (both subtle and not-so-subtle) conveyed in "Belle and the Beast" seemed no different from those conveyed by secular romance films: The woman is perfect as she is and does not need to change; she has unrealistically high standards for a partner; she alone holds the power to change a man; in a healthy relationship, the man does all the work and pursues the woman and placates her until she is satisfied. I am not advocating the traditional model of a relationship in which the the man is the head and the woman a mere submissive puppet; I appreciated Belle's confidence and independence. However, after watching this film which explicitly advertises itself as Christian, I felt as if I had sat through just another secular romance that portrays false ideas about true love.
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michael Greyson
Walking that extra mile and doing it with perservernce and love has tremendous power to change a heart that is stone. Being the one God has called us to be does not always bring an easy road through life.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Yvonne Padilla
I HAVE ALWAYS LIKED THIS MOVIE I JUST DECIDED TO GET IT FOR MY OWN.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katharine
I loved this movie, SO well done! great acting, fantastic point, and back drop was amazing. I loved how she lead him to God not just thought of how she felt about him. Her character was outstanding, wish we saw more of that in youg ladies. :) Thanks for a great movie.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katharine
I loved this movie, SO well done! great acting, fantastic point, and back drop was amazing. I loved how she lead him to God not just thought of how she felt about him. Her character was outstanding, wish we saw more of that in youg ladies. :) Thanks for a great movie.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Belle and the Beast: A Christian Romance, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Connie Stafford
I thought it was a very good movie. It was a nice christian perspective of the fairy tale. It is always nice to see good christian movies out there that you can watch with your kids or just for yourself an dnot have to worry about it.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.