Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black

Thomas Nelson NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black

Now there is a New King James Version Reference Bible available in a giant print. With center-column references, self-pronouncing text, topical running heads, messianic prophecies with stars, 8 pages of maps, and concordance, this is a true reference Bible.

Features
  • 13-point text
  • Center-column references and notes
  • Concordance
  • 8 Full-color maps
  • Page-top subject headings
  • Self-pronouncing text
  • Stars marking messianic prophecies
  • Double-column format
  • Words of Jesus in red
  • Presentation Page
  • Family Record Pages
  • Ribbon Marker
  • Gold page edges
  • Bonded Leather Black
  • 9.75" x 6.50" x 1.50"
Average Customer Rating:
3.65 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
5 out of 771%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black
Review 1 for NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very poor quality, even for Nelson

Date:October 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Berean
Location:Cedar Falls, Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I own many leather Bibles, and most are ESV, NASB, or HCSB. This Bible is now the worst that I own. The cover may be "bonded leather", but it's the cheapest, thinnest, stiffest bonded leather I've ever seen. And it smells like chemicals, not leather. I have an imitation leather HCSB Giant Print that is much better. This NKJV's binding is glued, not sewn. The print is not "Giant", but more like 11-12 point large print despite the box saying "13". The so-called "red letter" text is really more of a pink or light red. Very hard to read with not much space between lines. "Holy Bible" is stamped in cheap gold letting on the front cover, unlike the plain black photo on the product page. The Bible is "Printed in Colombia" (South America). If you want a true giant print Bible at a reasonable price, go with the HCSB mentioned above. It costs ten dollars less and the quality is much better. Nelson should be ashamed to put their name on this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good Bible But...

Date:October 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this Bible because I wanted a giant print Bible for home use that would be easy on my aging eyes. The POSITIVES: I was very pleased with the size of the print (12 pt); The center column cross-references were adequate - unlike a "compact giant print" Bible that had a few end-of-verse-references. The NEUTRALS: This is a "reference Bible" so there are no book introductions or study notes (for that you need to get a "study Bible"). Also, don't expect the concordance in this Bible (or most other Bibles) to be extensive - just invest in a paperback Cruden's concordance and keep with your Bible (they are much more comprehensive than a Bible concordance and inexpensive). The NEGATIVES: My main complaint is the "cheap" binding. This is actually my second Bible! Even though I only used this at home, after one month of use, the pages in the back (concordance and maps) began to fall out! I called the publisher and and to their credit, they replaced it. The second one lasted a little longer, but the same problem reoccurred! Rather than bother with the publisher again, I gave up and used some tape. The only consolation is the cost. I was looking for a Bible that would last for YEARS, but because of the publisher's poor quality, I have to describe this as a "throw-away" Bible. In my opinion the workmanship of this Bible does not "glorify God" (1 Cor. 10:31).
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very easy to read.

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
RSCOTT
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I already had one of these and bought one with her name on it for my wife because she was 'borrowing' mine. The contrast between type-face and white background reduces eye strain and the contrast between bold and regular print is obvious. The notes, references and explanations of the translation in the center column provide background and reasoning for certain translations.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent bible

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pprin
Location:Cane Hill, Arkansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I was looking for.....the "readability" of the New King James Version plus the easy on the eyes type.
Received this bible in a very timely manner, also. I have
always been more than pleased with the products I purchase from CBD and this one is another winner!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Good Book to read.

Date:June 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Candace O'shea
Location:Oroville, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this on behalf of my neighbor who needed a new Bible badly and needed one with larger print. He liked that it was a red letter edition and that it marked the prophecies of Jesus with a star. It is attractive and appears sturdy. I recommended the New King James, red letter version to him.
I like the poeticism of the King James and the NKJ holds on to that very well, while being easier to read and understand. Just compare Psalm 23, for one example, with KJ, NKJ and NIV and some other retranslations or paraphrases. KJ and NKJ rule, especially if you can have only one version on hand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

GOOD QUALITY & VALUE...

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chaplain Dan Brodek
Location:Glendora, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OVERALL, THIS IS AN XLNT. BIBLE. I LIKE THE BOOK INTRODUCTIONS, AND THE CENTER-COLUMN CROSS- REFERENCES ARE SUPERB! LEATHER QUALITY AND BINDING APPEAR TO BE GOOD ALSO, BUT TIME WILL TELL. 45 PAGE CONCORDANCE COULD CERTAINLY BE LARGER, BUT IS ADEQUATE. SOME BLEED-THRU ON PAGES. SIZE IS GREAT FOR CARRYING AROUND, ESP. FOR A FULL-SIZE BIBLE WITH 12 POINT TYPE. TRUSTED NKJV VERSION. A VERY GOOD VALUE FOR UNDER $30! Chaplain Dan
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Easy to read but lacks passage summary

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
thomy
Age:35-44
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Most Bibles have a passage summary - eg : Christ heals the Man at pool of Bethsaida or something like that for each passage . This Bible lacks that - so it is a monotonous rendering of the passage . For those who does not care about the differentation, this is a very good Bible . I bought htis for my wife and she was a bit dissapointd that the summary was lacking.
On the good side, this Bible has paragraph layout where necessary, although without the explanation
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Douglas Totter
The format is good but I was disappointed with the overall quality and feel of this Bible. The paper is very thin and transparent so you see the print on the other side.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Steve Sims
All is great IF you like super thin pages. They are so thin that the ink shows through, making it hard to read. So thin in fact that I am afraid to use a highlighter on it. What happened to Nelson?
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rev. Jim DeManche
Let me begin by saying that I am very pleased with this bible. The size for me is perfect, and the weight is very light! It is not a 'slim-line' bible. The bonded leather cover, paper and binding, and construction are very well done and pleasing. Although this bible is advertised and claims to be "Giant Print", it really is not. I would say it is somewhere 'in between' (Giant Print) and (Large Print), but very easy and comfortable to read none the less. My bible included 'embossing' which was very nice also. As a minister, this bible is excellent for the pulpit, and also for bible studies. May the Lord bless you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wayne Mullen
Exactly what I was looking for!! My wife enjoyed her birthday present. Lettering was perfect, typeface was the same. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melanie Sanson
The Bible itself was a nice size and easy to read for the person I bought it for. However, I was very disappointed that "The Holy Bible" was not printed on the cover.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Al Silvestri
This giant print NKJ Bible is actually a GIANT PRINT, unlike what companies are currently putting the label giant print on. It is wonderful with space to make notes, very clear and easy to read, and without cutting out many of the helps of the personal size reference Bibles. I would be very happy to see Nelson go back into full production of these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Loistine Herndon
NKJ Giant print Center Column Reference Bible has been a life saver for me most large print bibles have ony a few cross references at the end of the text and if you are teaching or studying having the cross reference there is a help you don,t have to carry a large Print Strong's I've given them to friends who need a larger print bible I also use it for group bible study when someone has left their reading glasses at home I would recommend it to anyone who need a giant print Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dr Neil Fanion
I find this Bible excellent as I have for years preached and taught with the Holman giant print but thin line Bible. This Bible has the much larger font and the center column reference, but Nelson should make this in Genuine leather as well a a quality Calf skin with sewn pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Wendy Guza
I enjoy my Bible very much. It makes it easy to read and follow along with bible CD's
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Roger Scully
I would have given it 5 stars had it been in genuine leather. When are publishers going to learn that true Bible students want better quality bindings? Also, the pages are glued not sewn.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Leslee Harmon
The pages in this Bible are very thin, which wasn't anywhere in the description. It makes it difficult for marking favorite passages. Other than that, it is a great Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Dana Johnson
Gave it as a gift and within an hour he noticed a page had fallen out, still in the Bible but loose from inside of the book. Now,a week later, several more pages has turned loose. He's a grown man so it isn't because he has been rough with it. Very disappointed in quality and embarrassed since it was given as a gift.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NKJV Giant Print Center-Column Reference Bible, Bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Timothy Andrews
I am very pleased and it is easy to read.It is nice the binding is good and I am impressed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.