Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wisenquest Overcome, DVD

Wisenquest Overcome, DVD

Colton is at the bottom of life, constantly leading others away, hurting people, giving no one respect, and making fun of other teens for not doing what he does. But then his parents pray for some intervention in his life. When he's partying one night, Colton ends up in a car wreck with Sara, and goes through an experience that changes him. But facing life after you've done everything wrong can sometimes be the hardest step, and Colton must find a way to prove to everyone---especially to Sara---that he's changed. Recommended for ages 12 & up. Approx. 85 minutes.

DVD Features:
  • Widescreen
  • Closed captioned
  • Bloopers
  • Trailers
  • Spanish Subtitles
Average Customer Rating:
3.546 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
2 out of 450%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Overcome, DVD
Review 1 for Overcome, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

It's a MORMON movie!!!!

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wonder
Location:Melbourne, Aust
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Turn Around: Based on the Story of Alma the Younger." This movie has been repackaged and marketed to Christians when it's originally a Mormon movie. No mention of Jesus or 'born again' Salvation experience.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Overcome, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very disappointed

Date:August 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Donna Lee
Location:Los Angeles
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thank God that I didn't buy this dvd that I watch w/ my mom b/c this isn't a christian movie. This movie did not give Glory to the Power of God. HELLO, he died & came back to life! The least thing the filmmakers could have done is show that he went to HELL & now giving his testnomony of what he experience in the eternal pit so others could surrender to Jesus as Lord & Savior! Instead the guy came back that he could live a "morally/good life". When Sara couldn't play well, not once did someone came up to her & pray for God's help. GOD was not given HONOR & GLORY in this movie at all. A true christian movies I'd recomended are Pamela's Prayer, Facing the Giants, The Climb, Fireproof, The Secret of Johnthatn Sperry, No Greater Love, Time Changer, End of Harvest, etc. I give this DVD a 2 only b/c it's a nice family movie & that all it is.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Overcome, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty Good

Date:February 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
msalice
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I read the little description, I thought it would be pretty good. But then when I watched the trailer, it seemed a little cheesy and typical high school drama-ish. But when I watched it, it was better than I expected. Its not like one of those "oh wow! I gotta tell everyone about this!!!" but it was a good family movie that everyone can benefit from.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Overcome, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good especially for the target group intended

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Racer174
Location:Ocala, Fl.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this video as a supplement to a victim awareness class I teach in a local prison. It is powerful and effective in allowing people to see that their actions have long reaching consequences and that change is possible.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Overcome, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Luz
This movie did not gave Glory to the Power of God...the guy had a near death experience and decides to change his life and be "good". Many people go through this. I disliked it even more when Sara could not make a good play, I was expecting someone to tell her, "Pray about it and ask God for help" no one ever did, so dissapointed. JESUS was not given HONOR and GLORY :'(
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Overcome, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dana Black
This movie was very good. Again, many movies claim to be Christian and Family Friendly, but usually turn out to be otherwise. That's not the case with Overcome.This movie is awesome!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Overcome, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
prayerwarrior1813@yahoo.com
My kids an i really liked this Movie,Really thought it was a great Movie of a teen starts out being mean changes for the better after an encounter w/God to change!I feel anyone can change w/prayer an help from the Father an staying focused on doing good an not evil.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Overcome, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan Wahlstrom
My 16 year old Daughter, and 15 year old son and I have all enjoyed this movie, I recomend it for anyone, including we would like to use it for our youth group. It teaches some valuable lessons!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Overcome, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jean Wipe
great movie, perfect for teenagers strugglingwith peer pressure and bullying. My teenage girlabsolutely loved this one.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Overcome, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
C Baertson
This was a nice movie for teens and preteens, but honestly I couldn't figure out where they got the "based on the conversion of Paul" from. Aside from that it's a good movie to watch to impart the importance of consequences for actions. Good lesson for us all!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Overcome, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gary Fuchikami
It was an "ok" movie. I kind of doubt that Colton could change the way he did; just seemed a little unbelievable, though I realize that nothing is impossible for God to accomplish. Other than that, my family enjoyed the movie.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Overcome, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sabrina Reynolds
The video was great! My youth really enjoyed watching the movie! The youth could really relate to the video!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Overcome, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bridgid Mentzer
This is a very good movie. Our son is 11 years old and we watched it with him and he also enjoyed it. We were there for any questions he had.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Overcome, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Drew
I have not yet seen this movie, but I will soon. When I watch it, however, it will be with the title "Turn Around: Based on the Story of Alma the Younger." This movie has been repackaged and marketed to Christians when it's originally a Mormon movie. I'm getting it because I study a lot on Mormonism and will be teaching a class at my church on Mormonism later this month and wish to have some examples to show of some of the media produced by Mormons. Someone else who left a review said this story doesn't resemble the story of Paul from the Bible, and for good reason...it's not actually based on Paul of the Bible! It's based instead on a fictional Book of Mormon character who never lived and therefore never had an encounter with Jesus as Paul did on the road to Damascus! For those who are familiar with Mormonism, there are very obvious hints even just watching the trailer that would tell you this movie was produced by Mormons (i.e. you see Colton reading a set of scriptures clearly formatted the way the LDS Church formats their scriptures; a church which is clearly built by Mormon building plans is shown in the distance in one scene). I simply wanted to let you all know this so that you aren't misled into believing you're buying a Christian movie when, in fact, this is a movie made by Mormons.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Overcome, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ltrineke Sample
very good I thought it revealed a reality among teenagers. Your friends can't run your life let Jesus.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Overcome, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Church Librarian
This is a great "feel good" movie - but there's no real gospel here!! The subtitle, "Based on the Conversion of Paul," is misleading. Paul had an encounter with Jesus Christ. The main character in this movie simply had a near death experience, heard a voice (we're not told whose), and decided he needed to make some changes in his life. Jesus is never even mentioned in this film!! Yes, there is the need to "do what's right" and to "make things right" but when you omit the grace of God and the transforming power of (and the need for) faith in Jesus Christ, you're simply left with a damning works-righteousness. I'm the librarian for our church - this movie will NOT be added to our library!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Overcome, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Anne Piaget
We enjoyed it, especially our teenage daughters. It teaches repentance and putting things right, with a fun element of romance and striving for the best you can do.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Overcome, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Josh Bingham
I thought this movie was really good with good acting and a good plot. I just wish they had made the gospel more clear in the film. There were references to church and the Bible, but that's about it. Still, a good film for Christians to watch!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Overcome, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Chris
I watched this movie last night and thought it was great. The acting at times seemed a little bit forced but the story of the movie was great. This movie shows that true repentance is more than just saying your sorry.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Overcome, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
billy
Oh my goodness they call this a Christian film. This movie was horrible, I could always get past the acting but the writing was not good at all. This movie had nothing to do with Jesus; anyone could change their life with hard work and a strong will. No mention of surrendering your life to Christ and the Lord working on the inside. I was really upset at this movie it had potential but at the end it was just a movie about a boy with a near death experience and deciding to change his life...no scriptures or talk about Christ...this movie could be on the ABC family channel, nothing special about it, I'm throwing mines away.....
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>