Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Campbell Stone Media The Pistol: The Birth Of A Legend, Inspirational Ed. DVD

Campbell Stone Media The Pistol: The Birth Of A Legend, Inspirational Ed. DVD

The uplifting and inspirational true story of NBA superstar Pistol Pete Maravich! See what life was like for this scrawny eighth grader whose stunning basketball skills earned him a spot on the high school team---and plenty of ridicule. Pete's "showtime" style was not acceptable to his friends or teammates in 1959---but he persevered! (G.) 104 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
4 out of 667%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Pistol: The Birth Of A Legend, Inspirational Ed. DVD
Review 1 for The Pistol: The Birth Of A Legend, Inspirational Ed. DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WATCH PETE'S OWN STORY-Bonus feature!!!!

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
SavedbyGrace
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of them for grandsons in their early teens for Christmas. This is an old movie, so I stuck it in to watch it just to be sure--yup, same old movie. But I had never seen Pistol Pete close-up and standing still--don't know what he really looked like. So I casually clicked on the first of the bonus features, Pete's Story in his Own Words....WOW!!!! I never knew he became a Christian!!! WHAT A POWERFUL TESTIMONY!!! My husband and I watched--riveted, speechless!!! Then I watched the other 2 features--Pete died in Dr. James Dobson's arms only a few weeks after this wonderful testimony he gives; I've watched it 6 times now and cried my eyes out--have bought 13 more copies for distribution! Life Changing!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Pistol: The Birth Of A Legend, Inspirational Ed. DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kali
Location:Kalulushi
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I can give my take of the movie, let me address two issues that have been raised by other reviewers,
1. The movies' lack of biblical moorings. I dont think this movie is being marketed as a Christian movie. I think it is being marketed as an inspirational movie and that's what it is. If I was to summarise the message of the movie, it would simply be this, "what ever you set your hand to do, you do your best." It doesn't purport to give a philosophy of what one should set his/her hand to do. Though the reason for doing your best is humanistic (so you can be the best), the movie is still very instructive if one is able to sift the wheat from the chaff. Younger viewers may need some guidance on this.
2. The other concern is that it doesn't show his whole life. Well I don't think that can be done in two hours
Overall it is a great movie that the family can watch and find inspiration.
God bless
Kali
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Pistol: The Birth Of A Legend, Inspirational Ed. DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

doesn't show the amazing life of Pete Maravich

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
charlie
Location:florida
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this whole movie was based on Pete in the 8th grade. Totally disappointed. He was such a great college and pro player they should have shown him succeeding at the next level. His life was "so" much more. Even though they tried to show the inspiration,one year of his life tells nothing, if you didn't know his story, you never new how great his achievments. His whole life was an inspiration of effort and they captured non of it. I buy these movies to show at my prison ministry for juveniles. I threw it out, second movie I threw out. It seems you people focus on a lot of tacky poorly played movies. I show these movies also to my wife and 17 yr old son, this and and a few other movies they said, "you can not " show them this movie. The acting is horrible!!!! Any other quality movies for young juveniles I'm always looking
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Pistol: The Birth Of A Legend, Inspirational Ed. DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A favorite for my sports loving boys, ages 7 & 8!

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Stutzman
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This movie does not talk about God, but it is an excellent movie for everyone! Pistol Pete was actually a Christian in real life and died at a young age from a sudden incident. A great role model-perseverance pays off!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Pistol: The Birth Of A Legend, Inspirational Ed. DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Everything in Context

Date:February 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dana Sue
Location:north central West Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
One reviewer complained that there was no Christian content in this movie. However, Pete Maravich was not a Christian as a child; therefore, there is no "Christian content" at this point in his life.
One reviewer complained that this movie was shallow and skipped details of his life. Keep in mind who is viewing this movie. I think the target audience is upper-elementary and middle school.
We also need to ask ourselves what was the intent of the movie. This movie was never intended to be a complete bio of Pete's life. This movie started out with a 14 yr old skinny kid and his immediate, current goal at that stage in his life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Pistol: The Birth Of A Legend, Inspirational Ed. DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Freddie
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is very hard to tell from a catalog whether a book or DVD is Scriptural or not - making choices difficult.
The DVD PISTOL emphasized human goals and endeavor - totally leaving out the importance of God's help and goals.
I was disappointed. Thanks for listening. Fred
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Pistol: The Birth Of A Legend, Inspirational Ed. DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
David Ward
A very moving DVD. Enjoyed it very much. My son thought it was a very good present to receive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Pistol: The Birth Of A Legend, Inspirational Ed. DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Earl Fortune
Great dvd. I had it originally on vhs. However,I was really interested in the special features. I was not disapponted. This is a great inspiring family film about one of the greatest ballplayers of all time. I highly recommend it for all ages. I also purchased a copy for my teenage nephew and niece.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Pistol: The Birth Of A Legend, Inspirational Ed. DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Steven Lowman
This is a great movie about the early life of Pistol Pete. On this DVD is also a message, one of his last, from Pete where he talks about the "darker" side of his life and his faith in Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Pistol: The Birth Of A Legend, Inspirational Ed. DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Edward Minney
This is a great story about commitment and accomplishment and we enjoyed the movie and would recommend it to other.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Pistol: The Birth Of A Legend, Inspirational Ed. DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marie Barney
I enjoyed this film and hope to have my grandsons view it soon. Has an excellent message in it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Pistol: The Birth Of A Legend, Inspirational Ed. DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy Winter-hartley
I didn't care for this movie. I found it slow moving and superficial. Having read a lengthy book about Pistol Pete, I found my son and I both commenting on gaping holes in the portrayal of his life. The dialogue was really cheesy and it was strange how the movie ended, The ending, where Pete makes the winning basket against the all black team, was a strange way to end because it was not inspirational and it only served to highlight racism. I know that Pistol Pete came to know Christ and I was looking forward to hearing aobut how he was victorious over his trials but this movie sugar-coated things and left us with a very diluted movie we will probably never watch again. I did appreciate that there was no cursing or inappropiate content though. Just being honest here.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Pistol: The Birth Of A Legend, Inspirational Ed. DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeanette Hildebrand
Wonderful movie, inspirational. Based on a true story. The extras are a blessing. My sports nut son (13 years old) loved it and wants to be like Pete, on the court and off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.