Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Serenity NKJV New Testament, Psalms & Proverbs--A Companion for Twelve-Step Recovery

Thomas Nelson Serenity NKJV New Testament, Psalms & Proverbs--A Companion for Twelve-Step Recovery

Discover for yourself the principles behind the Twelve Steps as they occur in Scripture through this bestselling New Testament with Psalms and Proverbs. You will find an introduction to the Twelve Steps of recovery with each step listing recovery meditations and related recovery scriptures. As you read and meditate on Serenity, you will begin to see how the God of the Bible speaks directly to your needs. He will liberate you from debilitating addictions to restore you to wholeness and a perfect relationship with him. Handy size for discreet carriage.

Features include:

  • More than 500 Twelve Step related verses highlighted
  • 84 one-page meditations on the Twelve Steps
  • Resources for additional help
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Size: 4.5" x 6.5" x 0.75"
  • 558 pages
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Serenity NKJV New Testament, Psalms & Proverbs--A Companion for Twelve-Step Recovery
Review 1 for Serenity NKJV New Testament, Psalms & Proverbs--A Companion for Twelve-Step Recovery
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
NWaters
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Excellent resource for people in a 12 step recovery program. Our church gives them to patients at the local residential treatment center.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Serenity NKJV New Testament, Psalms & Proverbs--A Companion for Twelve-Step Recovery
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Verses in New Testament as they relate to serenity

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nana
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Met all my expectations......ordered 3, kept one for personal study and donated two to my Wednesday Group library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Serenity NKJV New Testament, Psalms & Proverbs--A Companion for Twelve-Step Recovery
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fantastic book and uniquely written

Date:December 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Myrna Dick
Location:peterborough canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this book became a real life savour for me. It kept me from going into a deep dark depression. All these principals can apply to any area in life issues.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Serenity NKJV New Testament, Psalms & Proverbs--A Companion for Twelve-Step Recovery
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Provides excellent help for those in recovery!

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marynelle Stephens
Location:Central Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We find the Serenity NKJV New Testament to be a wonderful tool in ministring to those trapped in addiction.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Serenity NKJV New Testament, Psalms & Proverbs--A Companion for Twelve-Step Recovery
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Loistine Herndon
This is one of the Best self- help book for Christian I have ever used Many year ago I had a leather bound copyBut left it it Africia This book can be used by all cultures because its base is the word of GOD I would recommend it to any one who diciples or desires others to be helped by the word of GODLoistine
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Serenity NKJV New Testament, Psalms & Proverbs--A Companion for Twelve-Step Recovery
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Lansch
The inmates in a Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ) facility uses the Serenity Bible as their main reference bible plus they ALL highly praise the Serenity bible because of its 12 step program they go through and how the Bible verses relate to each step. JL
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Serenity NKJV New Testament, Psalms & Proverbs--A Companion for Twelve-Step Recovery
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
C.C.
This book is vital to those who are engaged in secularized 12-step programs. It provides evidence of the Biblical origins of A.A., which is the Mother/Father of all 12-step programs. And it offers the bonus of Psalms, Proverbs and the New Testament, with tiny numbers which directly relate to each step. Marvelous work!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Serenity NKJV New Testament, Psalms & Proverbs--A Companion for Twelve-Step Recovery
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Thora Lund
I have been ordering the Serenity Bible from CBD since before 1992. I can't get a better deal or service, and I don't try. I just keep ordering these testaments with such great interpetations of the 12 steps. I have 34 years dry and this bible has helped me with several types of meetings I attend. My church and I have given hundreds of these away. I've ordered so many special deals on other books that I can't get them all read.Thank you CBD,Thora Lund
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Serenity NKJV New Testament, Psalms & Proverbs--A Companion for Twelve-Step Recovery
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
CindyBender
I love this recovery Bible. I have used it since 1990, and was given a copy at an evening prayer service at the Salvation Army. I agree with the 1st comment, can we have a reprint in LARGE PRINT. Akron is the home of the AA program & I like this with the forward telling how the the steps of recovery were found in the New Testament. This book gives a concise understanding and ideas on how to see life's challenges, what to do, and not to give up.(One day at a time) One step at a time. This is a must for everyone, not just alcoholics, because there are many addictions that human beings suffer from,oversending, workaholic, food addicts,Not just drugs or alcohol. I have used this for a clearer understanding of how to make Christ's life more real in my life, and I'm codependant
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Serenity NKJV New Testament, Psalms & Proverbs--A Companion for Twelve-Step Recovery
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Geraldine Freeman
Was unable to use the new testament because of the smallness of the print. I have maucular Degeneration and can only see out of one eye at this time, would be helpful if a new testament was printed in large or giant print. I would like one in leather, I gave my leather one to my grandson on his conversion, you no longer make it in leather,. I am unable to rate.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Serenity NKJV New Testament, Psalms & Proverbs--A Companion for Twelve-Step Recovery
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Lansch
Best Bible for Prisoners in rehab because it flows with the 12 steps of AA. Its usually the first Bible they really read and opens their curiosity up to more of what God has for them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Serenity NKJV New Testament, Psalms & Proverbs--A Companion for Twelve-Step Recovery
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Allen D. Ferry
I have used my leatherbond copy for 15+ years on numerous deployments. It has been a great help to have the 12 steps right at hand. Would love to find another leather one. Great tool. Chaplain (COL) Allen Ferry
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Serenity NKJV New Testament, Psalms & Proverbs--A Companion for Twelve-Step Recovery
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brenda Goin
We love this recovery Bible. It shows where the steps of recovery are found in the word of God. Not only do we get in the word but it breaks it down of how to deal with life and not be defeated. It also shows in the beginning of the book some of the addictions that all have something in common with. Not just drugs or alcohol. We use this for our faith based support group that we named Bondage Breakers here in Roseburg, Oregon
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Serenity NKJV New Testament, Psalms & Proverbs--A Companion for Twelve-Step Recovery
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Aiejae Orbie
An excellent reference material focusing on the 12 steps as found in Scripture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.