Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover

Thomas Nelson NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover

Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan is the perfect gift for the Fathers, fathers-to-be and father figures of any age. The Dad's Bible is filled with challenging and helpful information designed to encourage and uplift fathers whose lives will be a priceless legacy for generations to come. Whether as a personal purchase, a Father's Day gift, or "just because," Dad's Bible is sure to draw the reader into quality personal time with our Heavenly Father. A perfect companion to the Mom's Bible.

Features
  • Articles
    • Walking in Authority — 100 articles on how dads should walk in the authority God has entrusted to them
    • Godly Character — 100 articles designed to teach and challenge
    • Passing it on — 50 articles about igniting the faith of the next generation
    • Dads in the Bible (30) — a look at the lessons taught by biblical fathers
    • Building your Children — 7 articles about nurturing and developing the potential in your children
    • Insights — 250 articles giving practical, biblical answers to life situations
    • Question and answer section — how to answer the hard questions
  • Topical Index
  • Presentation page
  • Hardcover
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover
Review 1 for NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this is a great bible for all dad's

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:Port Colborne ON, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered a Dad's bible for my husband close to 10 years ago now and I just recently ordered one for my brother. I recommend this for all dad's =) I also just ordered myself the mom's bible and I look forward to reading it =) Great products and great prices =)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good

Date:June 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anon
Location:Neptune Beach, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good for what it is. The cover could have been nicer. Gave as a gift with name engraved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
redranger
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves this bible. He has been wanting it for a while now! This website is amazing and i will recomend it to anyone!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Father's Bible.

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
gen23
Location:Covina, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been reading the King James version and wanted a different type of interpretation. I bought this Bible along with the "Every Man's Bible" and I am presently reading all three. This gives me a great perspective of Bible reading. To me the Bible is not just God's written word but a history book and by reading all 3 I can have my minds eye put me there to see everything as it happens. This Bible also has some very interesting additions to help relate to your own family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great product, I highly reqremend it!

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
MADD
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The dads bible is great! My dad loved it! It is a perfect fathers day or birthday gift for your Dad/Husband.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very good inputs for fathers.

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
jack
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my husband loves it a lot! It helps him a lot about his role being a father. He often share me things that he learn in reading it. very good inputs for fathers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a great Bible

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
dreamKeeper
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The 'Dad's Bible' is, simply, a Bible for fathers whether they are also grandfathers already, or they're just preparing to be fathers. It is very father-oriented from the beginning, since it starts with a foreword that really catches what it means to be a father - or how a father relates to his children (and wife). It contains many useful contents like: introductions to every book of the Bible, special notes written under different sections (Walking In Authority, Godly Character, Passing It On, Dads In The Bible, Building Your Children), insights, a 'Questions & Answers' part (i loved this) and a Topical Index. The New Century Version still hasn't won my interest. I prefer other translations of the Bible - NCV seems a little too easy, too simplistic and sometimes a father needs the assurance that he's reading from God, not just a bestselling book. However, NCV may be very useful for newly become Christian fathers because of its easy to understand language.
I think NCV Dad's Bible is an easy to use Bible for every father and a helpful spiritual tool as well. However, I wouldn't like to use it as my everyday Bible; first, because of the NCV translation and second, because I prefer a Bible that gives me advice on more topics than just on being a father/parent. So, yes, this is a great tool to help you become a better father for your family. Yes it has nice and useful notes (by Robert Wolgemuth). However, I won't use it as my personal everyday Bible. I'll use it whenever I'll have to deal specifically with questions or issues that are related to my role as a father.
The cover design is excellent, the dimensions of the book are also great - not too big, but not too small either and it looks like a durable Bible with a good print in general.
I would recommend this Bible to my friends who are fathers or to-come fathers. As I said before, I believe that NCV Dad's Bible is really a nice spiritual resource for men. I think it the best thing would be to have the Dad's Bible while your wife had the Mom's Bible - this would be a great way to share your thoughts and spiritual wisdom as dad & mom.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ryan P
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all, this Bible is written in the easy to understand, yet textually accurate New Century Version. Don't be fooled by the title and think that this Bible is only for men. This Bible does contain many helps for fathers, but it is also helpful for women too. As you read this Bible you will notice special inserts that have been strategically placed throughout, depending on particular themes or biblical accounts. Among these special inserts are "Walking In Authority" which gives fathers some daily helpful instructions. There are also "Special Insights" boxes which explain and illustrate the meaning of specific verses. Toward the beginning of the Bible are special articles about biblical fathers, and how to develop godly character. At the end of the Bible are questions and answers and a topical index based on all the articles in this Bible. There is lastly a very helpful list of topics which is indexed for quick and easy reference.
I personally used this Bible for my own Bible reading. It is actually being used now by a lady that attends my church, and has been very helpful to her as well. Another man in my church is using this particular Bible along with his wife who has the corresponding Mother's Bible. I highly recommend not only this Bible but also the simple to read NCV translation.
Thomas Nelson gave me a free copy of this book in exchange for a fair review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is wonderful!

Date:April 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Aja D
Location:Athens, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible for my father who loves it! So I bought one for my friend who is a single father of three children and not a Christian. He has actually read in it a few times, and teared up when I gave it to him, no one has ever given him a Bible before. Its a wonderful choice for fathers! My father loves his, and I trust that God will speak to my friend through it as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angela Winters
After reviewing The Mom's Bible, I obtained a copy of The Dad's Bible from Book Sneeze and allowed my husband to review it. Here is what he had to say...After reviewing this Bible I can say that it was very easy to use. I have owned several different Bibles written especially for men, but this one wasin my opinionone of the best. I really enjoyed the different commentary articles on subjects such as Walking in Authority, Insights, Godly Character and Passing it On. I felt that the articles were more beneficial than those in other Bibles that I have read since they are about topics I can actually apply to being a better father. The notes and articles in this Bible are easy to read and understand. There is something in this Bible for every dad. The study tools provided are very helpful, especially the questions and answers section in the back and the topical index. Also included in the back is a section called Dads in the Bible which is not only beneficial but unique. This Bible is not just the same old Dads Bible that we have seen before. I highly recommend it to other fathers looking for a good Dads Bible, or for anyone looking for a gift for their father or husband.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2010
First let me just say, I have not read this entire book. Second this bible only has one commentator, author Robert Wolgemuth! Yes, THE Robert Wolgemuth! Yea, I dont know him either. I am normally used to bibles that have a veritable myriad of commentators and people with PHD in their names, but again letting it slide.First of all this bible is the NCV (New Century Version) which if you dont know is the translation advertised as a third grade reading level which is also the standard used by the editors of World Book Encyclopedia to determine vocabulary. Back in 1978 this translation was originally the easy to read version for the deaf. But dont let its simplicity fool you, the editors of the NCV wanted this version to be faithful to the original texts as much as possible so a team from the World Bible Translation Center and fifty additional, highly qualified and experienced Bible scholars and translators were given the task.Obviously this book makes a good gift bible to those Dads in your life it seems the obvious choice. But I think any Dad could actually pick this up for themselves, especially those who want to try to be a Godly father for their children. The notes in this book (a lot of which I am sure are taken from the authors Dad books?) are full of useful tools:□Introductions to each book□What is authority and how it applies to you as a Dad□How to share your faith with your kids□Biblical fatherly models□Building character in your children□And some helpful answers to questions your kids might ask.I think this bible would make a cool gift for a new Dad; especially from a wife who just found out she was pregnant. This bible seems to be more targeted to the Dads who still have kids in the house and to the men who are concerned about the influence they still have. This bible can be a valuable tool in the effort to raise a family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debra Bills
made agreat Father's Day gift. my dh is very happy with it. He uses the extra commentary at our Bible study group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
With Fathers Day just a little over a week away, this is the perfect time to consider the Dads Bible, New Century Version, with study notes by Robert Wolgemuth.Although I was not especialy impressed with the NCV translationit was simple to understand but lacked the flow and poetry of some other English language BiblesDr. Wolgemuths comments helped me understand the Bible in a fresh way.For instance, in his introduction to the book of Genesis, Dr. Wolgemuth writes, [A]lthough this may be hard to comprehend, youre a patriarch, too. Many years from now, your name will be familiar to a myriad of offspring. Theyll remember your gifts and your flaws, your successes and your failures. This is amazingand its true.This Bible includes notes sorted into the following categories: walking in authority; Godly characterthoughts based upon the fruit of the Spirit; passing it onhow to share your faith with your children; dads in the Bible; building your children; insightshow to apply the Bible to home and work; Q&A; and a topical index.It is distracting that these notes dont always appear on the same pages as the passage upon which they are based. However, they helped me apply what I read in the Bible to my role as a father to my children.This book is a great gift for the special dad in your life. Just dont plan to use it as a daily use or study Bible.Full disclosure: I received a free copy of this Bible from Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Psmith
The Bible is in NCV which is one of the easier translations to understand. That makes it good if you want this to be used not only for Dad but for him to use with his children.Each book has a short introduction. Then there are their special sections. Some are throughout the Bible (though there is an index in the back so you can find specific ones when/if you need them).Walking in Authority ~ This is about being the family leader & servant God intends. One of the ones I read talked about the monument built to remind the Israelites about what God had done for them and how everyone who saw that was pointed back to what God had done in their lives. Then it asked what people think when they see your house? Do they think of someone who is kind, generous, who loves God or is it just a house with our name on the mailbox?Godly Character ~ The one I read talked about the disciples walking on the road to Emmaus and how they were having trouble with their faith.Passing It On ~ This section is about advice on dealing with difficult situations with our children. One I read was about responding to people/situations that are overwhelmingly hostile. It related back to David and Saul and how David trusted God to be his protection.Dad's in the Bible ~ Profiles of Biblical dads with life lessons.Building Your Children ~ These are much longer lessons on seven key areas of focus for building godly character traits in your children.Insights ~ These are short, inspirational/motivational thoughts you can reflect and then act upon.In the back of the Bible they also have a question and answer resource. They have pages of common questions children ask with Scripturally-based answers.They have a section in the back where you can look up what the Bible has to say about peace, joy or grace and that kind of thing. It does not have a concordance or study notes in the main body of the Bible. I think this is a wonderful resource.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ken Colson
Dads Bible is an exciting concept for Fathers with added helps, notes and ideas for effective child nurturing; and the NCV Bible is extremely clear and readable. The layout of Scripture and related helps makes reading a joy.Reading the Bible should be a joy and this version is right on track with a clear and modern translation that will communicate the same meaning to todays reader that would have been understood by the original reader. The helps are arranged such that each section of the Bible communicates Godly Character, or information on Dads in The Bible. Other helps include: Walking in Authority, Passing it On, Building your children, and others. For example, David the King wanted to build a Temple for God in 2 Samuel 7, and received an answer from God through Nathan the Prophet. The Biblical account is very clear reading, and the helps include Dads in The Bible a clear picture of David and how He is a picture of God; also a helps section on Passing It On leaving a legacy to our children. Wolgemuth has taken a great passage and brought it to life with helpful and very meaningful notes.I recommend this Bible for Fathers and plan to send this copy to my Son-in-Law, the Father of our First Grandchild.I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
DebbieT
This Bible was a pleasant surprise to read. Not having read New Century Version text before, I was delighted to find it easy to understand and a joy to read. Although I grew up with the KJV, this version has been wonderful to read during my quiet times, and even my young daughters have understood the text when it has been read to them.I enjoyed reading many of the notes and encouragements for Dads throughout the text. Men have a hard time finding books that build them up in their role as husband and father - and to have these encouragements and insights incorporated into Scripture is great.While I don't think this is the Bible for intensive study (no cross reference or index, it is a great devotional Bible and the Questions & Answers section offers great food for thought. I'm delighted to have this Bible, and my husband continues to pick it up and read through it more and more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Johan
Dads Bible: The Fathers Plan is a great bible for new fathers, seasoned fathers and those wanting to understand the father heart of God. The excerpts or notes by the author will cause your heart to be stirred into being a better father by strengthening your inner-man with the truth of scripture as it ministers to your soul.The downside of this book happens to be its strength. All of the excerpts written have to do with ministering to fathers. If you used this as your only Bible, I could see it causing you to think about the subject of fathering a little too exclusively. You could easily miss out on the scripture ministering to you in other subject areas if you have the subject of fathering at the forefront. I would suggest that this Bible is an addition to your daily bible but not used exclusively.As for the New Century Version of the Bible; The language used is very simple to understand with a modern tone. It is almost written as if someone is telling you the story in their own words. The downside to this version is that it is lacking in the poetic language that you might get from less modern versions. There are a few passages I found that the wording took away from what I enjoyed in other translations. I would recommend using it in addition to another favorite version of the Bible. Esthetically speaking, the Bible simply looks great. The pages have a rustic look to them making it feel like the kind of bible you would expect a father to carry. It is durable and the pages thicker than most bibles it seems to be well bound. Overall, I would recommend this Bible to any father or anybody that does not know God as a father. Not only will this Bible help you be a better father, it will give you the ability to sow into the spiritual walk of your children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
After receiving and loving the "Mom's Bible" from booksneeze I jumped at the chance to review the Dad's Bible. As the wife of a Pastor I knew that this would be a valuable resource for my husband in both the roll of Pastor and father.I love the insights found in this Bible (I've read through it on my own before passing it on to my husband, lol) and I've been constantly sneaking it away from him to look into the different bible studies and insights found in it. I feel like at times it give me a better insight into the life of a man, and their own struggles and challenges living as a Father.Like with the Mom's Bible, the Dad's Bible has a ton of extra's in it, such as "walking in authority" and the questions and answers section.I HIGHLY recommend this book for Dad's everywhere, what a Valuable tool!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Godspoetic1
I was very excited to receive this bible for review from Booksneeze! I have had other gift Bibles similar to this, such as the "Mom's Bible", so I expected nothing less than extraordinary with this Bible as well. to be quite honest this Bible delivered just the same if not more satisfaction than any other gift Bible that I have ever read through. It is not only pleasing and attractive to the eye, with the beautiful book cover and pages throughout, but it is very insightful for the reader, who may want to explore and gain more knowledge of the Bible. From Genesis to Revelation, after reading the "Dad's Bible, any Dad will become equipped to become a stronger leader in his home and follower of the Lord and His word, for many years to come. As per FTC guidelines, I must state that I was given a copy of this Bible from Thomas Nelson Publishers, for review. My opinions are my own, and are never made positively or negatively due to receiving the review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NCV Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jill K.
The latest book that I am reviewing for booksneeze is Dad's Bible: The Father's Plan. I thought that since Father's Day is coming up that this would be a perfect gift for Nathan. The Dad's Bible is New Century Version (NCV) and has notes by Robert Wolgemuth. I would describe this as a devotional Bible. Included throughout the Bible are a foreword, introduction, preface, questions and answers, topical index, God's word on, and about the author. Each book of the Bible includes an introduction and special sections (walking in authority, dads in the Bible, insights, Godly Character, passing it on).I really like Dad's Bible. The extras are all easy to read and applicable to men. As a mother, I learned some things about dads and the way they think. I also like that the Bible is there and whole. Nothing is chopped up or left out for the sake of making a niche Bible. The only thing that I didn't like is that it doesn't have study materials about passages in the Bible. However, I think that is more of a personal preference because this is formatted to be more of a devotional Bible. Overall, I am excited about giving this Bible to Nathan for Father's Day.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>