Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Avon Inspire The Protector, Family of Honor Series #2

Avon Inspire The Protector, Family of Honor Series #2

When her mother passes away, Ella's forced to auction off her family's farm. Her father died years ago, and she could never manage the fifty acres on her own. But after she moves to town, she can't deny the pain she feels watching the new owner, Loyal Weaver, repairing her family's old farmhouse-everything Ella had once dreamed of doing.

What Ella doesn't know is that Loyal secretly hopes she will occupy this house again . . . as his wife. He begins inviting her over, to ask her opinion on changes he wants to make. As their friendship blooms, Ella starts to wonder about Loyal's intentions, especially when her best friend, Dorothy, hints that Loyal is not who he seems. There's no way the golden boy of their close-knit Amish community could be interested in Ella, long the wallflower, hidden away caring for her ailing parents.

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Protector, Family of Honor Series #2
Review 1 for The Protector, Family of Honor Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Excellent book. I really enjoyed it and would recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Protector, Family of Honor Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book 2 Carries on!

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think, perhaps, I enjoyed book 2 of this series even more than the first one. Ella is such a dear character you find yourself feeling for her; sharing her hurts and her joys. From one of my favorite Amish authors, I have to say this another enjoyable read that doesn't disappoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Protector, Family of Honor Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Often friendship takes a dark turn

Date:September 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ella is beginning a new life after the death of her mother
and the selling of the farm. Dorothy has been a friend to
her all through her mother's illness and even helped her
find a job and has her rent half of the duplex she owns.
But when Loyal becomes more than a friend to Ella,
Dorothy's possessive nature turns dark and Ella's life
is in danger.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Protector, Family of Honor Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good reading

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
LouLouBelle
Location:Cedartown, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am originally from Pennsylvania and love to read books about the Amish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Protector, Family of Honor Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book my attention. Couldn't wait to pick it up!!!

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dixie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a good read. From the start to the finish. When I'm at work I couldn't wait till lunch so I could read.!! She is an excellent writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Protector, Family of Honor Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this book was great

Date:August 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary Eubanks
Location:Whiting, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book had me from the first page, the author grabbed you and you could hardly put the book down untill it was finished.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Protector, Family of Honor Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
jsbaby
Location:Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can not wait for the third in this series. Loved it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Protector, Family of Honor Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Entertaining and enjoyable novel

Date:July 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GENRE: AMISH
PUBLISHER: AVON INSPIRE
PUBLICATION DATE: JULY 1, 2011
RATING: 7 OUT OF 10
Following her mother’s death, Ella Hostetler plans to make a fresh start and start living life for herself rather than those around her. Having auctioned off the family farm to Loyal Weaver, she moves into a flat in town and starts her job as a librarian. But Ella can’t seem to break the ties with her past as Loyal keeps trying to involve her in the renovations he’s making to her old house, and her landlady, Dorothy, starts warning her against making changes in her life. Although Ella had previously thought she was destined to be an old maid, having missed her youth due to caring for her mother, Loyal’s attention suggests otherwise. But Dorothy seems less than pleased by this new development, warning that Loyal is nothing but trouble. Is Dorothy’s possessive and controlling behaviour rooted in something more than a desire to protect Ella? And is there finally a chance for Ella to find love in her new friendship with Loyal?
The second book in the Families of Honor series was very slow to start, and I struggled to get into it. It wasn’t until about halfway through the book that I felt it really got started and finally caught my attention. Ella isn’t your typical romantic heroine; instead of pining after the hero and bemoaning the lack of love in her life, she was quite independent and content to live in her little flat and work at the library. I appreciated that she didn’t fall for Loyal immediately and was content to just be friends with him. Their romance was the kind where a friendship slowly turned into something more and one day they suddenly realised how much they cared for each other. This was a refreshing change from the other Amish romances I’ve read lately.
The relationship between Ella and Dorothy was quite disturbing, and initially I wasn’t sure where it was heading. In places Dorothy’s possessive control over Ella made her seem a bit caricatured, especially as her behaviour isn’t fully explained until later in the novel. However, it was interesting to read about a friendship riddled by jealousy that wasn’t rooted in something as simple as a feud over a boy, but a long-term hurt that had never been let go of. I’ll admit that this storyline still seems a bit bizarre to me, even after finishing the book, but it wasn’t something that I’d ever seen featured in an Amish novel so Shelley gets credit for trying something new.
If you’ve read the first book in the Families of Honor series, you’ll be pleased to get the chance to catch up on the characters from The Caregiver. Loyal’s Uncle John features throughout the novel, now working at the local coffee shop, and we witness him trying to choose between two very different women, one Amish and one English. Mattie and Graham, who will be the focus of the final book in the series, pop in and out of the story and give us the chance to see how Mattie is recovering from her chemotherapy. Lucy and Calvin also appear a couple of times, as well as Katie, the youngest sibling in Calvin and Loyal’s family. A few chapters in the book are told from Katie’s perspective, which took a while to get used to but was a nice touch. My only complaint with Katie would have to be that, on occasion, her speech did not sound like that of a five-year-old. Sometimes Shelley captured her voice just right, but at other times Katie would utter a sentence that seemed far too mature.
While I wouldn’t class Shelley Shepard Gray as one of my favourite authors of Amish fiction, I’ve also never read a novel by her that I’ve disliked. She’s an author who manages to consistently produce entertaining and enjoyable novels. Although I don’t always connect with her characters as strongly as I do in other Amish novels, her books contain all of the elements that fans of this genre are looking for. If you’re a fan of Shelley Shepard Gray, you won’t be disappointed with this addition to her Families of Honor series.
Review title provided courtesy of Avon Inspire.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Protector, Family of Honor Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Didn't want to put it down

Date:July 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Karen M. Byus
Location:Amelia, OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the very first page, Shelley captures your interest and keeps your nose in the book until you are done. Ella reminds me of "Englishers" that have her feelings about their looks. But, Loyal proves that looks aren't everything...personality is more important. I can hardly wait for the next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Protector, Family of Honor Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish Love Story

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Protector is the second book in Shelley's Families of Honor series.
This story is about poor Ella who is all alone now that her parents have both passed on. She has put her parents farm and possessions up for auction. Loyal Weaver has ended up buying it.
Ella has plans to move into town and rent an apartment from Dorothy Zook, and she also has a new job at the Library.
Mattie has been fighting cancer and doesn't want to really get close to any young man. She has a good friend in Graham, but has let him know that it can be no more than a friendship.
Uncle John is still toying about having a relationship with Jayne, but he is still attracted to Amish Mary. Can he make up his mind?
There are some really scary parts to this book, with people becoming obsessed.
You will find this to be a great summer read!
Thankfully there will be one more book in this series, and a preview is included with this one!
I received a copy of this book from the publisher Avon Inspired, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Protector, Family of Honor Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2nd in Families of Honor series is compelling read

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Protector by Shelley Shepard Gray is the second book in the Families of Honor series. Ella earned the nickname of "Plain Ella" in school. She was known for being so quiet as to be almost forgotten, as opposed to popular Loyal Weaver who was friends with everyone and the object of girls' interest for his smile and shiny blond hair. Now life seems to be passing Ella by; she has spent the last several years caring for her ill mother after the death of her father, and now the family farm is being sold at auction: to Loyal! Ella is determined to make the best of this tragic situation, taking her dream job at the library and living in Dorothy Zook's, a single older woman, duplex. Loyal has wanted to get out from elder brother Calvin's shadow for years, and Ella's farm has given him the perfect opportunity to do so, despite Calvin's doubts. Loyal's guilt over buying Ella's home encourages him to seek her out and ask her opinion on his updates to the place, but he soon finds himself drawn to Ella's gentle, loving nature and radiant smile that transforms her from plain into the most beautiful woman he's ever seen. Meanwhile, Mattie is still struggling with breast cancer and all that it has robbed her of: courting, dreams of a family, a normal life; and her best friend Graham is now dating a new girl that has Mattie re-evaluating her feelings for him. There are a plethora of Amish series on the market today, but Gray is one of the few authors I follow. Her characters are always very real and the stories compelling. The Fatal Attraction twist in this one was a bit over the top, but Gray carries it well. I enjoy the interplay between the many subplots in this series, and I look forward to the resolution of Mattie's story in the next book. Gray is one of the best writers doing bonnet fiction today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Protector, Family of Honor Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved catching up with old friends!

Date:May 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barbara Beers
Location:Midlothian, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the second book in the Families of Honor series, we are still in Jacob’s Crossing and with the friends we met in "The Caregiver" but we make some new friends. We meet Ella who is selling the contents of her family home at auction. Her neighbor and secret crush, Loyal Weaver, has bought her farm and Ella is moving into an apartment with her friend, Dorothy, and they will both be working at the local library. Everything seems to be fitting together for Ella – but things start to happen.
In the mean time we meet more people the live in Jacob’s Crossing and spend more time with Mattie as she battles cancer, John Weaver and his donut shop and the two women that interest him, and little Katie Weaver.
If you loved “The Caregiver” you won’t be disappointed in “The Protector.” I have enjoyed all of Shelley Shepard Gray's books and this one did not disappoint me. She continues to bring in story lines that are not your typical Amish fare. I can identify with Ella, as I too am not the prettiest flower in the garden. I can't wait to read "The Survivor."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.