Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Common Sense Press Learning Language Arts Through Literature Red Book Pack, Grade 2

Common Sense Press Learning Language Arts Through Literature Red Book Pack, Grade 2

Build language arts skills through the wonders of "living" literature! Keep skills within the context of literature, giving children a better understanding of how these concepts actually work, and reinforcing their correct usage. Designed for second-grade students, this program package includes the student activity book, the teacher's guide, and six student readers. Organized around the readers, the teacher's guide features step-by-step instructions for each day, an end-unit assessment, teacher notes, and answers to the student book in the margins. The student book (non-reproducible) contains the exercises, copywork, enrichment & independent work, additional literature passages, and hands-on activities designed to complement the lessons given in the teacher's guide.

Books Needed for this Curriculum:

  • A Tree is Nice by Janice May Udry / ISBN: 9780064431477
  • Little Bear by Else Holmelund Minarik / ISBN: 9780064440042
  • The Fire Cat by Esther Averill / ISBN: 9780064440387
  • The Bravest Dog Ever by Natalie Standiford / ISBN: 9780394896953
  • Ox-Cart Man by Donald Hall / ISBN: 9780140504415
  • Corduroy by Don Freeman / ISBN: 9780140501735
  • Little Island by Golden MacDonald / ISBN: 9780400408307
  • Billy and Blaze by C.W. Anderson / ISBN: 9780689716089
  • Harry, the Dirty Dog by Gene Zion / ISBN: 9780064430098
  • Abraham Lincoln by the D'Aulaires

    Note:For a printable list of what books are needed for this curriculum, please see the "More Information" (PDF) link above.

    Please see the Scope & Sequence (PDF) link above for the elements covered in the 2nd grade text for the primary subject headings of grammar, punctuation, spelling, writing, and thinking skills.

  • Average Customer Rating:
    4.6 out of 5
    4.6
     out of 
    5
    (15 Reviews) 15
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
    5 stars
    10
    4 stars
    4
    3 stars
    1
    2 stars
    0
    1 star
    0
    8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Questions & Answers:
    3 Questions | 16 Answers
    Customer Reviews for Learning Language Arts Through Literature Red Book Pack, Grade 2
    Review 1 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature Red Book Pack, Grade 2
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Well rounded curriculum

    Date:May 3, 2014
    Customer Avatar
    Sheila Knox
    Location:Manitoba, Canada
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I have just started using this curriculum so these are my first impressions. I like having the lessons laid out for me, every detail. I really like my teacher manual. The lessons are weekly, broken down into 5 lessons per week. I was having a hard time working poetry into our reading program, partly because I'm not a natural poetry reader. I love that each day's lesson has a variety of different activities and points. It also includes cutting and pasting in some lessons which I like. The pages tear out easily from the workbook. There are a few books (10?) that you need to supply with the curriculum. A couple of them you will have in your home library or else your city library. My city library only had 2 books, so I decided to buy the corresponding books, just because I like to have things ready to go. They may only be used for a day or 2 but on the upside, they are really good quality books that will enhance your own personal library.
    The curriculum is really well done, well made. Everything came in great shape. There are 6 readers that come with it but we haven't started those, but they have about 5 or 6 stories in each. Again, really good quality.
    This may suit your needs if you like everything laid out for you as a teacher, if you want a comprehensive LA program that is easy to implement and if you like to have something everyday to work on. So far we've been keeping up with the schedule of 5 days a week, but it can also be done 2 days in 1 if needed.
    I have a 9 year old boy and a 7 year old girl both working on it. I like that they are short assignments and variety of activity every day. Again, this is just the beginning. And for my son, I like that everything is in one book, we no longer have 3-4 workbooks (1 for spelling, 1 for phonics, etc) every day but its in one book and he knows its done then. Before it was too overwhelming with lots of workbooks. Both are enjoying this new curriculum.
    The price was good, but keep in mind the price goes up if you choose to buy the other books you need with it unless you already have them.
    A word about the workbooks, they are thick. Its not your ordinary workbook. Again the variety of activities each day varies so kids should not get bored of repetition. Also hands on activities are included. All the lessons seem to include a variety of ways to "catch" all the different learning styles. Its something that you can make work for your kids as well. The curriculum definitely involves the student in a number of ways (cut and paste, discussion, illustration, acting out, etc) and really uses good literature throughout. So far the book has also used a story from the Bible as well.
    I should mention we did not use this for previous grades. It does start with review which has been helpful. Before this I've been using a variety of workbooks from various places as well as readers. This is much better and comprehensive then all those workbooks which were repetitive and overwhelming.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature Red Book Pack, Grade 2
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Language Arts the Natural Learning Way

    Date:March 31, 2014
    Customer Avatar
    Kathy
    Location:Southeast Wisconsin
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Learning Language Arts through Literature is based on the educational philosophy of Dr. Ruth Beechick and her natural learning method as outlined in her books, "The Three R',” "Language and Thinking for Young Children,” and “You Can Teach Your Child Successfully.” The curriculum is authored by the late Debbie Strayer, a homeschooling mother, teacher, author and public speaker.
    Learning Language Arts through Literature Red Book is a comprehensive language arts curriculum which teaches phonics, spelling, reading, grammar, composition, research and study skills, and higher order thinking skills, creative expression/games, and penmanship. The author has chosen “real books” which are the back bone for the curriculum’s lessons. “Real Book” selections include: “A Tree is Nice,” “Little Bear,” “The Fire Cat,” “Bravest Dog Ever,” “Ox-Cart Ma,” “Corduroy,” “The Little Island,” “Billy and Blaze,” “Harry the Dirty Dog,” and “Abraham Lincoln.” Literature passages from “real books” are utilized for copy work and dictation. Learning Language Arts through Literature incorporates word wheels, flip books, cut and paste activities and games into the daily lesson plans. The Red Book contains six readers, “In, Out and About Catfish Pond,” Up, Down and Around the Rain Tree,” “Forest Fables,” “Underwater Friends,” “All Around the Farm,” and Famous People,” illustrated by acclaimed artist, Jack Stockman. The student workbook is consumable.
    The instructors guide is comprised of easy to use lesson plans spanning a period of 36 weeks. Each lesson is made up of the following components: New Skills Taught, Materials Needed, Scripted Lesson Plan, Higher Order Thinking Skills, Answers, Examples, Diagrams and References to the student activity book. Assessments allow the teacher to evaluate the student’s progress. Phonics Facts, Grammar Guides, Syllable Sense and Punctuation Pointers provide reinforcement as the student learns the mechanics of reading, grammar and spelling. Placement tests are available online at the Common Sense Press website.
    As a homeschooler, I have perused several language arts curriculums. I cannot praise this curriculum enough! Learning Language Arts Through Literature receives an A+ from this homeschooling parent!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature Red Book Pack, Grade 2
    Overall Rating: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5

    Lacking in this level, but gets better

    Date:March 8, 2014
    Customer Avatar
    Sweetpea3829
    Location:Upstate NY
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5
    I'm really not understanding the love for LLATL Red level. I find it to be sorely lacking in several key areas. Before I get into my review, I'd like to say...this curriculum was recommended to me by quite a few folks...most of whom said the same thing...red level is terrible. But stick it out until yellow level and it improves tremendously.
    Let's look at key content areas:
    Grammar: Red level gets an A from me for its grammar. This is about the only area in which LLATL Red is solid. The concepts presented are thorough and they are reviewed quite often. There is no drill and kill, but just enough review and practice.
    Handwriting: I did not use their handwriting. We use HWT.
    Spelling: Terrible. Four words a week? There is very little explanation of why words are spelled the way they are. We are using AAS instead and find it to be an incredible spelling program.
    Reading: In my opinion, the reading level is below grade level. Most 2nd graders are able to read early chapter books. The 3-4 page reader stories were too easy for my crew. Perhaps at the beginning of the year, they were fine, but by the 2nd semester, they really should have started transitioning these kids to higher quality reading choices.
    Writing: The writing process is really missed here. I'm not saying kids should be writing essays in 2nd grade, but surely, they are capable of writing a paragraph. We ended up substituting our own writing activities in which I assigned a topic, the kids would brainstorm, rough draft, proof/edit, revise and then write a final copy.
    **After lesson 28 or so, the writing improves quite a bit with the Red level.
    Misc: A lot of the activities are busy work. Cut and paste type stuff that I would expect from a 1st grade, not 2nd grade curriculum.
    Overall, I think that the curriculum is "ok" but not tremendous. I plan to check out yellow level as well as Total Language Plus and Progeny Press and then make a decision from there as to whether or not I will continue with LLATL.
    Other users promise me that it improves dramatically in yellow level. We shall soon see!
    -1point
    0of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature Red Book Pack, Grade 2
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Thorough and enjoyable!

    Date:January 13, 2014
    Customer Avatar
    Mrs C
    Location:Corinna, ME
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This curriculum is wonderfully set-up and easy to follow. The lessons are not so long that they are boring and there is a great systematic approach to teaching. The spelling lists are great and I like having my student focus on a short list each week instead of many spellling words that they can't really learn well. He enjoys reading quality books and the readers are cute and easy to comprehend. I have only 4 complaints or suggesstions for this curriculum: 1. SPIRAL BOUND OR PERFORATED PAGES would be MUCH easier for the sake of record keeping. We use portfolios to keep school work in each year, and the pages are not easily ripped out which makes this an annoyance. (Especially since the blue book has perforated pages. Not sure why they switched on this level). 2. There seems to be a gap from the blue book to this one if your student isn't a strong reader. You may want to go at a slower pace then recommended if they are unable to read well. 3. The teacher's guide doesn't give corresponding pages to the student work book so you have to search for them or bookmark them. Certainly, not a huge deal, but would make it a bit more "teacher friendly". 4. Seems to be lacking on handwriting. I would suggest supplementing. That being said, those things are not enough to discourage me from continuing on in this series. My son loves it so on we go!
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature Red Book Pack, Grade 2
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Pleasantly Surprised!

    Date:December 3, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    JustMe
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    We had completed the Blue Book with my youngest child with great success and were ready with Red Book in hand this summer (yes, my young son couldn't wait to start the next book!). While looking at other curriculum for my older children I ran across reviews of the Red Book that discouraged me and made me wonder would this book be "enough".... I should not have doubted.
    A little more than six months has passed and my second grader has worked through the Red Book learning not only phonics, reading, and writing skills, but also beginning grammar and mechanics of LA in such a gentle way. Many times I have to slow myself down and allow for the narrations and role playing suggested (he truly enjoys them and a level of learning occurs not found in simple work sheet type activities). Spelling and phonics rules seem rather basic, but amazingly they seem effective! Interestingly enough, he seems very advanced to other second graders in other programs and public schools.
    I also cannot say enough about the sweet stories in the readers along with the fables that reinforce moral behavior and good choices. Even the filling in of the reading chart when books/stories are completed is such a reward for him.
    I said it when we finished the Blue Book and I'll say it again here.... I wish that I had learned of this method with some of my older children.
    Disclaimer: The pace we have moved through LLATL is with a child who has had good success at reading. I imagine a slower reader may need much more time.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature Red Book Pack, Grade 2
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Comprehensive lesson plans require a teacher

    Date:August 22, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    BusyMama
    Location:marion, ar
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    I have been using individual workbooks with my second-grader for spelling, vocabulary, grammar, handwriting, and reading. My son finds it all very tedious, and we struggle everyday to finish.
    Learning Language Through Literature has made this subject more enjoyable for both of us. Each day encourages all types of learning styles while reinforcing phonics, grammar, and spelling. My son has been enjoying playing vowel-sounds Bingo, organizing Y-words into Y, Long I, Long E columns, and stuffing -CK words into the Kangaroo's pack. He also has to write a sentence here and there, and fill in a blank every now and then, but it never takes too long. Each lesson takes us about 45 minutes to finish.
    I combined my second-grader and my twin first-graders into this curriculum. My first graders have been able to keep up, but my second-grader finishes each activity much faster than the little guys, and ends up getting bored between activities.
    PROS:
    1. The student pages are not overwhelming to him.
    2. The teacher pages tell me exactly what to say (which I love!).
    3. My planning time is minimal--very minimal.
    4. The program is fun!
    CONS:
    1. The student cannot do any work without the teacher. I have six children, and I cannot spend an hour with each of them doing language lessons each day.
    2. The program comes with some pamphlet-type books, as well as stories that are meant to be cut out of the student book and read. Additionally, the teacher's guide refers to several books you can either buy separately or borrow from the library. Trying to determine the location of the specified story in each lesson confuses me.
    3. Add about $50 to the price of the kit if you're planning to buy the additional books. If not, you'll have to spend some time reading the teacher's guide and planning when to hit the library. There is no list of when you need which library book.
    4. It claims to be comprehensive, but I think it lacks quite a bit on handwriting.
    RECOMMENDATIONS:
    1. Prepare a pocket folder for your student(s), because you will be cutting a lot of things out of the student book to keep.
    2. Always keep on hand some supplies during your literature lesson--a pencil, crayons, scissors, blank computer paper, a stapler, glue-stick, and tape (as well as the student's folder).
    3. Buy the extra books. (It's a much better life-long investment than that movie or video game you had planned to purchase for the kids.)
    4. Combine levels when possible.
    5. Add a handwriting workbook.
    +21points
    21of 21voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature Red Book Pack, Grade 2
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Very thorough

    Date:March 21, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    WDucken
    Location:Kaneohe, HI
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    We have been using this product for 2 months so far, and it has been wonderful. The lessons are planned out so well, making teaching the material and adapting as needed (they have notes for adaption suggestions) very easy.
    The only reason for the 4 stars instead of 5 is, the student book pages (in the book that I got) do not pull out easily. Maybe the pages used to be glued like tear-off notepads, but these are not (they're sewn). Thus I cut the pages out with an exacto-type blade for use.
    The teaching is also very thorough. They use a phonics approach to words, even using the pronunciation-guide notation (that you find in dictionaries). This helps my daughter to at least be familiar in seeing it so that she will more easily be able to assimilate her learning with reading the dictionary pronunciation when she needs to. The spelling guides (i.e. c and k can make the /k/ sound at the beginning of a word...If the letter after the /k/ sound is an e or i, the /k/ sound is usually spelled with the letter k...). They also script out (give you a script to use) the words for a discussion that you can use, if you'd like. The scripts are very good.
    The punctuation and parts of speech instruction is also just as thorough. They introduce topics in an easy-to-understand way (i.e. nouns are referred to only as naming words in the beginning so that students can understand their function & can identify them easily without getting bogged down in terminology and usage. Terminology is introduced after a bit.).
    Sometimes the lessons feel jumpy as they spend (probably) an appropriate time continuing to teach on the various topics (reading, spelling, punctuation,...) so that knowledge can build on knowledge gradually, instead of tackling all of, say, contractions, in one unit & then think that it's "mastered" then move on. *As a former high school math teacher, where the topics flow more from one into the other (we generally learn one topic so that we can use that knowledge in the next topic), this feels odd to me, but it's NOT that bad. Just getting used to how the subject matter flows, I figure. I mean, really, how else could you do it?*
    I am VERY happy with this purchase. Makes this homeschooling journey much easier. Also, the books included in the curriculum (and those recommended to get) are good; wholesome & can be used to talk about life lessons. Am looking forward to using the Grade 3 set, too!
    +6points
    6of 6voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature Red Book Pack, Grade 2
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Simple to Use

    Date:September 17, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    daredhead
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    This product is easy to use and has been very beneficial to my reluctant student. It isn't overwhelming, yet it supplies enough each day to keep my child on track. My biggest complaints are these: 1. They do not supply the corresponding student pages in the teacher's manual. This is a bit annoying. 2. The student book would be much easier to use if it were spiral bound. 3. A list telling you in which lesson you will need the library books would be most helpful. That being said, however, none of these complaints would keep me from purchasing this again.
    +7points
    7of 7voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature Red Book Pack, Grade 2
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:January 16, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Brandy Luth
    Great stories with great moral messages. My second grader loves and enjoys all the animal stories. We love to talk about the stories and what meaning they have in our own lives. We love the variety of activities and the creative projects and activities included such as the diorama box and pantomime. Mostly I love that I know other than borrowing a few books from the library my lesson is planned. I know my daughter is learning and I actually enjoy the lessons too! As a certified teacher and homeschool mom I cannot say enough about this wonderful curriculum! Learning through literature really is the best way to learn!
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature Red Book Pack, Grade 2
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:October 30, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Henriette Marais
    Compared to the previous and other home school literature the Latle program is fun,more fun and still more fun, I enjoy helping my daughter through it and it covers all language activities required for English and the children enjoy doing it.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature Red Book Pack, Grade 2
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:September 18, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Becky Price
    Wonderful series. I have used it in the past with my older kids and now am doing the red book with 6 and 8 year old boys. Keeps them interested. I do wish they included in the teacher book what page the student book is on.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature Red Book Pack, Grade 2
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:September 9, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Crystal Bandlow
    We love this book. It is easy for my 2nd grader to understand. The teacher manual has a lot of helpful hints to get him thinking. It would be nice if they included the other books that need to be read with the set. Not everyone lives close to a library.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 13 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature Red Book Pack, Grade 2
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:August 20, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Bridget
    This is a wonderful language arts program. I struggled last year with my daughter. She hated the program we used. She absolutely loves LLATL. It is so easy to teach and interesting for the child. This program has made our school day go so much smoother.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 14 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature Red Book Pack, Grade 2
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:April 3, 2005
    Customer Avatar
    sharon baloue
    This is a wonderful language arts progam. My 7 year old son loves the readers and the writing activies. This programs takes an unhurried approach to learning grammar and I really appreciate that. This curriculum is very age appropriate and easy to use. We do use another handwriting program because I didn't care for the style of the lettering. Overall, a very complete language curriculum and I have already purchased the next level, the Yellow book.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 15 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature Red Book Pack, Grade 2
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:June 9, 2002
    Customer Avatar
    Kelly Glenn
    This is a very good program that I plan to use all through High school. I have a teen in it now and two elementary students. It is well thought out and fun with lots of reading which we love! It is smooth and not at all tedious with little preparation. The older grades just get better. The only place I would like to see improvement would be in spelling for the younger kids, but I haven't seen next years yet! The high school version is excellent with the focus on writing and classic literature! Wonderful!
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.