Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Viking #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition

Viking #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition

Soon after returning from Mississippi, Father Tim and Cynthia travel to Ireland for a long-planned trip to do genealogical research on the Kavanaghs and to meet up with Cousin Walter and his wife Katherine, whose arrival is delayed. That's all right, Father Tim and Cynthia have settled into Broughadoon, the country lodge that Cynthia declares the most beautiful sight she has ever seen. Father Tim is delighted to return to this paradise and reacquaint himself with the gracious owners, Liam and Anna Conor, and meet what turns out to be a colorful cast of guests-including a group of friends, all widows, from Atlantal; a cheery brace of fishermen; and the resident Jack Russell terrier, Pud, who insists that Father Tim stop acting busy and play with him. But something is amiss in this paradise: Cynthia startles a burglar in their room and, panicked, sprains her ankle badly. Later, the owner's prized possession, a valuable painting by a renowned Irish painter, George Barret Sr, that he inherited from his father, is stolen. Are family secrets somehow behind these crimes?
Average Customer Rating:
4.114 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
3
29 out of 3583%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition
Review 1 for #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully written

Date:September 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
LJ1984
Location:Gold Coast, Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A perfect journey in and through characters who live and breathe from the pages of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Father Tim

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Helen Fistler
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is her best book so far!! I loved it. It takes you into the lives of all the people in Ireland and makes you a part of their lives.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

felt the first Father Tim book was an easier read

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marilyn Bailey
Location:Michigan
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
not an easy put down, pick up frequently kind of book to delve into. Read it because the first Father Tim was a good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lauren Yarger
Father Tim Series Continues with a Trip to Ireland, the Past
By Lauren Yarger
Father Tim Kavanagh and his wife Cynthia take a long-anticipated trip to the land of Tim’s ancestors in Ireland, but hopes of spending a relaxing vacation reading poetry and scripture while catching up with relatives soon are dashed by an injury, an art theft and discoveries in an old journal in Jan Karon’s latest, “In the Company of Others" (Penguin Group, 2010).
Readers of Karon’s Mitford series books won’t be surprised that Tim finds himself immersed in the lives of the people at the quaint lodge where they stay. There’s an ancient rivalry, a love that can’t be and a bunch of folks who need help reaching out to each other – all right up the alley of the retired Episcopal priest. When Cynthia sprains an ankle and is confined to her bed, Tim has even more time to befriend the townsfolks and help solve the art theft.
This second in the “Father Tim” series following the successful Mitford series (so-called for the quaint North Carolina town and its inhabitants who come alive in 10 books) has a high calling: to somehow link Father Tim’s Mitford past with his new phase of life. The first Father Tim book was excellent, taking the priest, on his own thanks to Cynthia’s convenient wayward ankle (it’s a break in this one), to his boyhood home in Mississippi where a lot of questions that persisted about Tim and his childhood are answered. It is completely satisfying.
“In the Company of Others” is the first book with Father Tim out on his own, coming to grips with retirement, and the people of County Sligo village become his new “parishioners.” We are introduced to all of the folks involved in the present events and intrigue in and near the lodge, discover the characters and intrigue that used to be around the lodge through long passages from the doctor’s old journal and keeep up to date with Mitford through phone calls from son Dooley and emails from Tim’s former secretary, Esther. It’s a lot of people and situations to absorb, so this book probably isn’t a good place to jump in to Tim’s life. Start in Mitford.
The lives of the present and past Irish folks is interesting, but they don’t hold a candle to what Tim experiences. I suspect Mitford fans would have been happy to sit with the Kavanaughs in their room gazing out on the countryside while Cynthia painted and Tim read from one of his favorite books of poetry because reading Karon’s insights into people, life and God is like spending quality time with an old and trusted friend. Sans a mystery and other people, there wouldn’t have been much of a novel for other readers, though..
Probably the most satisfying subplot involves Tim’s reaching out to a lonely, bitter old woman who, spurned by love, makes everyone around her miserable. In typical fashion, we walk along with Tim as he refuses to give in to her moods, won't be discouraged by the defensive wall she has built around herself and consistently offers her friendship to tell her that God and forgiveness are the only way to let go of the past and restore joy in her life.
Readers had a three-year wait inbetween “Home to Holly Springs” and “In the Company of Others.” Here's hoping we'll be treated to the next installment soon.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barbara
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was actually my favorite of Jan Karon's books. I loved the Mitford series, and just didn't like the first book in the Father Tim series. It was depressing. I almost didn't read this one, but as I got into it, really enjoyed it. I love Ireland. The Irish characters are so real (as the Mitford characters were.) A nice, well-written story.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed in this one

Date:June 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janus Tuttle
Location:Ft. Wayne, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I absolutely loved the The Mitford Series and Back to Holly Springs was enjoyable , however In the Company of others, was disappointing. There were parts when he was reading the man's journal that I completely skipped. I thought about not even finishing the book but I want to see how it ends. I thought it was difficult to follow and the characters were not interesting as in the other series. So many Irish words were used that I did not know the meaning of. All in all, not nearly as good as The Mitford Series and I read all nine of them!!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great reading

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jean Schuett
Location:Edgerton, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great new book. So happy to have another series of Father Tim coming. People become so real in anything she writes. The story line was different but yet so much the same. Our heavenly Father is so much in evidence in all the Tim books.
I can't wait for #3 to come along.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lennie
Location:Greenville, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A great disappointment. This book is not at all up to Jan Karon's previous work. It is confusing and hard to follow.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A Big Disappointment

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
maggie
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered and read both #1 and # 2 in this series. They were both quite a disappointment to me. Sorry Jan Karon probably worked very hard on these but they left me cold.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:May 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Location:Slidell, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I loved the Father Tim novels and have read them all more than once, however, I found this novel to be very disappointing. There were times I couldn't tell which character was speaking. I didn't feel like Father Tim and Cynthia were the same people as in the Father Tim novels. Their conversations together didn't sound like how they normally spoke to one another. Toward the end, the story got a little more interesting, but overall, I did not enjoy the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book is all we wanted and more.

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
diana
Location:Orwell, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Book is in large print which my Mother needs cause she loves to read but has limited sight. Well written and enjoyable, any further adventures of Father Tim looked forward to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

She is that good!

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
dmdtam46
Location:muskego, wi
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
I loved this book and have begun to read it again to make sure I have gotten all the story. I have read all Jan Karon's books at least twice. She draws you in to the lives of the people as if they were somehow related to you or at least very good friends or neighbors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a great book

Date:January 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marty
Location:Granite City, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book is so different from her others, but very well researched and written. I learned so much and enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a great, heart-warming read

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:San Antonio, Tx
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything endearing about Father Tim and Cynthia in Mitford is that and more across the pond. Jan Karon fills her books with human experience, and while it's a grand book to curl up with, all comfy and cozy, there's lots of thought provoking content to make me, at least, try to love more and judge less. Worth not only reading, but re-reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Once again I was delighted with Jan's story.

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Stoll
Location:Lake George, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again I was delighted with Jan's story. As always, I was enthralled by Father Tim and Cynthia's personalities, and their determination to leave a situtation better than they found it. Jan's books always are good medicine for my anemic faith and leave me a better person. My one complaint would be that at times it was confusing to me who was speaking in the dialogue. Thank you, Jan Karon, for your wonderful books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth the wait!

Date:January 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
TPorterRN
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book does start out slow, but picks up 1/3 of the way through. The last half of the book made it worth waiting for. My only complaint with this series, is how long I have to wait until the next book in the series comes out. I love Father Tim & Cynthia & how Ms. Karon makes them seem like old friends of mine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Francie
Location:Taylors, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been eagerly looking forward to Jan Karon's newest Father Tim novel and was not disappointed! She is one of my very favorite authors and I ordered this book as soon as I saw it on your website.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This book was a let down.

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
nanajean
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I loved all of the Mitford series. This one just doesn't measure up to the others. It did not hold my interest and seemed slow moving.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointing

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pastor
Location:Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Father Tim books have always been enjoyable reads. This one was more difficult to follow with the characters not as well developed. The subplot of the journal is sometimes confusing and boring.
The dialect also adds to the confusion. I hope the next one is better.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for #2: In The Company of Others: Large Print Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This book is great. Can't put it down

Date:November 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
ettala
Location:Randolph Co, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jan Karon has such insight to each character, that in her writting, she brings them to light and makes you feel you are in the same room or area that the conversation is taking place
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>