Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Familylife Stepping Up: A Call to Courageous Manhood

Familylife Stepping Up: A Call to Courageous Manhood

What's the most courageous thing you've ever done?

It's Dennis Rainey's favorite question for men. Men face decisions in life that demand courage. Big or little, complex or straightforward, these choices-let's call them battles-matter a great deal. One courageous choice leads to another; tomorrow's integrity depends on today's bravery.

Author, speaker, and radio host Dennis Rainey tackles the call to living, breathing manhood head-on, offering a simple yet powerful vision for what it means to be a man who truly conquers, and truly wins. Using personal stories and biblical principles, Rainey identifies five stages of a man's journey through life and examines his responsibilities at each step. He calls men to step up to courageous manhood.

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
8 out of 1080%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stepping Up: A Call to Courageous Manhood
Review 1 for Stepping Up: A Call to Courageous Manhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A bedrock study for any men's group to consider.

Date:August 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Montana
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my opinion, this book along with the DVD sessions and study guide book has to be one of the very best resources available for any men's group today. Identifying 5 steps from boyhood to patriarch, with solid biblical support there is no way any group of men will remain the same after working through this material. It is profound and tremendously accurate regarding the necessary actions which must be taken to become the man God designed them to be. I strongly recommend this product and have every confidence those who lead studies with men will be glad for the scope and information provided.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stepping Up: A Call to Courageous Manhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this book every husband should read

Date:December 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
butch
Location:denver,co.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
high recommend any men read this book great and helpful information
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stepping Up: A Call to Courageous Manhood
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Politically Correct - way to go!

Date:March 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
D Kel
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rainey actively and purposely invokes and repeats many of the currently popular 'in-vogue' critiques of manhood. He draws heavily from other writers such as William J. Bennett, who asserts that men have 'abandoned their posts' and gone AWOL in their duties. He does this without once acknowledging the cultural forces that have brought this about. Divorced Christian dads know exactly what I'm referring to. Had to put the book down halfway through because of tension.
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stepping Up: A Call to Courageous Manhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved the book! Way to go Dennis

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
cobb
Location:Lapeer ,MI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book was inspiring and challenging. I have recomended it to many workers, family and friends. My regrets are not paying attention to the details and requirements of fatherhood, and I now see the bad fruit of my choices. This book has great nuggets of truth and will be an asset to any Father that wants to be accountable to the upbringing of His kids. Time is too short not to shoot the arrow straight at our real target.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stepping Up: A Call to Courageous Manhood
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Utterly forgettable and lacking in authority.

Date:January 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
HisStudent
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just wrote out a very lengthy review and decided to shorten it...here is my problem with "Stepping Up":
It's a book about the brand courage that fatherhood requires. But never once does it call men to be courageous because Jesus was courageous in his death on the cross for the sins of mankind. In short, this book is disconcertingly devoid of Biblical authority.
This is a book about the glory of men, NOT the glory of God.
This is not to say that there weren't small nuggets that I found enjoyable, it was (at times) a very entertaining read. But overall, I think the book fails to compel Christian men to action.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stepping Up: A Call to Courageous Manhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Diane
Location:Concord, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I have/are raising four sons. With the ages of our sons being in the 16-27 age bracket I'm finding that my influence over them as a mom is less wanted leaving my husband to take over as guide, counselor, and disciplinarian. The passing of the baton (in a sense) has my husband floundering for wisdom and courage. The book is a great source of encouragement to men in taking their role seriously both spiritually and physically while guiding their sons during these critical years. This book is now being read by my husband. I really enjoyed reading it. It is a much needed book for men of all ages to read in a society where men have taken a back seat to women in child raising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stepping Up: A Call to Courageous Manhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A 'best' book

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Neward
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband received this book, read it and said "it's one of the best books I've ever read for men". He then ordered copies for all the men (ages 30-45) in our Sunday School class plus our sons-in-law.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stepping Up: A Call to Courageous Manhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every man ought to read this book!

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Revredneck
Location:Dunkerton, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I heard Dennis Rainey mention this book on his radio show while they were talking about the movie "Courageous." I bought the e-book edition because it was on sale, and read the whole thing in 2 sittings.
I plan to order a copy for my son and sons-in-law so they can benefit from the timely and well-presented challenges, too.
I also plan to buy some extra copies for men at church. If you're Christian man, you NEED to read this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Stepping Up: A Call to Courageous Manhood
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for men, whether young or old.

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Richard
Location:Spartanburg, South Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
This book is one of the better books for men today. It features advice for men of all ages, divided into sections: Boyhood - The Age of Exploration; Adolescence - The Age of Pushing and Pulling; Manhood - The Age of Stepping Up Again and Again; Mentor - The Age of Investment and Impact; and Patriarch - The Age of Influence and Relevance. Great study book, and there are study guides available that have great questions to get everyone thinking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Stepping Up: A Call to Courageous Manhood
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeannie
Location:Waynesboro, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
excellent book - should be on every Father's book list. We need to be raising real men in the Church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.