Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan They Found the Secret

Zondervan They Found the Secret

Meet John Bunyan, Amy Carmichael, Oswald Chambers, Charles Finney, Eugenia Price and 15 other dedicated Christians who personalities and circumstances werecompletely different-yet who shared a common treasure: the secret to abundant, Spirit-filled living!
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for They Found the Secret
Review 1 for They Found the Secret
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Challenge for Many Christians Today

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dave Duval
Location:Burlington, ON Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The real life witness of the writers of these life experiences is a real challenge for many today who are seeking for the power to live the Christian life but are depending too much on their own abilties and resources. The lives of the writers are living proof that the scriptural way to true strength and guidance is to first commit ones life to the Holy Spirit and then to establish a living relationship with the Lord every day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for They Found the Secret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every Christian should read this book!

Date:October 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is empowering and inspiring. I believe that this book will speak to every Christian and to their personal walk with the Lord. Every Christian should know about this. I am glad that I discovered the "exchanged life" and it all makes sense now. And to be more specific, I would give this book ten stars for overall rating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for They Found the Secret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Richard
Location:Plainview, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
I read this book almost 30 years ago for the first time. I was very pleased to see it has been published again. It was a great blessing to me and has been over the years. So much so that I have been keeping a supply of them to give to people I sense as searching for a deeper walk with God. A great encouragement in the search for the "spirit filled life".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for They Found the Secret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful message and easy to read & understand.

Date:December 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
DonW
Location:Ocean City, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a group of short biographies of both famous and not so famous individuals. All telling the story of their indwelling by the Holy Spirit. It has opened my eyes to what it truly means to be born again and thru that a richer understanding of the Word. I highly recommend this book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for They Found the Secret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT EXAMPLES OF CHRIST-CENTERED LIVES

Date:October 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barnabas Bibles And Books
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I get a great number of requests for this book! It is an awesome reminder of what God can do through His obedient servants!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for They Found the Secret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jack Deblanc
This book provides a direct path to understanding the deeper life! Abiding in Christ and fully relying on the power of the Holy Spirit ...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for They Found the Secret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paul Paden
An eye-opener for those interested in Full Gospel theology in action; a challenge for those who don't embrace it; and a delight and encouragement for those who do. After the Holy Bible, I rank it in the first five supplemental books I cherish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for They Found the Secret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roel Velema
This spiritual classic is a gold mine to the fulness of Christ by way of the cross.The Passover, the Red Sea and the Jordan are all types of the power of the cross, as increasingly apprehended. The Passover gives a view of the cross as delivering from the doom of the world. The Red Sea gives a view of the cross delivering from the dominion of sin and the world. Finally, the Jordan gives a view of the cross as delivering from the dominion of the flesh. And thats what They Found the Secret is about. It shows the manifold working of the Holy Spirit in those who crossed the Jordan, experienced the crisis of the self-life and found Christ as their all in all. This book will be a great blessing to those who want to reach out for everything that has been offered to us in Christ, provided that we are willing to pay the price to lose ourselves in order to gain Christ. On that condition you will find yourself constantly going back to this book in order to have that same touch of eternity that the twenty transformed lives in this book experienced.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for They Found the Secret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Paula
I have just started reading this book. It's a great insight into the lives of believers who really found the abundant life and Spirit filled life here on earth. They are a great encouragement to me! I have been asking the Lord to renew my mind so I could be like them...more like HIM!! :)Love,Paula
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for They Found the Secret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michael McGee
This little book changed my life. I have given it as a gift to several people hoping that it will help them discover the secret of a closer walk with the Savior. It is a book that you cannot read just once. I keep mine by my bedside and read it often. My favorite story is the very last one about Ian Thomas. If you desire a more powerful spiritual life and a closer relationship with Christ, I highly recommend this book to you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for They Found the Secret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debbie Calvert
I could not get through the introduction and first chapter without tears. It is that impactful. I am using the book to facilitate a ladies Bible study and can't wait to see how it changes all of our lives as we hear the secret of victorious living in Christ Jesus from those who have gone before us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for They Found the Secret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bill Leonard
Henry Blackaby recommended this book from the podium and I finally bought it. One of the most powerful books I have ever read. The common theme of the lives of these spiritual giants is a secret all Christians need to discover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for They Found the Secret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Laney
I love this book! I will be reading it over and over. I am buying several copies to give to friends. A must read. Personal testimonies of Christian greats from the past. To really know the power of the Holy Spirit and how it has worked in these men and women - it can work in our lives as well! This book will be read and reread!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for They Found the Secret
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bill Spearman
I was aasigned this book to read as part of a class on the Holy Spirit and Missions at Wheaton College. I appreciate Edman's editing of these deeply personal stories of some of the great leaders on Christianity. I continue to reread the book as a devotional. I gave several books out as Christmas presents and continue to have conversations about the impact of the book on those who have read it. As a pastor I highly recommend this book for anyone who wants to understand Christian ministry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.