Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD

Thomas Nelson The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD

This faithful rendering of the New King James Version® presents the Bible in more than 90 hours of compelling, dramatic audio theater format.

This world-class audio production immerses listeners in the dramatic reality of the Scriptures as never before with an original music score by composer Stefano Mainetti (Abba Pater), feature film quality sound effects, and compelling narration by Michael York and the work of over 500 actors.

Each beloved book of the Bible comes to life with outstanding performances by Jim Caviezel as Jesus, Richard Dreyfuss as Moses, Gary Sinise as David, Jason Alexander as Joseph, Marisa Tomei as Mary Magdalene, Stacy Keach as Paul, Louis Gossett, Jr. as John, Jon Voight as Abraham, Marcia Gay Harden as Esther, Joan Allen as Deborah, Max von Sydow as Noah, and Malcolm McDowell as Solomon.

The set includes an interactive Behind-the-Scenes DVD that includes actor interviews, worship resources, and a fascinating look at how dramatic audio theater is produced.

Average Customer Rating:
4.947 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(114 Reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (114 reviews)
5 stars
109
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 out of 39100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD
Review 1 for The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MP3 More User Friendly

Date:April 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kevin Mack
Location:Vista, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own both the MP3 and the CD version, and the MP3 is so much easier to work with. I called Thomas Nelson, and they allow you to download it to all your personal devices. I have a desktop, a laptop and I will be getting a MP3 player to keep with me in my vehicles. If you have the CD's, you can't skip around from the New Testament to the Old Testament. You also have to change them frequently, as part of a book will be on one cd and the rest on another. With the MP3's, a couple clicks of your mouse and your there. Another advantage of the MP3's is that you can highlight all the chapters in a book, right click on properties and click details, and you can see how long a book will take you to get through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Makes the Bible Stories and Characters Come Alive

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sharon D
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's wonderful to listen to the Bible and really get a sense of being a part of the story. We are after all, continuing the book of Acts through our own lives and writing our story. The voices give character to all the Saints who have gone before us. I know these are actors, but I believe the emotion and passion of this recording presents a faithful rendering of the heart of The Word. It's a beautiful way to add to the revelation of the written Word. Listen and be blessed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Momof2boys
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these for my husband to listen to on the way to work. He loves them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best !!!

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Justify
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All that was put into this audio bible, its the best...with the voices to the dramatic reality...its great to listen and read along, makes the bible come alive....and also great to listen to while driving....I highly recommend...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing, Powerful, Awesome.

Date:March 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Winter Park, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NKJV Bible, Like you've never heard it before! A must have for everyone. Absolutly amazing, this will blow you away!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This brings the Bible to life in a beautiful way!

Date:February 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Maryland Alto
Location:Maryland
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was amazed by the effort that went in to making this. It is top notch from the actors to the background sounds to the musical score. What a wonderful way to be able to mediatate on the word, even while going about the everyday tasks of motherhood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cathy Sue
Location:Owensboro, Kentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Word of Promise not only brings the Bible to life but helps me to pick up things I missed the first time when I read the Bible completely through. ITS GREAT!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for trips as well as home study

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Princess
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for my husband who is not a reader. He loves it and has a couple of CDs in the car at all times to listen to while driving. We both enjoy how it brings the Bible to life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Memo
Location:Pointblank Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really surprised when we received it, purchased it for my daddy for Christmas due to his eyesight getting really bad he was thrilled, also impressed with the box it came in a wonderful decretive box you can display.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Londoner
Location:London
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent dramatisation of the Bible - easy to listen to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hart for Christ
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This was exactly what I was looking for!!! The dramatic voices and background sounds effects makes you feel as though you can see what is taking place as each word is being spoken.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

high quality product

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bailey
Location:TX
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun to listen to, dynamic, and true to translation. A very high quality product that we're enjoying greatly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Just me
Location:AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
just what i was looking for
nice container --easy to keep from losing part of the set
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting!

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
CanadianMae
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really look forward to listening to Word of Promise! I find it helps you recall scriptures and passages easier. Even the geneology, which I will confess I have skimmed over hastily while reading in my bible, has a certain charm to it with the instrumental music playing in the background. The actors are just right, although I haven't heard the entire bible yet. It isn't overdone, nor underdone. They all seem to play their roles excellently.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
erick
Location:chicago
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pleasure to listen to, I'm glad the time and effort went in to making a great product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

High quality product

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:Burlington, KS
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Listening to God's word on these CDs is a pleasure. It is easy to listen to and holds my attention. I love hearing these whether I am at home working in my kitchen or driving down the road.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Old Fashion But It's Gooooood :)

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
scent
Location:New York, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want to go back to 60's of radio generation or history age of when bible written, then it's good. Really recommend for anyone who desires to hear top voice actors & voice actresses like traveling with time machine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
siestakeykc
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have wanted this item for quite some time. I happened to come across the sale around the holidays, and I purchased it immediately. The quality is so wonderful. It's not at all like the old bibles on tape that my grandmother had. It's refreshing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Product

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jesse
Location:Iowa
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had heard wonderful things about this audio Bible and was not disappointed! Highly recommended!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Word of Promise, NKJV--Complete Bible on CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best audio CD I have ever heard! I love it:)

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
pastormark
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this so my family would have a new and different way to injest the Bible. My wife is ona pace to get through the bible in 6 months and she loves it. It brings the scriptures alive in a whole new way. What a great way to spend time with God!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.