Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The True Christmas Story, Faith Lessons DVD - Herod The Great, Jesus The King

Zondervan The True Christmas Story, Faith Lessons DVD - Herod The Great, Jesus The King

Discover the dank, sooty mouth of a cave much like the one in which Jesus was born, see real mangers and understand the power and opulence of Herod's palace. Weaving archaeological evidence with biblical teachings, teacher and historian Ray Vander Laan shares fascinating truths that are sure to speak to your heart the entire year.

Includes a 28-minute bonus faith lesson, Living Water. Approximate running time 48 minutes.

That the World May Know is a registered trademark of Focus on the Family and Faith Lessons is a trademark of Focus on the Family. All rights reserved.

Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The True Christmas Story, Faith Lessons DVD - Herod The Great, Jesus The King
Review 1 for The True Christmas Story, Faith Lessons DVD - Herod The Great, Jesus The King
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Will be useful for our small group

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jack
Location:GAithersburg, MD
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our small group has used all 12 volumes of Ray Vander Laan's Faith Series DVD's and has found them excellent. We hope that there will be more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The True Christmas Story, Faith Lessons DVD - Herod The Great, Jesus The King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:The Woodlands, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We own all 12 of the Faith Series and without exception they are fantastic. We are looking forward to the next one. We have recommended these to a number of people and use them in our Small Group. Sara Smith
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The True Christmas Story, Faith Lessons DVD - Herod The Great, Jesus The King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful series

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Karen Staege
Location:Omro WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful addition to the Ray Vander Laan series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The True Christmas Story, Faith Lessons DVD - Herod The Great, Jesus The King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
janajean
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the DVD to use in my High School Sunday School Class - very pleased with the content and quality of the DVD
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The True Christmas Story, Faith Lessons DVD - Herod The Great, Jesus The King
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this DVD is great. A perfect gift for Christmas.

Date:December 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
mechita
Location:Midvale, Utah
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed watching and listening about Herod The Great and the birth of Jesus The Messiah. Gives you a very interesting view of the birth of Jesus, the Savior of the world, that I didn't have before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The True Christmas Story, Faith Lessons DVD - Herod The Great, Jesus The King
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
I was very disappointed. The actual content on Christmas was very brief. There was so much more that could have been done. It seemed like it was a sales pitch for the rest of the DVD series. I also thought the price was too high.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The True Christmas Story, Faith Lessons DVD - Herod The Great, Jesus The King
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lori Lui
While I do agree that the Christmas content is limited, I think it has great possibilities for outreach. My father's walk with the Lord is limited, so a video much longer may not make as much of an impact on him. Also, it is a great video for children who do not have the longest attention spans. It is our family tradition to watch this every Christmas. Of course, I am speaking with a little bias because we love everything that Ray Vander Laan does, and I do think the price is a bit high.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The True Christmas Story, Faith Lessons DVD - Herod The Great, Jesus The King
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rossner Rick
Don't get me wrong, I love Ray and he does a wonderful work but in perspective this was quite the disappointment. I had purchased this to show in a group session as the info said that it was a 52 min presentation. Wrong, it was 18 min's plus two trailers, one for this DVD and one for the "True Easter" DVD which I now suspect is probably the same in terms of length. There is also a free copy of the "Waters of Engiti" which is a session from another volume. Perhaps my expectations are too high but this is not really what was advertised and certainly not what I was hoping for.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The True Christmas Story, Faith Lessons DVD - Herod The Great, Jesus The King
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Curtis
I was a disappointed at the minimal time spent on the Christmas story, I was expecting one hour presentation and it turned out to be really short
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.