Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker Object Lessons for a Year: 52 Talks for the Children's Sermon Time

Baker Object Lessons for a Year: 52 Talks for the Children's Sermon Time

In writing these object lessons David Claassen was motivated by the example of Jesus, who used objects such as birds, rocks, bread, lost coins, and water to communicate his message. Though simple and direct, these lessons do not underestimate the imagination and comprehension of children. Adults as well will benefit from the clever analogies made. Jesus did not limit his "object lessons" to children and every pastor knows that no adults ever fall asleep during the children's message!
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Object Lessons for a Year: 52 Talks for the Children's Sermon Time
Review 1 for Object Lessons for a Year: 52 Talks for the Children's Sermon Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cybersister
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this to help with adding concrete examples for our VBS program lessons. Different kids learn in different ways and we really want to reach all the kids we can with God's message. This book is a huge help with that.
I will definitely consider doing the Children's Message now that I have this book as well. Every lesson is really good (seriously every one).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Object Lessons for a Year: 52 Talks for the Children's Sermon Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly what I was looking for

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angela
Location:Southeast Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love that this book uses items you would have around your house. It will be a great source for ideas to supplement other lesson plans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Object Lessons for a Year: 52 Talks for the Children's Sermon Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kat5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful book for those short Children's Sermons during the regular service. The first one I used at church was so amazing I heard the Pastor say "Wow" from behind me. Highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Object Lessons for a Year: 52 Talks for the Children's Sermon Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great resource for Sunday school or Bible time

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
RamblingsMom
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read through the object lessons in this book and think it’s a wonderful resource for teaching children about God, Jesus, and the Bible in general. I think it’s for children maybe a bit older than mine (I would think it’s probably more geared towards kids 5 and up), but the lessons can easily be adapted for younger children.
In Object Lessons for a Year, you’ll find just that. 52 simple lessons that, using objects from around the house, will help children understand the Word more clearly; just like how Jesus used parables when teaching!
Each lesson includes the materials you’ll need, the lesson’s theme, the presentation (which you could even read word-for-word if you wanted), and the key verse from the Bible that the lesson is about. Perfect!
This book is designed for those teaching several children, but it would be great for teaching any number of children, even if you have just one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Object Lessons for a Year: 52 Talks for the Children's Sermon Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ladi Di
Location:Bethel,CT
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book touched on a number of different subjects. I teach a class of only about 3-6 kids ages vary from 5-10. Very good ideas and it will work well in my class. It can be used in a small classroom or large. There seems to be no age restrictions so that was great also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Object Lessons for a Year: 52 Talks for the Children's Sermon Time
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathy Ullrich
My church was looking for books that the person out in the pew could do for the Children's Moment. I was concerned that the lesson may be out of date - the cover wasn't very interesting looking. But this was great - no major propts to use, and the lessons were short and to the point and age appropriate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Object Lessons for a Year: 52 Talks for the Children's Sermon Time
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sharon Kirby
Good, simple and short sermons for children. I bought this as a back-up for those who aren't skilled in developing their own sermons. I expect it will be frequently used.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Object Lessons for a Year: 52 Talks for the Children's Sermon Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rachel Landers
Perfect for short and sweet object lessons. The objects called for are easily obtainable and the lessons are clever and will stick with the kids. A great addition to your Children's Ministry library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Object Lessons for a Year: 52 Talks for the Children's Sermon Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
C.S.
Great book. It has simple and easy to understand sermons. It has helped me a lot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Object Lessons for a Year: 52 Talks for the Children's Sermon Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Candace Ingalls
Another winner for bringing fun to lessons, both young and old love it!! Excellant learning tool, bright ideas in this booklet!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.