Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Legend of the Candy Cane, DVD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan The Legend of the Candy Cane, DVD

When a mysterious stranger rides into the lonely prairie town of West Sage, the townspeople don't realize their lives will never be the same. Florence Henderson, Tom Bosley, Ossie Davis, and others lend their talents and voices to this wonderfully re-created and expanded animated version of the classic Christmas family favorite. Includes a "Behind the Scenes" look! Closed-captioned. Approx. 60 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Legend of the Candy Cane, DVD
Review 1 for The Legend of the Candy Cane, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A cute Christmas movie

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wendy
Location:Calgary, AB
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This DVD was a cute movie our kids enjoyed. I was a bit surprised at how quickly the candy cane analogy was portrayed; but it was good & wholesome & enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Legend of the Candy Cane, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the movie!

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lightingbug
Location:South Louisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not expecting much from this movie. So glad I got it. I love how it reminds us that we all must go through bad times; but Jesus is ALWAYS there with us. A must see!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Legend of the Candy Cane, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This DVD has become a family favorite!

Date:October 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jenny Kurtz
Location:Midwest
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this at a discount chain a couple years ago for a great price! My daughters were then 4 and 2, they loved it then and still love it!!! My oldest daughter allways remebers the story about the stripes of the candy cane and what they represent. It is a wholesome, clean, christian based movie. I am sure my girls will watch it for years to come!! It is nice to find a Christmas movie my kids love that is not just another Santa Claus movie.
If your not sure about buying it, check it out at your local library first.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Legend of the Candy Cane, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
A.S.Drury
No explicitly Christian content, as far as I could tell. Essentially harmless, but pretty thin stuff. Romance and elevator music in a weird historical nowhere.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Legend of the Candy Cane, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kelli
I purchased this video 3 years ago for my then 3 and 1 year old. They enjoyed it then and continue to enjoy it at ages 3 & 5. I have enjoyed sitting and watching it right along with them too. I felt one of the other reviews were a little harsh. Granted it is not going up for a Grammy nomination, but it teaches simple lessons that keep a child interested and able to grasp the lesson being modeled. I wish they would make a DVD out of the other books Zonderkids has written in this series...I would purchase them. To sum up my above statements, I would recommend the DVD.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Legend of the Candy Cane, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2005
Customer Avatar
Sheila
I never read the book, but the movie was not worth the sale price I paid for it at a local store. The dog in the story should have died in the barn with the abuse he received, and the story seem choppy and didn't flow very well from scene to scene. We were disappointed in it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Legend of the Candy Cane, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2001
Customer Avatar
Tama J. Westman
Heartwarming and dear, The Legend of the Candy Cane animation produced by Mainstreet Entertainment will be the next family Christmas classic. The music alone makes this a standout film. Add the professional voices of Florence Henderson, Tom Bosley, Malcom Jamal Warner, Ossie Davis and the voice of Disney's Beauty and the Beast charcte, Belle, Paige O-Hara - the memories are just waiting to happen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Legend of the Candy Cane, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2001
Customer Avatar
Julie Saffrin
Based loosely on the book of the same name by Lori Walburg, (Zondervan, 1997), this new animated special is sure to be a bestseller for the stocking-stuffer season. In the late 1800s in the town of East Sage, arrives a mysterious man named Sonneman, with a young orphan boy. The townsfolk suspect they'll be nothing but trouble. Little do they know their presence there will forever change the lives of several of its citizens. Thomas is a lonely man living on the outskirts of town with his young daughter; Jane, a single young woman henpecked by her older sister, sees potential with Thomas. Unfortunately he doesn't reciprocate her feelings. Like Disney, Mainstreet Entertainment also succeeds in giving animals human personalities and quirks. One character sure to cause a giggle is Chester, the mountain goat who is afraid of heights. His friend, Rusty the dog, helps him overcome his fears in a clever way. The DVD/video also brings a fresh slant to the real Christmas story by using a candy cane as a symbol (which looks like a shepherd's crook) to tell about Christ's birth. Screenwriter Chris Auer does a nice job with humor in the script.Animation company Delaney and Friends, does a terrific job with making the characters look realistic, and Carol Zimmerman, a fresh, new voice in the songwriting arena, does a superb job with the songs, especially "Sleighride," which captures the essence of winter in the frisky December air. With veteran performers doing voiceovers (Florence Henderson, Paige O'Hara, Tom Bosley, Ossie Davis and Malcolm Jamal Warner) this is a brand new Christmas classic that your children will want you to have in your DVD/video collection.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.