Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Late Great Planet Earth

Zondervan The Late Great Planet Earth

The impact of The Late Great Planet Earth cannot be overstated. The New York Times called it the "no. 1 non-fiction bestseller of the decade". For Christians and non-Christians of the 1970s, Hal Lindsey's blockbuster served as a wake-up call on events soon to come and events already unfolding - all leading up to the greatest event of all: the return of Jesus Christ. The years since have confirmed Lindsey's insights into what biblical prophecy says about the times we live in. Whether you're a church-going believer or someone who wouldn't darken the door of a Christian institution, the Bible has much to tell you about the imminent future of this planet. In the midst of an out-of-control generation, it reveals a grand design that's unfolding exactly according to plan. The rebirth of Israel. The threat of war in the Middle East. An increase in natural catastrophes. The revival of Satanism and witchcraft. These and other signs, foreseen by prophets from Moses to Jesus, portend the coming of an antichrist...of a war which will bring humanity to the brink of destruction...and of incredible deliverance for a desperate, dying planet.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Late Great Planet Earth
Review 1 for The Late Great Planet Earth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
willowtree
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read this back in the 70's and couldn't really see what it was saying. Now I totally understand and can see everything clearly. Hal Lindsey really did an excellent job with this book. I can look at the news headlines today and go back to what he wrote in the book years ago. It's all happening just as he wrote and as the Bible says!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Late Great Planet Earth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great prophesy!!

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Texgrandma
Location:Odessa, Tx
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to reread Late Great Planet Earth and found it easy to read and accurate beyond belief. Who would have thought that a modern day prophet could be so accurate, to the point that he meets God's test for prophets "...must always be accurate and true or be stoned..."
Wow!! must read again!!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Late Great Planet Earth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ron Speer
This is a 'must read' for believers. It is an excellent book to give to nonbelievers. The effect that it has had over the years speaks for itself. I was introduced to it in 1970 as a 'wild child', part of the "flower children" of California. We passed this book around and made conversation. It helped change many of us from agnostics/critics of organized religion into people with a personal relationship with Jesus the Christ.Today now more than ever, it is an effective tool in reaching the lost. It's an easy read. The author paints a realistic picture pulling you into the events as if you were there. Today with a new movement for 'change' and a world turning their backs on God makes this even more critical reading. Buy 5 or 6 and give them to the lost or the searching souls you know!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Late Great Planet Earth
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Justin Bradley
This is absolute garbage. Completely misses the point of the book of Revelation, inaccurate is an understatement. If you really want to know what Revelation is about get a good commentary, either Beale, Metzger, or Koester.
-4points
4of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Late Great Planet Earth
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anthony Shuler
This book is not worth the paper it's written on. Revelation is not about politics. Hal Lindsey clearly seems to think it is though. I would also recommend not buying it because a new edition has to be publish all the time because of all the errors Lindsey makes trying to read the newspaper into Revelation. The original claimed that nations that no longer exist today were going to invade Israel. This should really be a newsletter and not a book since it needs updated every time something happens on the evening news. If you want a sane book on Revelation (not to many of those today) read Ralph Woodrow, Great Prophecies Of The Bible.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Late Great Planet Earth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deborah Eubanks
This book is exactly what my husband wanted. He loves events that relate to us and he also loves anything written by Hal Lindsey.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Late Great Planet Earth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2001
Customer Avatar
Eug
This book will always have a special place in my affections. It was loaned to me by a Christian friend/co-worker when I was still an ignorant (college grad) unbeliever. It answered many of my questions about Bible prophecy, including many I never considered. It is an excellent popular level treatment of pre-tribulational premillenialism (the same theological background of the "Left Behind" series). The insight Lindsey displays about the "near future" was amazing (look at the publication date and what has transpired since). Recommended for anyone who wishes to understand pre-trib, premillenialism.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Late Great Planet Earth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2001
Customer Avatar
Pamela Golliet
I must have owned 5 copies of this incredible book over the years. Each copy, dog-eared and marked up, has been "borrowed" and never returned, doing God's work in the world. The Late Great Planet Earth is a classic eye-opening look at biblical prophecy. It initiated the "Jesus Freak" generation of the early 1970s into deeper spiritual issues.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.