Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Putting On a Gentle & Quiet Spirit: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, 1 Peter

Harvest House Publishers Putting On a Gentle & Quiet Spirit: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, 1 Peter

How does it feel to be hurt by another person or treated unfairly? What about when we suffer for doing what is right? These experiences often cause feelings of frustration, bitterness, and even anger. But God calls His women to respond in a different way--a way that those around us don't expect. He desires for us to put on a gentle and quiet spirit, one that puts our heavenly Father on display to a watching world...and brings greater glory to Him.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Putting On a Gentle & Quiet Spirit: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, 1 Peter
Review 1 for Putting On a Gentle & Quiet Spirit: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, 1 Peter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for women's small groups

Date:September 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mimi 3
Location:Spartanburg, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again our women's small groups have chosen an Elizabeth George book for our weekly studies and again we are not disappointed. The length of the lessons are perfect so that busy women can prepare ahead of time and yet in depth enough to provide the impetus for deep discussions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Putting On a Gentle & Quiet Spirit: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, 1 Peter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent verse by verse study of God's Word!

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maria
Location:Corona, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the format of this study guide book. Goes verse by verse; defines words; aims at personal application. Can use individually or with a group. Homework is short (15 minutes a day) but impactful. I highly recommend this book to aide in a more indepth study of scripture.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Putting On a Gentle & Quiet Spirit: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, 1 Peter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Flagstaff Berean
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ms. George always fill the ticket, the studies are in depth and thorough without taking a lot of time in homework. She brings out wonderful Truths and is gifted in application
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Putting On a Gentle & Quiet Spirit: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, 1 Peter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful content. Seven ladies are studying it together and really enjoying it. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Putting On a Gentle & Quiet Spirit: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, 1 Peter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love Elizabeth George

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
pdstults
Location:Gonzales, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love the way Elizabeth George pores through the Bible. This is a great study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Putting On a Gentle & Quiet Spirit: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, 1 Peter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good insight into Peter's teachings.

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janet Gardner
Location:Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The study delves into the study of 1Peter one verse at a time and relates it's significance back to the teachings in the Old Testament. Gives a lot of food for thought!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Putting On a Gentle & Quiet Spirit: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, 1 Peter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for small group study

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
PatE
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our small group likes the verse by verse review of the text and the thought provoking questions to help us analyze what we are being taught by God's word. The mix of questions also allows us to share opinions and personal experiences.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Putting On a Gentle & Quiet Spirit: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, 1 Peter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good Bible study book. You have lots of questions to look up for your self. She does not spoon feed you but you learn a lot. She is an excellent author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Putting On a Gentle & Quiet Spirit: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, 1 Peter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shell
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great Bible study for yourself or for a group. This study on 1 Peter really hits your personal life and has wonderful applications for christian living.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Putting On a Gentle & Quiet Spirit: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, 1 Peter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Ann
Looking for a how-to on toning the tongue? You'll really enjoy this one. Great bible study for women alone or in a group setting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Putting On a Gentle & Quiet Spirit: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, 1 Peter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laura Pistoor
Until today, I had never read any of the books in this series. This book is such a great resource for finding peace & strength in times of struggle. Elizabeth George really captures the spirit of I Peter and its very appropriate message to those in need of comfort. It is hard to imagine a study guide as exciting. This truly is! I am really looking forward to studying the rest of the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Putting On a Gentle & Quiet Spirit: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, 1 Peter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2009
I really love Elizabeth George's work, but didn't "feel" as if this Bible study was written in the same style I am used to from her. I haven't finished it, so maybe it gets better. However, I just couldn't get into it like the others. Those, I couldn't put down until the whole book was read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Putting On a Gentle & Quiet Spirit: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, 1 Peter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2001
Customer Avatar
Beth
Elizabeth George is a wonderful author. Her books inspire change, and this Bible study is a great way to start.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.