Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984

At last---a Bible designed just for 8 to 12-year-old boys! Focusing on Luke 2:52 ("And Jesus grew in wisdom and stature, and in favor with God and men"), this is the ultimate Bible for boys 8-12. 252 notes help young men grow "Deeper, Smarter, Stronger, and Cooler" in the Lord. "Make It Stick" sections provide journaling and doodling opportunities. "Get a Load of This" notes add background insight and sometimes humor. "Grossology" sections highlight "gross and gory" Scripture tidbits. 1669 pages, Hardcover.

Features:
  • Table of Weights & Measures
  • 9 point type
  • Double-column format
  • Black Letter Edition
  • Book introductions and outlines
  • 8 3/4" x 5 3/4" x 1 3/4"
  • Hardcover
  • 252 In-Text Notes
  • "Get a Load of This" and "Grossology" Notes
Average Customer Rating:
4.854 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 1593%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984
Review 1 for NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
mjwood
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 7 yr old son loved it. I think it will grow with him I won't need to buy a new one for a while
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My son loves reading this Bible every night!

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Straughn
Location:White Plains, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the interesting and amusing facts that are placed throughout the Bible. My sons loves reading his new Bible every night! He has even begun to remember scriptures. This Bible is a must have for any young boy. It promotes reading, enhances understanding, and improves personal devotion. I absolutely love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
JanisF
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this Bible for my 8 year old son. This is HIS first bible. He thinks it is great to have a bible just for boys. I like that, too, because it makes him want to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melly
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My eight year old loves having his own Boy's Bible. He enjoys the commentaries included at the end of various sections. When he first received the bible, he sat down and read it on his own, 3 days in a row.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gets my son reading the Bible more

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mom of two
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The extras - such as the notes, journaling, doodling, "make it stick," and "grossology" - make this particular Bible more interesting for my 10-year-old son, so he's reading it more than the basic no-frills Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for boys

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julie K8
Location:Syracuse, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
My 11 yr old received this for Christmas and he loves it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Bible!

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sherry
Location:Floyd, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I ordered this bible for my Grandson for his 9th birthday. It really lives up to the description and exceeded my expectations. It has tremendous "boy" appeal with the gross and awesome features which really appeal to a boy of this age. We showed it to the Pastor and his Sunday School teacher who both wanted to know where we found something like this. I could not have made a better choice!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great BIble

Date:November 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
nighthawk
Location:Singapore
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This bible is great. just that it is NIV 1984 version. I was looking for the new NIV version so that my son could follow what my church is using for Scripture reading.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grandpa
Location:San Diego, Ca
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The comments for children are very informative. I would reccomennd this book for any child.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible for boys!

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leigh
Location:Reno, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Bible for my 10 year old son. He loves the graphics, and he was immediately drawn to the "gross" stuff. The first time he took it to church, he was eating a chocolate donut and got chocolate on the outside pages- it got broken in quickly and really looks like a boys Bible now! Great product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
ebydear
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this bible is great and i love it but it will be better in the hands of a bigger boy not mine that is 6yrs old. infact, i'm thinking of keeping the bible till my boy is up to 8yrs or more when he'll really understand some of the features. The Bible for boys is still great anyway. THANK YOU
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bible for younger readers

Date:April 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shawna Lewis
Location:Henryville IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this Bible for my almost 10-year-old as an Easter present. He has outgrown his childrens' Bible and needed one more geared towards his age group (8-12 year olds). Thumbing through the pages, it looks very informative particularly with the special features throughout. Highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
JessicaRoszman
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 7 year old loves his new bible.
The price was great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
melissia
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bible for my 10 year old son I have truely enjoyed watching him enjoy reading it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
josh
Location:philadelphia, pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I feel that the boys bible is very helpful for my son. When we have family night, he is able to read from his bible and get a better understanding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sena Andrade
It's very difficult to find a Bible that is engaging to young boys. I have tried several different ones for my nine-year-old to bring to church, but also to keep his interest long enough for him to want to read on his own. This one is it! He especially likes the "Grossology" sections- an awesome tool to expand upon. The "Get a Load of This" and "Get Deeper" sections are also fantastic and written in a way to encourage critical thinking and application. I definitely recommend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Schutt
Great Bible and super cool, but be aware that there is NO CONCORDANCE as listed under the "features."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen Arellano
My 9 year old son just loves his new 'boy' Bible! He is going to a Christian school this year for the first time Praise God, and they require the NIV. Through lots of research and prayer, I'm so thankful the Lord blessed us with this one. It's so appropriate for his age, and we are so blessed!:)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nicole Berry
It was a beautiful cover and layout.I decided to give it away as a gift, to bless someone else.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NIV Boy's Bible - Hardcover 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michele Gomez
Excellent bible for a young boy making the transition to teen years. I bought this for my 11-year-old along with the companion 2:52 Devotional. I find that he's reading his bible and devotional almost every day without prompting from me. I'm not crazy about the "Grossology" notes, but I'm a "girl". My sons think it's awesome!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.