Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for G.T. Luscombe Company Inc. Over-the-Ear Booklight

G.T. Luscombe Company Inc. Over-the-Ear Booklight

Handy and hands-free, our over-the-ear booklight is compact and practical, shining light in whatever direction you turn your head. Bright LED lasts over 100,000 hours with long-lasting batteries included. Inscribed with Scripture quote from Psalm 119:105 Your word is a lamp unto my feet. 3.5" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.981 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
5
17 out of 2568%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Over-the-Ear Booklight
Review 1 for Over-the-Ear Booklight
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
hutsut
Location:NJ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was a waste of money -- very poor quality -- sorry to be so blunt but it was a piece of junk.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Over-the-Ear Booklight
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Coral
Location:Brisbane, Australia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks like it will be of good use..Will be buying another one for myself eventually.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Over-the-Ear Booklight
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mary
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had Batteries in it but they did not work. Would cost me more to send it back than to buy new batteries, so it wound up costing me $10.00 for new batteries. It does not work as well as I had hoped. Was disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Over-the-Ear Booklight
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I like the verse on the side.

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tackla
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought two over the ear book lights. One works still and one broke within minutes of having it. The light won't stay on at all. The one that works is nice. Hopefully most of them are that higher quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Over-the-Ear Booklight
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It is a wonderful concept and useful.

Date:November 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diane Petroni
Location:Columbus, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is very lightweight and comfortable to wear. I really like the amount of light that shines. However, I have to hold my head at a somewhat awkward angle for the light to shine directly on the page as I'm reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Over-the-Ear Booklight
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bean
Location:Stevens Point WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The light didn't want to stay on my ear. I was very disappointed in it, but had already thrown out the packaging so I could not return it. I will continue to try to use it, but it is not very comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Over-the-Ear Booklight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Aimee
Location:Minneapolis
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So glad I bought this product. The light is very bright and I enjoy the freedom the over the ear feature allows for greater use and no restrictions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Over-the-Ear Booklight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

easier with children

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughters seem to "ruin" more book pages and standard book lights (by twisting them to see the page). I thought we'd try this instead. Works better. The only thing I wish they would fix is to make them a little less flimsy resting on the ear. Having said that, no more ripped pages or twisted book lights.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Over-the-Ear Booklight
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

More off than on

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
stella
Location:Hampstead, NH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The booklight worked great at first. After about a week, it automatically shut off. Tried to put it on again, it would shut off. The booklight is comfortable to use and would be a great item if it worked as it should.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Over-the-Ear Booklight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Neat!

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kabtp
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for our three sons and suprised my husband with one, too. He likes to read at night in bed so he's been using this and he loves it! Works great, fits good too and it works just like it's supposed to! Very neat product! I like the scripture on it, too, just adds that special touch.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Over-the-Ear Booklight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great little light!

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Zaida
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this light so I wouldn't disturb my husband at night when I read or when I need to work on the computer at night. It works perfectly and my husband loves it too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Over-the-Ear Booklight
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a little product and works will!!!!

Date:December 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
chappee
Location:Marion,In
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When i use it at nite it works great,puts out good light. The batties have long life. Iwould recommend this too my family and friends.The over the ear light is also lite in weight and comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Over-the-Ear Booklight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Item!!!

Date:July 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
William Miller
Location:Greensboro, Md.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little light gives more light than a flashlight. Very comfortable, you don't even know you're wearing it. Super bright light with swivel head lets you shine light on both left and right pages. Well worth the money.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Over-the-Ear Booklight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this little light is great !

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Faye
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is not only a great reading light, it is also super for seeing in the dark, outside.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Over-the-Ear Booklight
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointing

Date:March 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chrisp
Location:Irving, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tried it on, and it doesn't stay on. The light is so bright that when you're using a mirror to help put the light on, it hurts your eyes! I have small ears, and it won't stay on mine, so I'm wondering how this will work for my son, for whom it was purchased. Too expensive for what it is, and doesn't seem to be good quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Over-the-Ear Booklight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Samantha Quenga
Location:Vallejo, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this book light this past Christmas and I absolutely love it! It works wonderfully well and does not disturb my husband while he sleeps. I use this light almost every night to read bed time stories to my daughter who needs it dark in her bedroom to settle down at night. I often find myself using this product as a flashlight at night as to not disturb anyone with an overhead light. I highly recommend this to anyone who reads at night in bed with a sleeping partner next to them.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Over-the-Ear Booklight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The lighting is great.

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
gloread
Location:Cleveland Hts., OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this booklight, it is convenient and hands free. It gives off great light when the batteries are strong. The problem I have is there are no instructions on how to replace the batteries. There are three phillips screws, but where do you find such a small phillips that willl fit to replace the batteries?
Overall this is a great booklight, the best I have come across.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Over-the-Ear Booklight
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This product looked great!

Date:March 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary Buttry
Location:Athens, IL
Age:55-65
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My initial reaction was great I don't need heavy bulky clamp light on my reading material, but it is very hard to get it onto the ear and not very comfortable. I am hoping I get the use of it worked out soon as I would rather not return it or discard it. I do like the concept of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Over-the-Ear Booklight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Over-the-Ear Booklight

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
BriBri
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had another book light and found that it didn't even light up the word I was trying to read. Now when my Mama gave me the "Over-the-ear Booklight" as a gift, it turned out to be a true gift and a blessing from The Lord. It has a whilte like, bright light which makes it easy to read and where ever I point my head, the light brightens the area. It makes reading a pleasure and the price is reasonable. I have to see how long it will last until it needs a new battery and the only set back was that I found it difficult to put on my ear. But once it was explained to me, it works just fine and I also love the fact that not only does the book light move as your head moves but one can also redirect the light at the tip of the light.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Over-the-Ear Booklight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great book light

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Able
Location:Leoti, Ks
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book light. I is always pointed in the right direction and is easy to wear. My wife reads with it at night in bed and it doesn't bother my sleep and she uses it ever day. We are very pleased with it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.