Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Worthy Publishing Daughter of Jerusalem

Worthy Publishing Daughter of Jerusalem

Why would Jesus seek out Mary Magdalene as the first person he appeared to after his resurrection? In this compelling novel, Mary tells her own story about how Jesus' words transformed her heart; why she committed her wealth and influence to his ministry; and how it felt that glorious morning to discover the Lord was alive! 320 pages, softcover from Worthy.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
11 out of 1385%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Daughter of Jerusalem
Review 1 for Daughter of Jerusalem
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must-read!

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
kathae
Location:Front Royal, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daughter of Jerusalem by Joan Wolf
I won Daughter of Jerusalem through a Goodreads first reads drawing, and I am so glad I did! It is a fictionalized account of Mary Magdalene’s life. Not much is revealed about Mary Magdalene in the Bible, but the author made some judgment calls and ran with it and turned out an AMAZING story! It was really interesting to learn about the culture in Israel during the time of Christ’s life on Earth. Also, it was neat to get to know some other biblical personalities through Mary’s eyes. But most of all, this was such a well-crafted story. Author Joan Wolf made me feel as if I were experiencing the heart-wrenching disappointments, the temptations, and the joys that Mary went through, myself. I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Daughter of Jerusalem
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touching..

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daughter of Jerusalem
By Joan Wolf
Wow!!! Im bemused and astonished all at the same time... This book made me go back and reread parts of the Scripture. It touched my emotions so deeply that for the first time in my life I found myself really crying with the heroine and being angry when she was and of course overflow with joy when started standing on her own two feet and brave the World with chin held high and a beautiful smile transforming her face. The way this story is written made me feel like it was my best friend sitting next to me and pouring her broken heart out.
Mary of Magdala was an amazing woman. She had gone through so much hurt and loss and humiliation from such an early age, and had managed to come out such a strong woman-- a dedicated and active follower of Christ.
I believe all Jewish women are just as strong. Her aunt Leah's words (after Mary was told she would have to marry old Aaron) keep ringing in my mind, she said-"...you will marry this man and go to Sepphoris with him, and make the best of it. Thats what we women do: we make the best of it." I cant imagine myself finding strength to make the best of that situation. Meeeen I dont even make the best of my already great marriage, I complain and threaten like a spoiled child until I get what I want. Its such a shame and this book was such an eye opener. Im grateful I had the opportunity to read it.
One other quote touched me deeply and I believe it was the heart of Mary's story. After she confessed to Jesus her anger at all the people that have hurt her. He told her that she needs to forgive them because they are the ones that have set her feet upon the path to Him. What do you do with the people who have hurt you in life? Will you find the best of the situation and acknowledge that there are no mistakes in life? That everything that has been inflicted upon us had its own purpose and brought you to where you stand today?
Despite my hesitation to read Biblical fiction I really liked this book and couldn't put it down. It has a great story with well rounded charters, and interesting facts about Jews and Romans, emotional roller coaster, very personal appeal and a really sound advise.
Please enjoy reading it..I hope it will touch your heart as much as it touched mine.
Disclaimer: I got a free hardcopy of this book, from Worthy Publishing, in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Daughter of Jerusalem
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nate
Location:Poland, ME
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
She was the first person to see her resurrected Savior, a sinner whom Jesus cleansed of seven demons, and one of the women who followed and supported Jesus and the Twelve Apostles, but who was Mary Magdalene? What was her story? In her latest novel, Daughter of Jerusalem, New York Times bestselling author Joan Wolf puts a story to the person of Mary Magdalene. This first-person tale begins when, at a young age, Mary is sent from her family to live with her aunt and ends after Pentecost.
This is the first Joan Wolf book that I read and I am so glad I did. The novel is easy to read and utterly engrossing – I didn’t want to put it down. I cried at times while reading of Mary’s hardships and rejoiced in her triumphs. I will definitely be reading more of Joan Wolf’s writings. I’ll also be learning more about the Biblical account of Mary Magdalene. The book has me intrigued and I want to learn more about this important woman.
I love historical fiction because it weaves well-known historical characters and occurrences into the story. It’s fun to see how the author gives life to the Biblical account by putting names and relationships to people who we know little about from the Bible, such as Fulvius Petrus, an acquaintance of Mary’s that turns out to be the centurion that had the faith to ask Christ to heal his servant from a distance. However, it is important to remember that Daughter of Jerusalem is a work of fiction. The Bible gives us no reason to suppose that Mary participated in many of the events that the author places her at, nor does it give us many details about her life. It also doesn’t explain her political leanings. I found it startling that the author blends Mary Magdalene and Mary of Bethany (the sister of Lazarus and Martha) into a single person. I had always thought that these were two different people, but after reading the book I spent some time researching and discovered that there are some who believe that they may be the same person (though many scholars do not). The author provides a believable explanation of how Mary of Magdala could also be Mary of Bethany and the truth is that we really don’t know.
This is a fantastic book and a highly recommend it to any Christian. It is a wonderful story, makes some great points, and will cause you to open your Bible and learn more.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Worthy Publishing as part of their Daughter of Jerusalem blog tour. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing these things in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Daughter of Jerusalem
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring biblical fiction

Date:July 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
In this fictionalized story of one of the Bible's most compelling women, Joan Wolf beautifully recreates the history, romance, and tradition of Mary's world. Daughter of Jerusalem follows Mary's life from her first love through her loveless marriage, to the moment she heard of a miracle worker in her own town -- and ultimately to the moment she saw Him risen from the dead.
Of all the biblical novels I've read that included the character of Mary Magdalene, I believe Daughter of Jerusalem is my favorite. Joan writes in an easy flowing style that held my attention while moving the story along. The first two sections, which deal with the love of Mary's youth followed by her loveless arranged marriage, are great storytelling. And the third section, which includes many of the people and events of Jesus' ministry as seen through Mary's eyes, I found very inspiring. The story makes the miracles of Jesus come alive.
Mary Magdalene has been a fascinating character throughout history, and I like how Joan portrays her as adulterous rather than being a prostitute. Betrayed by the men in her life, Mary learned a hard lesson early on: "Never give men any more power over you than they already possessed. . . . I raised unseen walls around me and let nothing or no one come in." She strays away from the innocent faith of her youth - "I still believed in the God of Israel; I just wanted nothing to do with Him" - and her growing faith in the Messiah is a joy to watch.
The attention to historical and cultural detail is impeccable and adds much interest to the narrative. There were a couple of things I differ in belief on, but even biblical scholars don't agree, so that's okay. The story rises above that and never fails to entertain and inspire.
The way Mary became a devout follower of Christ, never wavering in her faith and using her considerable wealth to help others, offers both a challenge and example to us today. This is a story that I can easily recommend to all readers, not just to those who enjoy biblical fiction.
This book was provided by Worthy Publishing in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Daughter of Jerusalem
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Page Turner

Date:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Renee K
Location:Wichita Kansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This story is about Mary Magdalene from the New Testament. I think most of my readers already know Mary’s story.
As with Joan’s other books I would have to say that I have a lot of mixed feelings about this book.
Joan’s writing is amazing. Her details of the land make you visualize it and feel like you are there. Just coming back from Israel a month ago and it being so fresh in my mind Joan describes it vividly. When I can visualize a scene so well, see the landscape, and feel the emotions of the characters so clearly. That in my opinion is a unique author to be able to do it throughout the book. She makes the character come alive. There is a lot of dialogue in the novel and not many authors can pull it off and keep your interest.
I know and expect an author that writes biblical novels must add fictional details and make assumptions, in my opinion, this author goes a little way out there. Unlike Joan’s last novel we don’t have a lot of details concerning Mary’s life so the reality is that you have to make assumptions. I liked how Joan in her previous novel addressed the issue that she "took liberties" with the Biblical accounts in her story. I wish she would have also addressed this in this novel.
Some examples would be that Mary Magdalene is also Mary, sister of Martha and Lazarus. I don’t see that in scripture as the Mary’s being separate women. She left out some details about accounts in the Bible that we do know and added her own
I also seen some culture errors that are known like John the Baptist didn’t baptize by pouring the water over your head with your hands. I noticed a lot of culture errors concerning the Jewish culture.
If you want to know the real story of Mary, the Bible is where you'll get the facts. Just remember you are reading a novel and not the Bible. I would still recommend this book if you can read it as a fictional book and overlook the biblical account of the story. Thanks Joan for a beautifully written story. I would read her other stories when they come out. Her gift of writing in my opinion stands out.
Worthy Publishing has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. In no way was I asked to give a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Daughter of Jerusalem
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Christian Fiction!

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Koreamom
Location:Monroeville, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very excited when Worthy Publishing offered me the opportunity to review Daughter of Jerusalem by Joan Wolf. Having read a previous fictional Bible story by the same author I was eager to participate!
Daughter of Jerusalem is the story of Mary of Magdala or as she is more popularly known: Mary Magdalene. I have not read much about Mary Magdalene other then what is written about her in the Bible. However I do know that there is a bit of mystery surrounding her life. Some believe she was the woman that Jesus brought the seven demons out of, some also think that she is the woman with the alabaster jar that anointed Jesus feet with oil. I have also read that Mary was the sister of Lazarus and Martha.
Joan Wolf has skillfully combined these women into one, Mary Magdalene. The story starts out with Mary at the age of 10. Not able to live with her father and step-mother, Mary is sent to live with her Aunt in Galilee, where she at first does not feel at home and feels like an outsider until she befriends Daniel.
As the years pass a marriage is arranged for Mary as was done in those days and she moves away from her Aunt in Galilee to her husband’s home in Sepphoris. Mary looses her faith in God and turns away from Him. Only to experience heartache, tragedy and deep regret. After Mary’s husband dies, she moves back to Bethany with Lazarus and Martha for a time. Mary is now a wealthy woman in her own right after her husbands passing and she builds a home in Capernaum on the Sea of Galilee to start a new life.
Only then does Mary encounter Jesus and her life is changed forever.
I thought the author did a wonderful job of portraying Mary. The story is told in the first person and while it is a work of fiction, I think the story is well thought out. The description of the area of the time period is very descriptive and gives the reader a very good understanding of the time period. I really enjoyed the references to the different styles of architecture both Greek, Roman and Jewish, the differences in the land in the various cities in the story. I could just imagine the Sea of Galilee and the town of Capernaum.
I enjoyed reading about Mary’s childhood and the description of what life was like. The story made me appreciate all the freedoms I have as a woman today compared to the women of Biblical times.
As I have mentioned the story itself is fiction and some liberties were taken, reading a story like Daughter of Jerusalem causes me to want to delve more into my Bible and learn more about Mary and her life.
I would recommend this story to anyone who enjoys Biblical fiction. It is an easy read and you will not be disappointed!
disclosure: I received a copy of this book from Worth Publishing in exchange for my honest review. No other compensation was received. All opinions are my own. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Daughter of Jerusalem
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic read!

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mikal H
Location:Hampton, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My thoughts:
Joan Wolf takes a very intriguing woman from the Bible and writes a fictionalized account of her life in such a way that the reader is immediately drawn to Mary Magdalene, rejoicing with her as she finds love, and mourning with her over love lost.
The writing in this book is first person, which, I admit, is never my favorite. But Ms. Wolf has written this in such a way that you really don’t notice the first-person account. You really feel like you’re hearing Mary Magdalene’s story straight from her mouth, and it’s beautiful. And painful. And full of hope, redemption, and forgiveness.
I’ve learned many things about Mary’s story through this book. I knew she had been a disciple of Christ, but it never dawned on me that she was truly that involved, and that she and Jesus had a close relationship. Ms. Wolf writes with some liberty as one will never truly know what Jesus said outside of what is recorded, but I do imagine she likely got some things right. 
I highly, highly recommend this book. It’s easy to read, draws you right into the story, and is thoroughly enjoyable. Ms. Wolf has outdone herself!
*I was given this book for free from Worthy Publishing in exchange for an honest review. The thoughts expressed in this review are completely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Daughter of Jerusalem
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical Fiction Regarding Mary Magdalene

Date:June 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joan Wolf in her new book, "Daughter of Jerusalem book coverDaughter of Jerusalem" published by Worthy Publishing takes us back in history to the Israel at the time of Jesus and into the life of Mary Magdalene.
From the back cover: She was a widow, a businesswoman, an adulteress. In her lifetime, she knew murder, prejudice, and faith. She transformed from a Jewish girl longing for family to one of the closest friends of Jesus of Nazareth -- the Son of God.
HER NAME WAS MARY MAGDALENE.
In this fictionalized story of one of the Bible's most compelling women, New York Times best-selling author Joan Wolf beautifully recreates the history, romance, and tradition of Mary's world. Daughter of Jerusalem follows Mary's life from her first love through her loveless marriage, to the moment she heard of a miracle worker in her own town -- and ultimately to the moment she saw Him risen from the dead.
As this inspiring chronicle reminds us, Mary was the first to witness history's greatest moment. She was a woman who sought forgiveness for her sins, and a follower of God who yearned for a deeper faith. She was Jesus' beloved disciple. Read Mary Magdalene's story and find yourself in this remarkable woman's journey to discover the Kingdom of God.
The Bible, betrayal, romance, faith,and love. These are the ingredients for "Daughter of Jerusalem". Ms. Wolf took an interesting character from the Bible and has done an admirable work in adapting her to a fiction book. Ms. Wolf has made it much more romantic than the Bible portrays it but that is perfectly fine. "Daughter of Jerusalem" is told in three parts, each covering a different portion of Mary's life. Ms. Wolf does not skimp on detail as she gives life to this fascinating yet mysterious woman. While this book is based on a real-life person from the Bible it is also a work of fiction and that means that some of what is written is totally made up. Where does fact stop and fiction take over? I have no idea. Ms. Wolf has done a great job with these characters and you feel that you are there with them walking along with Jesus.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Wynn-Wynn Media for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Daughter of Jerusalem
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Does not follow Scripture

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
g gould
Location:California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This book does not follow the Bible, very misleading.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Daughter of Jerusalem
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a great fictional tale of Mary Magdalene

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leahhhh12
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Normally I do not read a lot of biblical fiction, but reading this book made me want to swallow up all the biblical fiction I could find. It was a wonderful read that made the biblical story of Mary Magdalene come to life. While all these events did not necessarily happen to the biblical Mary, this was a great fictional tale of the story of Mary.
The story opens when Mary is just 10 years old. After having problems at her own home, she is sent to live with her Aunt Leah at the home of Lord Benjamin. Mary must soon find her place in a household of 32 people. While she doesn’t make friends with the girls very quickly, Mary quickly becomes friends with Daniel. Just when they think their lives are going to go in a happy direction, things change.
When Mary is sold into a loveless marriage, she is terribly disappointed with her life. Feeling as if God has abandoned her, she finds love with another. Eventually, after a series of unfortunate events, she returns to Capernaum. There she meets Jesus and we see her learning to trust in him and rely on his strength and forgiveness.
I loved seeing the relationship between Jesus and Mary come to life. You can see that Mary greatly admired him and when she finally found a way to forgive herself, she was willing to work hard to follow Jesus and do what she could to help his ministry.
I enjoyed this book very much but as a warning to other readers, make sure you realize that this is a fictional account of Mary. It may have some of the facts straight, but a lot of this is fiction. If you want to know the real story of Mary, the Bible is where you’ll get the most accurate facts.
I received a free ecopy of this book from Worthy Publishing through Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions stated are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Daughter of Jerusalem
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

mary review

Date:April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Daughter of Jerusalem" by Joan Wolf is a fictional novel based on the biblical stories of Mary (of Mary and Martha fame) and Mary Magdalene. In the novel, Wolf combines the two women into one and tells her story from childhood to the resurrection of Jesus. The first half of the novel is the story of Mary from the age of 10, to her forced marriage, and onto her reuniting with her sister Martha and brother Lazarus. Then in the second half it follows her to meeting Jesus and learning of his teachings.
If you have done much studying of the bible, this will be hard to swallow. It is more of an introduction, or story bible for grownups. It helps if you think to yourself "this is just a woman who lives in the Greater Jerusalem area during the Roman era." That aside, it is well written, and entertaining. I never really bought her as Mary Magdalene; I felt her more of the Mary/Martha Mary. The novel brings possible answers to the questions that are there in the bible concerning the women. I wouldn't recommend this to a die hard biblical scholar, but to a history buff, or to someone interested in the characters on a personal level. I received this book for free from www.netgalley.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Daughter of Jerusalem
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It was OK

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
thewritingbichone
Location:Macon, Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In Daughter of Jerusalem, Joan Wolf writes a piece of a fictionalized story of a Biblical character who not much was known about beyond her relationship and actions with Jesus.
Wolf has created a page turner that emphasizes faith, hope and presents a person from Jesus' time in a light that makes her very personable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Daughter of Jerusalem
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

not Biblical accurate

Date:November 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sunflowers
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I hate to say, that while well written, I did not like this story. Had Wolf's main character had any other name than Mary Magdalene I probably would have enjoyed it much more, but alas it did not. The dislike is due to the disparity between the way I picture/view Mary Magdalene and the very fictionalized life that Wolf gives her.
First, this book seems to combine MANY Mary's (with the exception of Jesus' mother) mentioned in the Bible into one being. In this story she is Martha and Lazarus' half sister who ends up living in Magdala, who also annoints Jesus with expensive oil/perfume. However, Jesus never drives demons from her in the book.
Second, Mary Magdalene is very wealthy in this book due to being unwillingly married to a wealthy man who subsequently dies in such a way that we are led to believe Mary's lover caused. Personally, I had never considered Mary Magdalene to be a wealthy woman. Granted, that is my own perception and I can't very well tell you that she was, in fact, a poor woman. What I can say is that the Bible often depicts those who are possessed by demons as being beggars, ostracized by family and friends. If Jesus cast demons from Mary Magdalene, it isn't much of a leap to believe that she too was without means after being ostracized.
Third, this book seems to rely heavily on apocryphal texts. Mary Magdalene is elevated as being the only one of Jesus followers who truly understood what he was saying; she is the one Jesus loved more than the others. When the disciples decide to elect another disciple to replace Judas, Mary is suggested in addition to Barnabas and Matthias. It is decided that she has a "special" task and her name is not entered.
These are just a few reasons why the Mary in this book rang false for me as Mary Magdalene. That being said, the story was well written, the characters (with the exception of Mary) were believable. In all honesty, if I didn't feel that this would give a false representation of the Biblical account of Mary and her relationship with Jesus, I would probably recommend this book. Had the author chosen to give the main character a different name, one that isn't referred to in the Bible, this would have been an excellent book on how Jesus affected those around him. Unfortunately that is not the case here.
I do realize that this is a work of fiction, but there is enough truth in her to truly confuse someone who doesn't have a strong foundation...and that is dangerous.
I did receive a digital copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.