Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Worthy Publishing Cuts Like a Knife: Kristen Connor Mysteries, #1

Worthy Publishing Cuts Like a Knife: Kristen Connor Mysteries, #1

Chicago has a new resident---a cold-blooded serial killer. But he's met his match in detective Kristen Conner. She's a good cop, loves her mom, and coaches her niece's soccer team. But she's tough---and determined not to let this menace get away with murder again. Can she catch him before he strikes those closest to her?
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cuts Like a Knife: Kristen Connor Mysteries, #1
Review 1 for Cuts Like a Knife: Kristen Connor Mysteries, #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great suspense

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
AvidReader
Location:Charlotte, NC
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this character! She's sweet and funny under her tough exterior. It's not often I read a book and think, "I want to be friends with her" about a main character. The suspense is solid and kept me reading all night. I can't wait to read the second book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cuts Like a Knife: Kristen Connor Mysteries, #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

clean thriller

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
msharry
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great police procedural about a serial killer and a feisty female detective with a large extended family. Very suspenseful but clean with no sex or language and a heroine who talks to God. Definitely a thrilling thriller.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cuts Like a Knife: Kristen Connor Mysteries, #1
This review is fromCuts Like a Knife: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read.

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bugsy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was an excellent read. The story was fast paced. Hard to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cuts Like a Knife: Kristen Connor Mysteries, #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't Wait - Order it Right Away!

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sapphire
Location:Wyoming
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is phenomenal! The heroine is deeply flawed, yet still entirely likeable. The action scenes are incredibly realistic, taking into consideration female limitations, injuries, and adrenaline surges. And the twists are perfectly timed: You're positive you've figured it out, when all of a sudden you realize how wrong you were - they're twists you didn't see coming, yet in hindsight, they make complete sense.
This is one of the best-written books I have read in a long time (and I read quite a bit!). I cannot recommend it enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cuts Like a Knife: Kristen Connor Mysteries, #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thriller in Chicago

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cuts Like A Knife was either about a very dumb detective or it was written by a very poor writer. That was my initial opinion about half way through the book. I may have been right, I may have been wrong. But whichever, the book was worth the time I spent working through the story.
Kristen is a Chicago cop and the daughter of a Chicago cop. Though her father had died the previous year, he was a well-respected member of the force. And that connection provided part of the support needed for the promotion to detective.
What she did not know was that she was the primary target of a serial killer - his fifty-third target. But it was not only her life that was in danger, but it included her partner, Don, the team composed of CPD cops and the FBI assigned to the case, and her family that were at risk.
Though the story focuses on the search, identification, and capture of the serial killer, there is also a glimpse at what the God’s grace can offer to broken people - even people who do not know they are broken. Kristen needs to experience that grace, but she also learns to share that grace with those around her.
Written entirely in the first person, by Kristen, a Chicago based blogger, and the serial killer himself, the story holds the reader’s attention from chapter one (written by the serial killer) to the last page. I will look forward to future books from this new author.
______________
This review is based on a free electronic copy provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review. The opinions expressed are my own.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cuts Like a Knife: Kristen Connor Mysteries, #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Thriller Debut

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The opening chapter of Cuts Like a Knife is narrated by a psychopath planning his next event, and is spine-chillingly outstanding. The main narrator is Kristen, and her point of view is interspersed with short chapters from the murderer and from a online vlogger.
Kristen is a Chicago Police Department detective, soccer coach for her niece’s team, and almost-ex girlfriend of Dell (it would be a lot easier to become the ex if Mom didn’t keep inviting him home for dinner). She’s just been appointed to a team investigating the murder of a young woman, because the FBI suspect she isn’t a lone victim: instead, she is the 48th victim of a serial killer that has struck six previous cities.
Kristen is a very matter of fact narrator with a dry sense of humour. She's not a girlie girl, but that fits her tough persona, a hardnosed cop in a family where her sisters have achieved as stereotypical women (one is a pastor's wife, the other is a beautiful TVnews reporter). Kristen is not even close to perfect, unlike many Christian fiction heroines. She has anger issues stemming from her father's death, she disobeys orders and while she can hold up her end in a fight, she is not great with a firearm.
It soon becomes apparent to the reader that the killer is setting Kristen up to be his victim, which raises the ante and makes finding him even more important, but then there is a twist... I don't put spoilers in my reviews but I have to say that this one kept me on the edge. Gilroy is good at employing flashes of humour to cut through the tension, and at giving us a feel for the level of horror without needing to spell out the gory details.
As a Christian literary agent, Mark Gilroy will have seen thousands of manuscripts, and must have a pretty good idea of what is good and what sells. Knowing what is good and what is not does not automatically mean that you (or I) can write something that actually is good. But Mark has managed to cross this barrier, and I recommend Cuts Like A Knife to anyone who likes a good thriller. I hope the ending is setting us up for a sequel, because this is an excellent first novel, and I would certainly read more from Mark Gilroy. Just not late at night...
Thanks to Worthy Publishing and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cuts Like a Knife: Kristen Connor Mysteries, #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Full of Tension!

Date:April 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kristen Conner, the newest detective on the force, does not know that a new serial killer in town focuses on her. Attempting to live up to her father’s reputation at the police department, Kristen pushes herself to go the distance, with her family, in the department, and during self-defense training, but not at personal relationships. The FBI lists AA meetings as a place where the killer met some of his victims, so Kristen begins attending, meeting some others there that help her grow, but all the while the killer watches. Where will he strike next?
This is a great read! Kristen relies on her family, but also on the Lord for her strength. Maybe I am slow, but Gilroy kept me guessing almost until Kristen figures out the identity of the killer, and I was on pins and needles with the ending. I would recommend this for anyone who enjoys a hunt for a serial killer, but the Christian adds to the depth. Though there is violence, there is no profanity or sex.
Received Galley from NetGalley.com
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cuts Like a Knife: Kristen Connor Mysteries, #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great adventure and mystery

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story takes place in Chicago and centers on the main character of Detective Kristen Conner. The action in this book was excellent. I liked how the main characters interacted with each other. I really enjoyed the conversations throughout the story and felt they all fit in and helped move the story along. The story itself was well written and I liked the mystery and conflict that the story contained.
I gave this book 5/5 stars and would recommend it to anyone who likes a good action filled mystery staring a strong woman character.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cuts Like a Knife: Kristen Connor Mysteries, #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intense character driven suspense

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Do you love intense suspense? The kind where the police and FBI are desperate to catch the serial killer and you're just not sure if they're up to the task? This is that kind of book. It reminded me of Lisa Gardner's D.D. Warren books. Intense. Psychological. And a broken heroine.
Set in Chicago, Kristen Conner is the middle child who doesn't quite fit. A former athlete she now coaches kids soccer when she's not on the case tracking down killers. Now she's assigned to a brutal murder that quickly becomes the latest incident in a string of murders across numerous cities. Kristen is likeable because of how incredibly messed-up her life is. She has anger issues, doesn't quite fit with her family and can't get rid of her boyfriend. She's this close to being demoted and yet can't imagine doing anything else.
The book has a host of characters that add humor, conflict and chaos to the plot. And Kristen's faith is genuine and impacts her daily life. It's a reflection of those of us who love God and try to bring Him into our lives, especially our broken places.
The suspense is...good. I was half a step from the real killer from about page 108. I wasn't quite right, but I was so close it just about killed me. Fortunately, I exercised supreme control and did not turn to the back of the book. I honestly don't know if it's the writer analyzing the book that got me so close to the answer...still I didn't nail it. But really, there was no way to nail it until the killer was reviewed.
Even with that, I will definitely look for more books with this heroine...and the author set it up so that more books are definitely possible. If you like books by authors like Stephen James and Lisa Gardner, then this book is for you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.