Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Worthy Publishing Josiah's Treasure

Worthy Publishing Josiah's Treasure

In gold rush-era San Francisco, Sarah Whittier plans to use the house left to her by family friend Josiah to open an art studio. But then an angry man claiming to be Josiah's son challenges the inheritance. When rumors of gold hidden inside the house place her life in danger, will it soften the vengeful man's heart? 320 pages, softcover from Worthy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Josiah's Treasure
Review 1 for Josiah's Treasure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sublime

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A sublime historical read. Herriman doesn't just create images with her words, she creates scents and sounds as well. I love becoming so immersed in a story that it becomes my reality for a time; a perfect escape from my harried life and all its concerns. God bless authors like Nancy Herriman who lovingly carry me away into literary respite!
This compelling read really got my dander up in more than a few scenes. The author addresses the plight of women grappling with poverty in previous centuries. So many closed doors and prejudices keep the frustrating circle running full tilt. This background, and Sarah's passion for helping the immigrant women she accepts responsibility for makes for an invigorating, thought-provoking read.
And I loved the gnarly romance that starts out with two people making incorrect assumptions on the character and life of the other. That's another kind of prejudice that is also addressed -- making snap judgements and then treating people accordingly. Let's just say that lots of humble pie was served before the story reaches its conclusion.
A captivating and intense plot which includes a thread of suspense kept me committed to discovering the truth behind Josiah's treasure. And oh, bliss, the conclusion didn't disappoint. I just loved this book and I'm willing to bet you will too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Josiah's Treasure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A House, Loss Of Dream, Revenge and Romance

Date:June 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nancy Herriman in her new book, "Josiah's Treasure" published by Worthy Publishing brings us into the lives of Sarah Whittier and Daniel Cady.
From the back cover: in 1880′s San Francisco, Gold builds fortunes. And sometimes shatters dreams.
Daniel Cady has been searching for the father who struck it rich out West and never returned to his family. Daniel isn't looking for the man's love, and he's not offering forgiveness. All he wants is cold retribution. In the form of cash.
Years ago, a scandalous love affair ostracized artist Sarah Whittier from her family. In San Francisco, she has built a new life out of audacity, talent and an old man's generosity. The house Josiah Cade left her is about all she owns. A house that is collateral for her dearest aspiration- a custom art studio run by immigrant women. They're her family now, and she'll do whatever it takes for them to succeed.
But when Daniel Cady arrives in town claiming he's the legal heir, Sarah faces eviction...and the resurrection of dangerous rumors that the house contains hidden gold. Her future uncertain and her safety threatened, Sarah has nowhere to turn. Unless she can soften a vengeful man's heart, and they both learn that love is a greater treasure than gold.
All Sarah wants to do is put her past behind her and succeed for her success guarantees the success of the immigrant women that have become her family since her own family wants no part of her. Daniel Cady is looking for his father who abandoned him and the rest of the family to go West to look for gold. All Daniel wants is a part of that gold as recompense for what his father took from him. Now Sarah and Daniel are clashing over the one thing that belonged to Josiah and that both of them want, his house. "Josiah's Treasure" is all about family, the one we are born into and the one we make for ourselves in the world. This is about pain from our past that is causing us to make our present decisions and how healing of that pain can cause us to make new decisions. It is also a wonderful romance. Ms. Herriman has done an outstanding job of bringing Sarah and Daniel to life on these pages. We root for them to overcome their traumas and for their relationship to succeed. If you are looking for history you will find it here. If you are looking for a really good romance you will find it here. I liked this book and am really looking forward to more stories from Nancy Herriman.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Wynn-Wynn Media for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Josiah's Treasure
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable, but rather predictable - 3.5 stars

Date:April 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sarah Whittier has just acquired the lease to develop her art design studio, where she will train and employ young women with no other honourable options in 1882 San Francisco. But all her plans might come to nothing: not only is she having trouble finding investors for her studio, but there is a rumour of treasure in the house she recently inherited which has incited a break-in, and she may lose her house to a stranger.
Daniel Cady has spent months locating the father who abandoned him, his mother and his two young sisters nine years ago. But instead of finding his father, he finds Josiah is dead and an attractive young woman with high ideals has inherited the estate, not his children: apparently, Josiah believed his family was dead.
It’s not really made clear why Sarah has to go bowing and scraping to find investors for her art studio, given that she has just inherited an estate worth thousands (even if there isn’t a lot of ready cash, there is a property to use as collateral). And the early chapters of Josiah’s Treasure allude to Sarah’s history in a way that makes it feel as though this is a sequel when it is not (I checked, because it really felt as though there was a background that I was supposed to know).
But the story evens out as Sarah and Daniel work together to determine who is trying to break in to the house, find the truth to the rumours that Josiah left a fortune in gold hidden in the house, as well as discovering a mutual attraction. I liked Daniel but didn’t really relate to Sarah. Without having the background as to why she wanted to save and train the girls for her art studio, she came across as too cliché in her apparent perfection, and we didn’t see any change in her lack of faith in God. We were told she had not changed, but not shown that change, and that was a definite weakness. Enjoyable, but rather predictable.
Thanks to Worthy Publishing and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Josiah's Treasure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Josiah’s Treasure by Nancy Herriman was a most enjoyable historical novel that was also filled with a great deal of inspiration. In San Francisco in 1882, Sarah Whittier has a desire to open an art studio that will be run by immigrant women who have a talent for art or a talent for running the business. She has been the caretaker and companion of Josiah Cady who amassed a fortune in the gold fields and at his death he left everything to Sarah. Josiah rescued Sarah from her past and loved her like a daughter and he left everything to her for he thought that all his family was dead and he died never knowing the truth. Daniel Cady, Josiah’s son, finally arrived in San Francisco from Chicago after a lengthy search to find his father. He thinks that his father deserted the family and is determined to take the inheritance from Sarah. Daniel is very bitter toward his father but when the truth is finally revealed as to why Josiah left his fortune to Sarah instead of his family, he decides that he must help Sarah and try to keep her safe after rumors circulate in the town that gold nuggets are hidden in the house. Daniel knows that overturning his father’s will is going to be difficult, but after meeting Sarah his heart is torn between caring for his twin sisters and the attraction he is starting to feel for Sarah.
The author did an excellent job writing the story with a well plotted mystery and lots of exciting action. The characters were so well done that they seemed to leap off the page and become real. I thoroughly enjoyed the romance in the story as the author took us on a journey of faith for both Sarah and Daniel. Both had fought to find faith and then worked to keep it and not lose it when troubles came. In their search for the hidden gold, they both found that the greatest treasure to be found in life was love. The story was very inspiration and gave me something to think about after the story was finished.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes an historical novel set in the West in the nineteenth century, has a really good romance story line, a great deal of mystery, and that is also a Christian story.
I received this book free from Worthy Publishing and Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Josiah's Treasure
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An endearing story with a thread of intrigue

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nancy Herriman has crafted an endearing story with a thread of intrigue and mystery wound through it. It's set in San Francisco in the 1800s, and I enjoyed her descriptions of the city's sights and sounds. I didn't quite know what to expect as I had never read a book by Nancy, but I found it to be a well written, compelling story.
Throughout the book the characters learn the importance of forgiveness and how to let go of the bitterness they've been holding onto. It's not a quick or easy process which I appreciated because in real life it's not either. As they come to rediscover their relationship with God they are able to gradually let go of the bitterness and hurt and forgive even when it's not reciprocated or asked for.
I received this book from Netgalley and Worthy Publishing for the purpose of an honest review. My opinion is my own. Thank you Worthy Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Josiah's Treasure
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Almost a 4, but not quite

Date:April 23, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Josiah's Treasure by Nancy Herriman is packed full of good writing, like-able characters, and an easy to follow plot, but for some reason I couldn't get involved in the story. If there were a point system with the stars, I'd give it 3.9, simply because I didn't fall in love with Sarah and Daniel's tale.
***I received this book from the publisher/author for the purposes of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Josiah's Treasure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Snelling hit

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
JoyAnne
Location:TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarah, an aspiring artist, has received an inheritance and dreams of finding a way to help poor immigrant women get an education and a career. Daniel has come to town searching for the father that abandoned him and his siblings when they were young. What he finds is that his father has passed away and left everything to Sarah. The story really gets interesting from there.
I enjoyed this book though it did start off a bit slow, it's well worth the read. An interesting storyline and good characters make this a 4.5 star book!
I received a copy of this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Josiah's Treasure
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Where your Treasure is, There Will Your Heart be!

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
The IE Mommy
Location:Beaumont, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoy reading stories about strong women like Sarah Whittier in Josiah’s Treasure. I wouldn’t exactly call myself a feminist but I do appreciate when women step outside their typecast roles and do what they need to do to survive and take care of themselves and the ones that they love.
Sarah Whittier finds herself abandoned more than once in her life by people that were supposed to love and cherish her. When Josiah takes her under his wing, she experiences love and acceptance for the first time in her life. Unfortunately, it doesn’t last when he passes away. Because of their relationship he leaves her his home and money but when a man claiming to be his son shows up, she stands to lose it all.
Sarah is an admirable character, not only because of her strength but because of her character. She helps women who have found hardship as she once did and gives them a job so that they don’t end up on the streets doing the only “profession” many women are left to in similar predicaments.
When Daniel Cady shows up claiming to be Josiah’s son, Sarah struggles to fight for what is hers. Not only does her welfare depend upon it but also the women who have come to rely on her.
I loved Herriman’s style of writing and her knowledge of San Francisco in the 180o’s. I could almost hear the street cars and smell the salty air with her descriptive words. Her faith is evident in her writing and it helps to develop her characters.
Josiah’s Treasure is a reminder of what a true treasure is. Money can not buy happiness and is not where our hope should lie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Josiah's Treasure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This novel is the true treasure!!!

Date:April 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Miss Whittier was intelligent and determined, strong willed and pretty enough...commendable attributes, but one he couldn't afford to admire. He had to remember that she was not be trusted until his lawyer had finished reviewing the particulars of Josiah's estate. Not if he wanted to keep a cool head around her.
Not if he wanted to keep himself from caring.
"I came her to fetch what Josiah owed me and my sisters," he said plainly, truthfully, "not to ruin a young woman's future."
"You might succeed in doing both."
He slapped his hat against his thigh, fanning an eddy of dust across the floor. "Listen, I'm not out to hurt you. But I can't go back on the promises I've made, any more than you can go back on yours. You believe your girls need you. My sisters need me."
"Do you honestly think we can fulfill both our promises, Mr. Cady?"
"You have your backers," he pointed out.
"Anxious men whose charitable impulses read well in the newspaper but don't always hold up under pressure." She wasn't naive in the least.
Daniel stilled the nervous motion of his hands. Pretty young women like Sarah shouldn't be so cynical or worldly-wise. They should be sheltered and supported, what he'd spent half a lifetime doing for his sisters, trying to keep them from suffering the worst of the damage Josiah had caused. He didn't have to learn much about Sarah Whittier to realize that, even though she'd worked for Josiah in that comfortable house, she'd had to scrape and claw to be where she was today. Just like he had, making them two of a kind. An uncomfortable recognition.
"What do you want from me?" he asked.
"I didn't bring you here to impress you with my empty shop and its filthy floors." She pulled in a long breath. "I brought you here because, if you succeed in gaining Josiah's estate, I want you to invest in the studio. I would pay you back, with interest."
"I can't do that." Even if he wanted to help Sarah Whittier, for the sake of Lily's and Marguerite's futures, he couldn't.
Sarah gave him a withering look and retrieved her reticule from the countertop where she left it. Apparently she had let herself hope for more from him.
"You were right." Her eyes were deep brown, the color of cocoa or polished walnut. Lovely even when dull with disillusionment. "I did waste my time."
In the novel Josiah's Treasure by author Nancy Herriman, the reader is transported back to San Francisco in 1882. Here we find ourselves at a crossroads with Sarah Whittier and Daniel Cady. Two strong and yet opposing forces that each have a dream that they are trying to build and fulfill. With Sarah, she had been Josiah's nurse and caretaker until his death, leaving her all his wealthy and estate. She now plans on using some of that money to help build an art business to employ several immigrant women and help them get ahead in life by teaching them valuable life skills instead of selling themselves down on the Barbary alley.
Daniel arrives literally at Sarah's doorstep, claiming to be Josiah's long long son and perceived heir to his estate. He refuses to let himself care for Sarah or her desire to help other women less fortunate than herself find better lives. Until he can provide proof of his identity, both of them remain at odds. Daniel will do whatever it takes to provide for his sisters what he feels his father had promised them long ago when he left them behind. He can't believe that Josiah never revealed to Sarah that he had children, and now believes that there may in fact be a treasure buried in the house that his father hid when he stuck gold in coming to California. Now if he can only convince his heart to follow his head.
I received Josiah's Treasure by author Nancy Herriman compliments of Worthy Publishing and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. This is such a charming book taking into account the rise to wealthy by those that struck it rich during California's famed gold rush. I love the strength that Nancy breathed into the character of Sarah, a perseverance to keep pushing through despite the odds against her by the men of that time period. I love how she is willing to try anything to give her dream wings and hopes in some way she can convince Daniel to help. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and loved the historical look back at the early growth of San Francisco during the setting of this novel with the cable cars and Nob Hill as the backdrop. I will be looking for more books from Nancy Herriman in the future to enjoy and add to my library of favorites. This one has found a permanent home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Josiah's Treasure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow!! This is an All time favorite! A lovely story which transforms charecters perception of the word - Treasure.
Sarah, after foolishly falling head over hills for her art tutor, and decides to run with him from los angeles to canada to get eloped, but they bearly reach San Francisco and she finds out that he is a thief and has stollen her uncle's gold nughets. All dreams shattered and reputation ruined she remains in San Francisco where she finds Josiah Cady-her uncles gold mine partner. After Josiah gives her a second chance, Sarah wants to give the same chance to the immigrant girls who had hit the rocky bottom in life but have a tallent for painting. She opens an art studio and teaches classes.. But all her dreams are about to be shattered again when Josiah's son Daniel Cady comes to claim what was rightfully his from a worthless father who hurt him years ago.
Ohhh i want to write all about it, but Im not going to spoil it for you readers. It is a great story of finding true treasure in God and true love. Please read it, you will be surviving on coffee for a few nights but every page is worth it.
It's my first book by this author, but let me tell you - she has got a great ballance between conversation, action, and description.. And is a totally captivating writer!!!
Disclaimer: I got a free copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley.com in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Josiah's Treasure
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fast paced and filled with hope and promise.

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
JOSIAH'S TREASURE by Nancy Herriman is a inspirational historical Fiction set in 1882 San Francisco. A fast paced story filled with hope and promise. Sarah Whittier and Daniel Cady are on a journey of secrets,faith,deception,betrayal,hope and love. Daniel has a vengeful heart until the truth is revealed about his father,Josiah,who left his inheritance to Sarah. Sarah has a desire to help others,a past filled with secrets,and mistakes,and a desire to own an Art Galley. When rumor places Sarah in danger, because,someone thinks she is has a treasure chest full of gold nuggets, Daniel must let go of his vengeful heart to help save Sarah. Josiah,not only rescued Sarah,but loved her unconditionally,he thought his precious family was dead to him. He died not knowing the truth. Daniel learns far more than he wanted to about his father,his family and love. Josiah's treasure is far more than gold,love may be the greatest treasure of all. A must read for anyone who enjoys Christian reads,historical fiction,Americana reads,early 1800 Art world,and a wonderful story of hope and promise. Received for an honest review from the publisher and Wynn-Wynn Media,LLC.
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING:SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Josiah's Treasure
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An enjoyable story with likable characters

Date:March 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sherry K
Location:Kansas
Sarah Whittier loves to paint and dreams of opening her own art studio in order to help several girls who come from difficult situations. After all Sarah knows what's it like to be in a difficult situation and to make foolish decisions. That was her life until the kindness of Josiah Cady. He left her some money and his home on Nob Hill. Then Josiah's son, Daniel, shows up. His anger burns against a father who left to hunt for gold and never returned. Now Sarah finds her inheritance challenged by him. Daniel and Sarah are drawn to each other but are at a stand-off. All she's planned just might be lost. Then rumors spread of gold nuggets being hidden in the house and it endangers Sarah's life. Daniel finds himself wanting to protect her. Sarah's torn by her feelings for Daniel. A guy who will likely steal her dreams. Will all be lost for Sarah? Will Daniel find peace in getting what is rightfully his?
Josiah's Treasure was an enjoyable story with very likable characters. It's setting was San Francisco during the gold rush era in 1882. I enjoyed getting to know Sarah. She was a very refined woman but had lots of backbone! Daniel is really a great guy. I liked that he was torn in his decisions about what to do. It was very realistic. Though this is not a fast-paced story, it does move along at a steady pace, all the while spurring the reader on to find the answer as to why Josiah never returned home to his family. You'll see the greed of man, the ugliness of sin and unforgiveness, how love and mercy can change a life and how God is faithful even when we're not. If you enjoy a good historical with a touch of romance then check out Josiah's Treasure.
*This complimentary copy was provided by Worthy Publishers through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*
Paperback: 320 pages
Publisher: Worthy Publishing (April 16, 2013)
ISBN-10: 1936034794
ISBN-13: 978-1936034796
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Josiah's Treasure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Think she can't top "Irish Healer"? Think again!

Date:December 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
patti lacy
Location:Normal, Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1882 San Francisco teems with gold hunters...and gold diggers, who promise riches but hide tawdry pasts beneath fancy get-ups aiming to impress. Sarah Whittier, a talented artist, mourns the loss of her friend and mentor, Josiah Cady, who bequeathed her a comfortable California-style home. Cady's fortune positions Sarah's dream to materialize...on the canvases of the immigrant women she longs to help in a newly founded art studio.
Lenders don't cotton to a single woman running a business, but determination and the support of Charlotte, a well-heeled friend, see Sarah's gallery nearing opening day. Just as Sarah believes the door has slammed shut on her past, a determined Midwesterner takes up residence at a local hotel. Will his claims, and his sleuthing, threaten not only Sarah's dreams, but Sarah's life? Whose secrets will be exposed by this handsome young man? How will Sarah survive the aftermath of his discoveries?
With period-appropriate prose and a tight plot, Herriman roller-coasters her readers through San Francisco's curving streets. Never high-handed in her message, this talented author nonetheless weaves apropos and timely themes into her work, all the while entertaining, instructing, and informing. Don't miss this book! It's much cheaper than a ticket to the Golden Gate city!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Josiah's Treasure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good read

Date:November 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Andrea
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was excited to receive an advanced copy to read in exchange for a review. Nancy has another good read! It took me a bit to get hooked but once I did, I had to finish it. Just when I thought I knew what was going to happen, I got a surprise! It was easy to understand both character's views in the situation. I'd like to say more bit don't want to spoil it! Give it a read!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.