Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Israel, My Beloved

Harvest House Publishers Israel, My Beloved

It's a masterful saga of survival, hope, dreams, and glory! Journey through centuries of Jewish despair as Israel's sons and daughters are scattered across the globe, fleeing ruthless Grecian and Roman conquerors, bloodthirsty Crusaders, and terrifying leaders of the Third Reich. An intriguing novel overflowing with blossoming romance, tragic rebellion, and the restoring power of God's unconditional love. 448 pages, softcover from Harvest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Israel, My Beloved
Review 1 for Israel, My Beloved
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this book.

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Frone
Location:Winter Haven, Fl
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this book to all. I really enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Israel, My Beloved
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
J T
The great thing about this book was that it inspired me to re-read Biblical prophecy, especially the book of Daniel, and to get online and read about all sorts of things pertaining to Jewish history. My interest was really piqued, and I feel a stronger connection to Israel.I did have disappointments about the book, the most important of which are:1. The portrayal of God. You barely know Sarah's husband, who is supposed to be God and the hero of the story. But as a reader I felt more drawn to Jared, who helped Sarah at so many key moments. God (the husband) is rarely part of the story. When portrayed as a husband who would leave Sarah on her own for centuries through the most awful horrors, it didn't cast God in a great light. 2. The portrayal of Jesus. As a Christian (and knowing that Kay Arthur is also a Christian), I expected Jesus to have a larger role in Israel's overall history -- but Jesus Christ has a very small role in this book, and the apostles and messianic Jews have zero role in this book. I thought one of Sarah's children would be a messianic Jew, but that didn't happen. I also thought that Sarah would worship and love Jesus in the end, but she didn't. It seemed that somehow she was able to skip Christ and just go straight to God the Father. But Jesus said, "No one comes to the Father except through me."This was a really large and difficult subject matter that Kay Arthur took on, and I respect her for going for it. It doesn't have to be perfect to be useful. I will pass it to friends despite my complaints, because I want them to be inspired to study Israel's history and Old Testament prophecy.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Israel, My Beloved
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cheryl-Lee Raine
Another wonderful book by Kay Arthur! I'm a Precept student of God's Word and I was rather intrigued by this piece of historical fiction. As my favourite Christian fiction genre is biblical/historical so I decided to purchase it. I'm in the middle of reading it at the moment but it definitely gets thumbs-up!! I've always been fascinated by the history of Israel and general Jewish history so this book has been amazing in so any ways!! A must buy for anyone hooked on biblical/historical fiction and interests in Jewish history!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Israel, My Beloved
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Salerius
I am still reading the book. I am really enjoying the book. I think it helps one understand the history of Israel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Israel, My Beloved
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gerald Lopas
Very interesting and well-written. The print is really too small for an elderly persons eyes, that's why I cannot read any more than a few pages at a time. So I will take an unusual amount of time to complete it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Israel, My Beloved
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Walters
Beautifully written historical novel. I would recommend this to everyone to read and keep in their own library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Israel, My Beloved
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Winette Roof
Knowing it was in novel form, it still took a little getting used to that Sarah,who represents Israel, was alive throughout the whole book. I loved it, though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Israel, My Beloved
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
kelly
We were doing "The Partiarchs" by Beth Moore in our bible study group and a friend offered this book to me. A beautiful picture of the heritage we have been adopted into. I learned so much about this nation and a new love for these people because of it. It is written the only way Kay Arthur could, exquisitely! I couldn't put it down. I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Israel, My Beloved
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Teresa Schade-lugo
My husband and I have been doing Kay Arthur's online study of Daniel... This book was mentioned by Kay and is another way for us to understand the Bible -precept by precept. We are very blessed to have studied the book of Daniel with Kay's instruction and we are enjoying this book as Kay brings to life all of what we have been taught in a scripturally 'fiction type' way in this uniquely wonderful book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Israel, My Beloved
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2005
Customer Avatar
Sharon Puett
Incredible book, great reading! I couldn't put it down. It really helped me to personalize God's love for us (me!!), his bride! I learned so much about the history of Israel and God's faithfulness through the ages and hope for the future. Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Israel, My Beloved
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2004
Customer Avatar
Kim
I am so impressed by this book! Kay Arthur takes you through the history of Israel and shows how the Lord is so faithful - time and again, even when we are faithless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Israel, My Beloved
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2004
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Matthews
I have lent this book to several people and they all agree, it is fantastic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Israel, My Beloved
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2003
Customer Avatar
Crystal
The first real "Christian Fiction" book that I've read and really enjoyed. There were times I couldn't put it down because it was so gripping. It kept my attention and even at times on the edge of my seat. I couldn't wait until I could read more from each sitting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.