Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Large Print If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print

Christian Large Print If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print

Far too many of us have put our faith in a casual Christianity that never compels us to leave our comfort zones. But, deep within our hearts we know that Christ has not called us to comfort, but to an exciting, sacrificial and overwhelmingly fulfilling faith. In If You're Going to Walk on Water John Ortberg teaches us how to step out of the "boat" of casual Christianity so that we can faithfully follow the Lord who is calling us out onto the risky, exciting waters of the high seas. Let Pastor Ortberg teach you how to leave your comfort zone for a remarkable life of faith.
Average Customer Rating:
4.903 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print
Review 1 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enmlightening and challenging

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Woodstock
Location:Vancleave, MS
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very enlightening and challenging book. Delightful, humorous and serious reading. I was challenged to get out of my comfort zone and do something I had never done before, I worked in Vacation Bible School and had a wonderful time. (God laid it on my heart).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I recommend this book to everybody!

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vince
Location:Gabrovo, BG
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading the book, translated into bulgarian and presented by New Life publishers - www.newlife-bg.com, I realize that this book is wonderful and unique!
I recommend it to everyone and I lent it to some christians. I was surprised that they often lent the book to 3rd persons! One sister before ending to read my issue, phoned me and asked me where I bought it. After that she bought 2 issues - one for herself, one to lend.
Next I consider to buy another book from the author - the link I noted in my Evernote:
Everybody Is Normal Until You Get to Know Them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Book Club Choice

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
gisela
Location:Drumheller,Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent, easy to read book. The questions at the end of each chapter make it a shoein for a book study. The fact that it combines biblical examples with every day instances I find a real bonus. If you let it this book can be life changing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bcbeti
Location:Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just wish I had purchased this in a different e-reader I don't like tha fact I can't use your reader when I am not online
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to Read, but very thought provoking

Date:May 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mac2
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the hardbook for several years and have read it several times. When I got an e-reader for Christmas, I wanted the e-book to have with me at all times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent biblical guide for discerning God's call

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
J. Fountain
Location:Milton, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used this for small group bible study as a strong, biblical backboard for discussion; topics for exploration included a Biblical understanding of God's call, dealing with our fears, frustrations, our passions and the essentials of resilience and patient waiting on God's timing with partners in prayer. Recommended for individual or small group study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
obet
I think this is a good book for those who really want to follow God, and do his will as he has asked us to
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diane Grace
This is my second book the other one i accidently gave away to library for there used book sale. We are doing a study with our ladies meeting and with the film,I think it is a really good book to read on your own,also!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shirley Warthen
We used this book and study guide for our latest small group bible study. Very good study, we learned lots, now on to the application steps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ms. E
We began this study on yesterday at Bible Study. We usually try to end our session at 8:30pm, but it was so good until we ran way over our normal departure time. Everyone was excited about this study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Glen Lutz
We used this Bible study as the basis for our Adult VBS andover 30 adults were blessed by the study. Ortberg conveyedthe truths of the story about Peter in a very inspiring andpractical way for today's Christians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Faughnan
Excellent. Well written. Easy to read and understand. Moves you toward spiritual growth in learning to or continuing to trust God will reaching out beyond your comfort zone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cathy
We have been reading this book as a ladies book discussion small group. I know we will all be water walkers by the end of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Emily Allison
The book arrived in a timely fashion, just when we needed it. We are using it a Lenten Bible Study series and it is giving us tremendous insight and help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Don Herschell
I bought this book, along with the leader's guide and DVD, in preparation for our small group meetings. The meetings have not begun yet, but I am looking forward to them enthusiastically. The book has a lot of biblical teaching and practical, modern-day applications for those who really want to move their faith our of the doldrums. Ortberg also shows us how we often settle for a life that is less dynamic than what Jesus intended for us and how God can use the worst times of our lives to teach us and lead us into deeper faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dede Reilly
Great and easy read that is stocked full of biblical and contemporary applications. His teaching against "being addicted to mediocrity" in the spiritual issues of everyday life really caused me to sit up straight and recall what Christ's sacrifice was all about in the first place. I may not be walking on water, but I'm am so not in the boat. I want to be where Jesus is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Deanna Roberts
I am not finished reading this book; but I am finding it an encouragement in my walk with God. It confirms things that I have been sensing in my Spirit that I need to do in my own life. In Joshua, the waters of the Jordan did not part until the priests took that step and put their toe in the water. At this time, I am being asked to take a step in ministry that on my own I feel unprepared for, but if I do not step out on faith, in not what I can do; but what God can do, next year at this time I will still be on this side of the Jordan. I will take the step. Thank you for the encouragement, Mr. Ortberg.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Irma F
U know those books that u have to struggle through to read b/c although the author is making perfect sense, their delivery is...shall we say...lacking? Well this is definitely NOT one of those books. John Ortberg brings a fresh, enlightening - and entertaining - look at how faith is developed. This book renewed my look at faith - not as something that's a constant struggle - but as something that's an adventure. Please read it..... u won't be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ester Souza
This is my Pastor! He's an awesome, compassionate and transparent guy. If you get a chance, come by Menlo Park Presbyterian Church in Menlo Park, CA and hear John speak. We would love to see you! We did this as a Study for our Home Group. Great work! John Ortberg is a blessing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Trisha
Excellent book! Illustrations on every page to bring home the message. John Ortberg writes in a very engaging style that makes reading a joy. A must have to motivate your Christian walk to the next level.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>