Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Focus Publishing Incorporated The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition

Focus Publishing Incorporated The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition

Who is an excellent wife? What is she like? Using the woman in Proverbs 31 as a model, trusted Christian counselor Peace offers detailed practical answers to questions most often asked by Christian wives. Her proven principles and scripturally based insights will encourage you to become the wife God wants you to be. This is a must-read for every Christian wife.
Average Customer Rating:
4.452 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
5
21 out of 2391%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition
Review 1 for The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Date:February 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anna
Location:ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
More than 20 years ago and as a non-believer, I left a great paying job to stay home and raise a family which went against what the "ideal" woman should do in society back then and probably more so today.
I loved being home but because I didn't feel much support in my decision to be home, I felt torn and questioned what my sense of real purpose was as woman, a wife, a mother, ect....
A few years later, my husband & I started attending a local church where I finally felt accepted and had common ground when it came to staying home to raise a family. Our faith began to grown as we were learning and applying God's teachings to our lives after each Sunday message.
A year later I joined "The Excellent Wife" bible study to dig deeper into God's word and connect with other women who were also stay at home moms.
Wow, what a journey! I had know idea what God's role as a woman was for me and to learn that my heart's desire to be a wife and helpmate to my husband, a mother who is to teach her children and raise them up in the Word, was such an encouragement to me.
I got my answers as to what my true purpose and calling is as a woman, a wife, and a mother and it really doesn't matter what society thinks. It's what God thinks and says that I need to focus on.
Anyway, within 3 months of beginning my 9 months journey through The Excellent Wife, I got saved! Shortly after that, my husband also got saved but not because of the book although it did touch on his role as a leader as well.
Our lives have never been the same and now more than 20 years of being home with my oldest 2 now in college, I am still raising a family with with ones that are left at home. I have never had a single regret, no amount of money in the world can come close to God's calling for me and I am so blessed beyond measure.
This book shares God's word and passage from Proverbs 31, it doesn't promote being a stay at home mom or a working mom, it just walks us through being the woman that God calls us to be and uses God's word to guide us through. It's up to the Holy Spirit to work in our lives in whatever manner He chooses.
For me, He just solidified my own personal convictions and encouraged me that it was ok. Some women in my study worked outside the home, many did not but we all grew in our understanding.
Society is changing rapidly but we need to remember that God's word never changes, it is the same yesterday, today, and always regardless of the generation or century that we live in. His word is steady in a world that is not.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julia W
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome books at a great price and my secret sister loved them!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Taken out of context most of the time....

Date:October 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
audy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I did not enjoy this book at all. I gave it a 2 because their were some pearls in there. But most of the book seems directed at how wives should be reproving their husbands. She takes a lot of scripture out of context and some of the scripture does not fit at all to what she is saying.
I read some of it to my husband and explained my issues with it. He said it appears that she had thoughts about marriage from a psychology point of view and then went to the bible to try to prove what she thought was correct. Which would make sense with how out of context she was.
Try reading Created to be a help meet instead. It is very biblical and although about killed me reading it, it changed my life and my marriage. It is a hard look at the world vs. god's ideas for marriage and was what I and many need to read.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book!

Date:May 31, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A classic indeed! This book is a wonder of information for wives or a book that mothers can read with their daughters who are about to become wives. It is Proverbs 31 on the traits a Christian woman should have love for God and her family. It shows the way wives are to live purely and be hard working housewives by doing their household chores grateful for the job God has given them for being women at home. If you have any questions about being a godly wife, this book answers them ALL! Once visiting a Messianic congregation, the pastor’s wife gave a weekly women’s Bible study using the Excellent Wife and the ladies (regardless of being wives) really gleaned from it. I highly recommend any of Martha Peace’s writings for their practical Scriptural application. This book deserves to be a bestseller! Buy this one for your pastor’s wife to use as a study for ladies and give as a beautiful bridal gift!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Punky
Location:near Calgary,AB,Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is a study like no other. It's a marriage helping,marriage saving book!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
lifewater
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About 15 years ago, I was a young mother in an abusive marriage. I had never heard of anything God had for me as far as my protection from any other bible study, friend, or pastor until I found this book! All I kept hearing was that I had to be submissive. I now know that God does not intend for women to be complete doormats. this book taught me that it is very well possible to keep a submissive, loving spirit towards your husband all the while standing up to abusive behavior. It does not leave out using other sources such as church discipline and even governmental authorities. However, the first step is always chekcing your own self. It is all in your heart attitude, as this book taught me! the book is excellent in how it teaches the foundations of marriage, personal christian walk, and destroying the idols of your heart. I have read many other books geared toward helping relationships. Most or all either tip over the line in supporting women being about making our husbands become what we want them to be or the opposite, submissive doormat. This one is just right! I have had this book for many years and I still refer back to it when I know I need an attitude check
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
nikkiof6
Location:Logan,AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am currently going through this book and I find I am,at the same time,awed and convicted by it! Why hasn't and why isn't
this being taught to and by all Christian women? I will be teaching it to my 4 daughters as I myself am learning to fulfill my role as "An Excellent Wife".
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kase
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book as part of my commitment to my husband as this is our "marriage year" and we are working on growing in the Lord and growing us as a couple. I highly recommend this book to all married women and those dating as it motivates and encourages the best in you as a Chrisian wife.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This product is insightful

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenny
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Some areas of this literature has given me general answers, but has lead me to understand more of God's wishes for my life.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Little One
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book is an excellent and challenging study of the qualities of the Proverbs 31 wife.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So pleased!

Date:December 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Branray
Location:Oak Lawn, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was referred to me in a time I was trying to understand what God expected of me in my marriage. I think Martha Peace is very transparent and honest about what your role should be as a wife trying to live out Gods expectations in your marriage.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Updated Proverbs 31 woman intensified

Date:October 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leti
Location:Shelby, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great foundation for any woman to take accountability of her part in a marriage. For me, the Christian based tools has encompassed to being a quality mother, friend, AND improved my career. ALL of this is possible through God's grace.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Extremely disappointed

Date:October 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Location:Orland Park, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book is excellent - if you're the husband in the relationship. Never have I read anything intended for women that has used the Bible to beat a person over the head. While I have an outstanding marriage, this book makes it sound as if an excellent wife is one who must spend her life walking three feet behind her husband, and while she is at it, confessing her many sins - such as having an original thought in her head. If you want to read a book that will make you feel like a miserable failure that never does anything right, by all means, buy this book.
-2points
10of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Politically INcorrect, but Biblically CORRECT!

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To put it simply, this book is based heavily on Scripture with bits of relevant psychology incorporated into different sections. However, the main source was always the Bible!
This book challenged me greatly in my walk with God. This, like its counterpart "The Exemplary Husband," can be overwhelming because we are so far from perfect. However, the point is to remind us that we cannot be who we are supposed to be as wives (or husbands) without the grace of God to get us the rest of the way there.
Many of the previous comments shared and/or complained how this book made them feel like they have to be "Christian Stepford Wives." I agree that there is a lot to cover, and there is a lot we should be doing to become more like Christ. To be honest, many of the other statements that accompanied those complaints showed a certain level of rebellion. We all have rebellion in our hearts, and we all have issues with selfishness. Those are things that we will struggle to deal with for life.
This book is very direct about God's expectations! God expects perfection. That's why He sent Christ for us, so we could get there. However, we are still supposed to be pursuing holiness.
I was very blessed by this book because it was very real with the hurts we suffer as wives, but the need to keep pushing on toward holiness - rather than personal happiness. Martha Peace didn't expect fake happiness. She was advocating the Biblical principles that are necessary to work on JOY, which is far more rewarding than an earthly happiness. There is joy when we do what we need to. When we are filled with joy, there won't be this nagging feeling of unhappiness or emptiness.
Yes, this is a difficult book at times - different sections will be more convicting and challenging than others. Living for Christ won't be easy, and it is SUPPOSED to be self-sacrificing! How can we truly live like Christ if we aren't willing to be self-sacrificing?... especially in marriage?
This book was very full with Scripture, which is the most important part. If you are looking for a "warm, fuzzy" book about the 10 easy steps to being a good wife, this isn't it. This is a heart-attacking book that is aimed at helping us to remove our sinful desires and selfish attitudes from our role as a wife. Many books try to come close, but they use minimal Scripture at best. A book with this much Scripture is a rare treasure in today's Christian book stores. Scripture is ultimately what has the transforming power in such books, not psychology.
To those who came out with the "Christian Stepford Wives" attitude, I am sorry and a bit saddened by those attitudes. If we want to live for God, we need to be willing to give up EVERYTHING. To walk away from this book, and the deep Scriptural foundation for that matter, with such an attitude is startling. I would strongly encourage re-reading it more carefully because Martha Peace never advocates an empty-shell wife. She yearns for all the readers to understand what it means to be an a wife that is engaged in God's will. That will never leave one empty.
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Invaluable information

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:Tampa, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book along wiht the Study Guide and Teacher Guide makes for a wonderful group study.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must for every wife!

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shani
Location:Calgary, AB
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book and it's companion "An Exceptional Husband" should be read and studied by every wife and husband. It will help make a good marriage even better and a struggling wife/husband a better partner and follower of Jesus. Your spouse not willing to go there? It is even more important to be the spouse God intended you to be, regardless of their response!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great book for any woman.

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
shortcake
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this book to any woman who wants to be blessed and know the true meaning of being a woman. It will bring you joy and happiness. Do yourself a favor and read it.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Deborah Genua
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good book for newlyweds , I purchased this for my children marrying this year,
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!!

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mom of Five
Location:Knoxville,TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is wonderful Biblical instruction for a wife. Should be required reading for every engaged woman and/or newlywed.
Highly recommend this book if you are really looking to live according to God's will.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Excellent Wife: A Biblical Perspective, Expanded Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lots of Scripture references for support

Date:March 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary Ann
Location:Huntington Beach, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book for a seasoned believer. Lots of Scripture reference to support conclusions. Tough read for a new believer because of it's depth but there are great recommendations contained that should help a person change if they are truly looking to change.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.