Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan How to Save Your Marriage Alone

Zondervan How to Save Your Marriage Alone

In this little book, Dr Wheat's understanding and candid advice, based squarely on biblical concepts, can transform a marriage even when only one of the partners learns the principle of building love and applies them consistently.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for How to Save Your Marriage Alone
Review 1 for How to Save Your Marriage Alone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God's Principles

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
kjkitt
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything written in this little book, which I read in one evening, is biblical based. The writer gives scripture and if you read them, as he recommends, the bible backs it up.
My thoughts, as written in scripture, God hates divorce, (Malachi 2:16). Marriage was created by God and two become one flesh. If we trust God to fix our finances, heal our sicknesses, why wouldn't we trust Him to mend our relationships? Isn't He the God who restores? It is written all through scripture, but we give up too soon. Why? Because we harden our hearts, or He doesn't answer us in our timing.
God wants to restore our relationship with Him first, keeping Him first in our lives. When He knows we are ready, He will restore.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for How to Save Your Marriage Alone
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I need to be committed & love the agape way

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
hpcgw
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gave me courage to stand for my committment to husband and God that my marriage will be till death do us part. Showed me to love my spouse the way God loves him. If my marriage will not restored, I have learned to love the way God loves, unconditionally. There is a typo at end of chapter 2. Scripture is Proverbs 24:3-4 not Proverbs 24:34.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for How to Save Your Marriage Alone
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Insightful

Date:January 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amanda W
Age:25-34
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This little book helped me see my marriage in a whole new light.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for How to Save Your Marriage Alone
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good book on a tough topic

Date:December 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
kk1127
Location:OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would prefer to never NEED to read this book; but since I do, I'm glad it was available. This book had useful information and godly guidance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for How to Save Your Marriage Alone
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Same as Love life for every married couple

Date:December 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Looking for help
Location:Wyoming
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was basically a small excerpt taken from his book, "Love life for every married couple." If you've read it, you've read this. Bottom Line, unconditional love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for How to Save Your Marriage Alone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Andrea
This book gave me new insight into what I need to be doing as a wife Biblically to show my husband the love he deserves. It has helped me to remain focused on God's plan for marriage and how God will help me accomplish the changes I need to make wether I remain alone or not. I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for How to Save Your Marriage Alone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
WilliamJayDoughertyJr
This book was a source in which I gained hope that my marriage could be saved. It gave me insight on what and what not to do. I poured over every page and committed myself to to save our marriage. All of the ideas Dr.Wheat prescribes are biblical based and I would recommend this book to those that are thinking about getting married and those that are and those that are struggling. It is a great book. It is not an all solve problem book because every case is not the same. If the un-believer choses not to stay then you cannot prevent them. It will reveal the heart of the other person if you apply the scripturally based ideas that Dr. Wheat presents.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for How to Save Your Marriage Alone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Hope
I highly recommend this book to anyone who is committed to keeping his or her marriage promises. This book shares what to expect and prepares you for the worst that can happen while standing for your marriage. Saving your marriage will be second to the transformation that God can make in your life as you obey His word and learn to trust Him with your spouse.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for How to Save Your Marriage Alone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Crosspointe Church
This book is an absolute must read for all married couples and soon to be married couples. Whether having trouble in your marriage or have a solid marriage, this book has godly wisdom for all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for How to Save Your Marriage Alone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christopher Mottes
This is an excellent, short book. The chapter on Hosea and Gomer, especially if not known (as with me) is alone worth the book. There are otherwise good advice, and more so advice given in a clear way - to someone who truly does believe marriage is a sacrament and therefore to be preserved. Reading this made me feel much less alone. I know other people mean well, but people will tell you to "let go" or "move on." This book was what I wanted and needed. Well done and thank you to the author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for How to Save Your Marriage Alone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sue
This little book is brilliant. It really changes the way you think about your relationship. I cannot recommend it highly enough!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for How to Save Your Marriage Alone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Marianne Kosa
This is the most helpful and Biblical book I've read for those who want to save their marriage. When your spouse is not interested in "making it work" and is ready and wanting to walk out, there is still hope!! But, someone has to go first. If you're willing to be the one God works through, then you are ready for this book! I've shared it with many! Helpful for men and women alike!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for How to Save Your Marriage Alone
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
anne
This book is 27 years old and it recommends you still having physical relations with your husband even if he is having sex with someone else. Hello!! What about HIV and STD's? What about being threatened with physical violence? God can change people, but if you lay down in traffic and pray to not get hit, guess what? Exercise discernment and God given common sense. What a doormat philosophy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for How to Save Your Marriage Alone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2001
Customer Avatar
ignacio valdivia
This book is a necessary tool for anyone going through a crisis. My marriage was at the end and this little book gave me the God-essentials to do what I needed to save my marriage. I highly recommend it. (P.S. that was 3 years ago and we now have a 9 mo. old daughter. God is good!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for How to Save Your Marriage Alone
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2000
Customer Avatar
Shari Franco
This is one of the best books I'veever read to help me have the rightthinking toward my marriage. Irecommend this book for ALL WOMEN.This book is especially helpful towomen in crisis marriages - with Godthere is hope - because with GodNothing is impossible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.