Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Listener's Bible Company The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984

Listener's Bible Company The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984

Complemented by subtle background music, McLean's passionate reading of the NIV transforms the words of Scripture into living history. Commuters, joggers, and anybody who loves God's Word will be transported to the ancient world of the Bible where patriarchs and kings rule, prophets and teachers counsel, and the Messiah dies and rises again. 66 CDs in a compact carrying case.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984
Review 1 for The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Priceless Audio CD Bible. Must have.

Date:December 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Oseness
Location:Sacramento
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Priceless. Must have for every young individual esp. new family know/teach/share our true Faith and Love of our God and His Son Jesus Christ.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
lilbeth
Location:Edmonton, AB
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So glad to have the complete Bible on CD. Had the NT in the past and I really am glad that OT is also recorded, since the hearing the OT with the NT ears, helps me understand how God works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Narration & Awesome Scripture

Date:March 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Big Al
Location:Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a fantastic purchase. I went back & forth on this version or another version with various people acting out the scripture. This version makes it much easier to meditate on the scripture as it is being read as if he is reading it directly to me. I would recommend this to anyone. Thank You!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kance
Location:Ontario
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to get the Word, but wasn't succeeding by trying to read the bible. Listening to the CDs works for me and Max McLean does an awesome job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Drove Me Nuts

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
cliff
Location:Tacoma
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had no idea that the reader was going to be Shakespearean or something like that,,,, I got so I could not stand his voice after the third CD,,,,, every time he said Jesus
it was Jees uuus ,, of course I can't spell his vocals.... But I have never heard anything I have disliked more than this reader..... I'm sure many people liked this type of thing,,,,,, dramatizing,,,,,,,, I just wanted to hear the Bible.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great narration. Easy to listen to. Nice case!

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Julie
Location:Owatonna, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for a parishioner who has macular degeneration. She has been losing her eyesight little by little over time. Now, even her large print Bible under a magnifying glass wasn't working. I listened to a CD before I gave the set to her. I was very impressed with the narration. Easy to listen to and kept my attention. The case is very nice as it helps to keep these CDs in order. I am giving them to her today. I can't imagine not being able to read God's Word. Today she will be able to listen to her heart's content.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mobile Word of God

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
kayg
Location:Foster City, Ca
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is wonderful to be able to listen to the Word of God when I can's be reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Reading of God's Word

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Matt
Location:Wales, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Max MacLean is a very blessed man indeed. He has an incredibly powerful imagination and memory. Because of this, he has been able to go around doing performances involving little more than reciting Scripture from his mind. He does so with passion and it's very captivating. But because of his exceptional reading voice, theological understanding and imagination which is brought along with his readings: he has been selected again and again to read the entire Bible through on recordings. He has done the NIV, ESV and KJV. The man is just really, really blessed. He loves the word of God and his voice just doesn't seem to get tired of being used in these ways. There's no doubt at all that God created him for this purpose and he's using his gift very well, for our benefit. This version of his reading, I feel, is the best because the translation is the best for simply listening to Scripture. Enjoy it! You can also find it for free on Biblegateway.com. I listen every morning! It is especially useful for understanding the context of all the chapters and verses. You begin to see the Bible as a whole, rather than as a reference book of verses.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Date:March 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Child of God
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has been a huge blessing to me! The narrarator has such a compelling voice when reading the word of God that you feel as if it is actually the voice of God reading his laws and decrees. I believe more people would come to the understanding of God if they purchased this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I greatly enjoy Max McLean's reading of Scripture.

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kansas
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Max McLean's voice resonates with the reading of Scripture and makes it easy to listen to and understand. I have heard his rendition (I've listened to the complete set three times) and wanted my own copy. Listening to it helps me memorize Scripture and puts all the Scripture into context.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this product!

Date:October 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Frank
Location:Rising Sun, Maryland
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I'm so happy I purchased this product. Now I can listen to the Bible while driving and when I am idle at a job site. Max McLean is fantastic as well as the background tones which sets the mood. The carrying case is also a plus. It helped me completely read the entire Bible cover to cover
in 5.5 months. www.innovativeministries.info
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dolores Koenig
It came faster than I expected, was packaged great and I love it. Wonderful to hear the word while I travel back and forth to work. I love to be in the word and have it comfort me.I love Max Mclean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Thomas Burt
It is a great product to listen to Very clear and very well put in order per the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dan A. Steiniger
Max McLean does a fabulous, passionate reading of the scripture. I have been very blest as I listen to these tapes daily. I highly recommend this set of tapes to anyone who loves God's word. It is great listening at home, car, or anywhere.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mae Williams
This tape set is great! I ride to classes 50 minutes each way and listen to some of the major prophets,which are easier than reading. I find I am familiar with what is being discussed by my professor. I like the simplicity of the reading, and the light, very light music. 5 stars!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Theresa Webber Hall
Wonderful- I feel at peace and I feel the good Lord presence. This is a great way to read the bible and to be able to keep God word with you always. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dan Spykstra
Excellent price, excellent narration! Max McLean does more than just read, he brings the scriptures to life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Ann Kiernan
Great! This was a gift for my husband and it has opened up great discussion and questions for the 2 of us (a prayer of mine). Max McLean voice and "acting" really aid in opening up scripture in a whole new way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Denise Tedder
Since I have trouble reading the smaller print of my bible, this is perfect for me as well as others in my family. My husband and I found the narration by the author to be very spellbinding and pleasant to listen to. We look forward to hearing much more and will be sharing with our Sunday School class.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The NIV Listener's Bible on CD--66 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Torres
EXCELLENT...my father is elderly and has a hard time concentrating on his reading. With this new listeners Bible all he does is listen to the Bible and is back in the word of God like his used to be. My husband loves his Listener's Bible he can listen to it while he works. And I listen to it whenever I get a chance. Max McLean does a wonderful job of bringing the Bible to life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>