Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Listener's Bible Company The NIV Listener's Bible on MP3--4 CDs 1984

Listener's Bible Company The NIV Listener's Bible on MP3--4 CDs 1984

Critically acclaimed Scripture dramatist Max McLean reads the entire NIV Bible with clarityand passion. Max Mclean is an actor, storyteller, and student of the Bible whose life's work is to make your time listening to the Bible a joyful and rewarding experience. He has presented one-man dramatic presentations of the Bible in theaters and churches worldwide. Play from your computer or MP3-enabled CD player.

4 MP3-CDs. 77 hours. Dramatized.

Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for The NIV Listener's Bible on MP3--4 CDs 1984
Review 1 for The NIV Listener's Bible on MP3--4 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is probably the best 'voice' I have on a record

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Soni
Location:Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is probably the best 'voice' I have on a recording - very clear and easy to listen too - I don't switch off as I do with some of the others.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The NIV Listener's Bible on MP3--4 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is fantastic.

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Isaka
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Able to hear the word of God even when driving on the highway.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The NIV Listener's Bible on MP3--4 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quality production

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hudson
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Max McLean's voice is easy to listen to - great tone & appropriate emphasis.
Morning jogging has taken is no longer just a physical exercise; I'm really enjoying the experience.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The NIV Listener's Bible on MP3--4 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great!

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Van Pelt
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you don't have time to read the Bible you should definitely pick this up! Max McLean knows how to express!...and it is helpful when you're not sure how to pronounce a lot of the old testament names. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The NIV Listener's Bible on MP3--4 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hard to play successive chapters

Date:August 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
nancyo
Location:Fullerton, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love the sound quality and presentation by Mr Maclean. I am a little disappointed that after downloading 4 books to my mp3 on my phone that it lined up the Chapters with all the first chapters in sequence and then all of the 2nd chapters then 3rd etc. I want to be able to listen to one book all of the way through before going on to the next
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The NIV Listener's Bible on MP3--4 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Faith comes from hearing, and hearing by the word

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abraham
Location:California
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very excited to receive the CDs. It is not boring and certainly helped me to be in the Word especially while traveling; I feel very refreshed upon reaching my destination. I was able to memorize whole passages. Very affordable, highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The NIV Listener's Bible on MP3--4 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overall Excellence !

Date:November 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rubily
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thanks for asking me for a review on my recent purchase of Max McLean entire Bible Audio Edition.
I am hard of hearing but Max's pronunciation comes very clear I enjoy listening to His Narration .
Thanks again
Yours Rubily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The NIV Listener's Bible on MP3--4 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jason Maas
Audio production is great - I really love Max's presentation of God's word! The MP3s are well prepared and not compressed too much - they sound great on my iPhone. The only minor glitch was that the ID3 tags within a handful of the MP3s were different from the others. When I copied it all into iTunes I had to tweak the "Info" for those files so that they'd show up properly with the rest. That's all that kept me from giving this product a full 5 stars. :) I could have bought from the iTunes Store, but this way I already have backup copies made and more flexibility in the future for other devices/systems to play back on.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The NIV Listener's Bible on MP3--4 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nolan Dixon
I was a little annoyed with Max's voice in the beginning. It was not what I was expecting and I was disappointed. However, I became used to it shortly and began receiving the word. I look forward to it everyday on my way to and from work. I would definitely recommend this cd.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The NIV Listener's Bible on MP3--4 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Winter
I love the program. My son installed it on Itunes in my computer. It is a pleasant way to listen to the bible. Especially, with Max McLean reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The NIV Listener's Bible on MP3--4 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Emil
I got the audiobook version of this bible. Narration is really good. Right speed to let you digest the verses when he reads and at the same time, not too dramatized. I love it. This has been a big blessing to me and I spend more time listening to bible than anything else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The NIV Listener's Bible on MP3--4 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Robert Wilson
Purchasing this set was one of the best investments I have ever made. McLean does a great job reading; not too over dramatic, and not too flat. The real beauty of it is the scripture. It has made a vast impact on my attitude and in my thought processes. I am able to listen to it on the way to work, so I get minimally an hour and a half a day. The more I listen to it, the more I crave it. I cannot recommend this product too strongly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The NIV Listener's Bible on MP3--4 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Peter Henry
I am enjoying listening to the Word narrated by Max. He is generally easy to understand and reads well. Good to have the whole Bible on only four discs, as opposed to approx 67 discs! I have only had one small problem and that is that my Sony DVD/SACD player does not like the format of the discs and will not play them. However I have had no problems playing the discs on the computer, car stereo, or on my mobile phone (microSD card)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The NIV Listener's Bible on MP3--4 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
Dennis Carver
I listen to Max almost every day, driving home in traffic; it makes a huge impact, compared to the radio. Almost daily I hear the Holy Spirit using Max's lovely voice, speaking directly to me. My only wish is that I could have the choice of a lady's voice, it would be heard better over the noise of freeway driving. Max, do you have a sister??
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The NIV Listener's Bible on MP3--4 CDs 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2004
Customer Avatar
Philana Crouch
If I could give it a 100 I would. Max McLean has such a rich and powerful voice, and having it on MP3 is wonderful. Only 7 CD's (my old audio had 64 discs).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.