Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Listener's Bible Company The ESV Listener's Bible on MP3 Audio Bible

Listener's Bible Company The ESV Listener's Bible on MP3 Audio Bible

Max McLean brings his compelling voice and artistic narrative skills to the ESV Bible. This Gold Medallion winning new translation combines a word-for-word translation approach with a literary beauty that is perfect for the oral expression of God's Word. According to Dr. R.C. Sproul of Ligonier Ministries, "The Word of God is powerful: With Max McLean that power is unleashed by his reading." The Listener's Bible on MP3 will provide a new generation with a more affordable and convenient format to experience the Word of God.

MP3 will play on MP3 enabled CD players and computers. It can also be downloaded onto iPods and MP3 capable PDAs and PDA mobile phones. 4 MP3 CDs. 75 hours. Not voice narration alone. There is subtle background music.

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The ESV Listener's Bible on MP3 Audio Bible
Review 1 for The ESV Listener's Bible on MP3 Audio Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Voice and reading

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
MCGS
Location:Burlington, VT
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been listening to this version of the ESV streaming on the Crossway website for the ESV study Bible, but wanted the actual CDs so I could have them installed at work and home and on a USB stick in the car. I very much like this version of the Holy Bible and I like this reading. For the KJV I do like the Alexander Scourby version. Both are masterful readings. Thank you to CBD for such a wide array of Christian resources! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The ESV Listener's Bible on MP3 Audio Bible
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not What I Hoped For

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robert Goodnough
I listened to the Max McLean NIV CD's a few years ago and thought the quality was great. I listened to Luke on the ESV MP3's today and did not sense the same passion because it seemed to me that Max McLean was speaking faster on these CD's. Also, the last word of several chapters was cut off. That being said, anytime you listen to the word of God it can be a real blessing. Would I buy them again - probably not. Will I continue to listen to them - yes.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The ESV Listener's Bible on MP3 Audio Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good first time with the bible it's fascinating

Date:May 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joshua
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have enjoyed this . I am up to 2nd kings. Very easy to understand.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The ESV Listener's Bible on MP3 Audio Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Audio Bible

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sapphire
Location:Wyoming
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to listen to in the car, and it exceeds my expectations! Mr. Mclean's voice is very clear, he enunciates the words thoroughly, and he reads at a perfect speed - slow enough to comprehend, but not to the point of being dreary. He also uses the perfect amount of voice inflection - enough to convey emotion, but it's not over-dramatic. I also like the MP3 format - it's way easier than having to lug around a pack of 40+ CDs and having to constantly change out the discs. Overall, a fantastic product!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The ESV Listener's Bible on MP3 Audio Bible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Todd F.
What can be said of McClean? Better than Stephen Johnston but that's not saying anything at all. Whereas Johnston reads the Holy Bible in monotone at lightspeed like a runaway teleprompter, McClean intones in this horrendous singsong inflection, aggravated by his heavy accent. "TherewasaMAN, sentfrom GAWD, whose name was, JOHN. Hecameasawitness to bear witness, about, the LIGHT..." You might make it throw some of the of New Testament but there's no way you're getting through the Prophets with McClean. If the letter of the law kills, so does McClean's voice. I highly recommend the Hear the Word ESV version narrated by David Cochran Heath. Heath reads the Bible with both a natural inflection and rhythm.
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The ESV Listener's Bible on MP3 Audio Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jon Dulin
McLean's reading of the bible is warm and full of emotion, making it easy and enjoyable to understand. The quality and talent he brings to this work has yet to be matched. What's more is that this version is ready for your mp3-player, saving the time spent in mp3-ripping.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The ESV Listener's Bible on MP3 Audio Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Hector Rojero Jr.
I gave this to a friend with vision problems. They really enjoy it now that they dont have to struggle with trying to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The ESV Listener's Bible on MP3 Audio Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Beth Vancise
My husband loved this. It was easy to load and allows him to listen to the Bible while he reads his Bible. He likes to hear Max McLean read also.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.