Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Cultivating a Life of Character: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, Judges & Ruth

Harvest House Publishers Cultivating a Life of Character: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, Judges & Ruth

In the midst of the dark days of the Judges, God faithfully raised up men and women of character to lead his people. Journey through the books of Judges and Ruth and marvel at the godly character of women such as Deborah, Jephthah's daughter, Samson's mother Naomi, and Ruth--God's women of excellence. Through this study, women seeking God's own heart will be encouraged to: see extraordinary potential in ordinary lives; to cultivate the quality of character; and honor God's faithfulness with our own.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cultivating a Life of Character: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, Judges & Ruth
Review 1 for Cultivating a Life of Character: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, Judges & Ruth
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I love the bible...but not Judges

Date:February 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
I Love Jesus
Location:Ventura, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My bible study group has been reading this book for our weekly study...but I find Judges to be very boring. I loved the book this author wrote on Esther and so I was shocked to see a book of the bible I didn't enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cultivating a Life of Character: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, Judges & Ruth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bible Study for new believers

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grammy6times
Location:Lombard, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Discipling new believers can be challenging. We began with Elizabeth George's study on Esther...wonderfully simple. This study in Judges/Ruth takes it up a notch and is stretching them without discouraging them. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cultivating a Life of Character: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, Judges & Ruth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
dede
Location:Cypress, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this book. We are doing a bible study at Cypress Church, Cypress CA on Thursday mornings and everyone has commented on how great this book is and how it really challenges us to continually check our hearts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cultivating a Life of Character: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, Judges & Ruth
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good Bible study. It was a little harder to get through then her others but you still will learn a lot and enjoy the journey!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cultivating a Life of Character: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, Judges & Ruth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Reva Lux
Our ladies bible study is excited to begin our study Cultivating a Life of Character. The cost is very affordable and the delivery was great! Thanks for offering these studies~
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cultivating a Life of Character: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, Judges & Ruth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tracey Schwiebert
I was blessed by the study on James and had to buy more of the books! Mrs. George does a great job of relating to women and the struggles they face. This is a great study for a "busy" woman, as it is short in length (takes me 20-30 mins daily). I absolutely love the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cultivating a Life of Character: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, Judges & Ruth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cathy Cawood
Excellent .... we are using this in our weekly ladies Bible study. We are all very excited about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cultivating a Life of Character: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, Judges & Ruth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kellina Bjork
I couldn't wait to get to my Bible study each day while doing this book! Elizabeth George is an exceptional author with a gift from God to open womens eyes to the truths of the scripture. I have 9 books in this Bible study series, and this is the first one I did. I'm now working on Elizabeth's study of the book of James. I'll write a review on that one when I finish! :-) You won't be diappointed with this study!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cultivating a Life of Character: A Woman After God's Own Heart Series, Judges & Ruth
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nicolette Rabbers
One of my girlfriends and I are going through this study together. We get together once a week and go through a chapter each week. We don't do any homework. We start our study with prayer and end in prayer. It is a good study. Not too hard and not too shallow. It would make a good study for a small group with room for lots of personal discussion. It is a good motivation to allow God to work through you and do the impossible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.